nV News Forums

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Driver installation problems for Ubuntu 7.04 (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=90362)

Da-Bomb1 04-24-07 07:13 PM

Driver installation problems for Ubuntu 7.04

I was just trying to install the x86 linux display driver and whenever I try to, it says that it needs to be in the root, but I couldn't log into the root account in any way. Is it normally like this, and how can I install it? (I'm a linux newbie, btw)

milonix 04-24-07 07:19 PM

Re: Driver installation problems for Ubuntu 7.04

use the sudo -i coomand

Da-Bomb1 04-24-07 07:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by milonix
use the sudo -i coomand

How does that command work, and what does it do? (As I said before, I have no experience whatsoever with linux)

Da-Bomb1 04-24-07 07:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Da-Bomb1
How does that command work, and what does it do? (As I said before, I have no experience whatsoever with linux)

Oh, nevermind, I just typed it in and figured it out.

Da-Bomb1 04-24-07 07:49 PM

Quote:

Oh, nevermind, I just typed it in and figured it out.

Now I'm having problems with the x server... What do I do to fix that? (I tried to use nvidia's program for it, but I couldn't get it to work)

milonix 04-24-07 07:59 PM

Quote:

Now I'm having problems with the x server... What do I do to fix that? (I tried to use nvidia's program for it, but I couldn't get it to work)

whats wrong with the x server?

Da-Bomb1 04-24-07 08:13 PM

Quote:

whats wrong with the x server?

It just says that it's running, and I should close it. But I can't find out how... I checked the readme thingy on the nvidia website that told me how to manually edit the xconfig file, but I don't have root-admin permissions so I can't save it. Do you know how to log in as the root user?

milonix 04-24-07 08:28 PM