nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Microsoft Windows XP And Vista (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   vista standalone or dual boot (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=91590)

tornadog 05-16-07 08:50 AM

vista standalone or dual boot
 
I am considering installing vista once my 8800 gets here. What do you suggest, install vista over my XP professional or do a dual boot??

I want to try out the Directx 10 demos and everythng, but the one game I am playing right now, LOTRO is supposed to have issues with vista...

Amuro 05-16-07 10:28 AM

Re: vista standalone or dual boot
 
Do dual boot.

einstein_314 05-16-07 03:34 PM

Re: vista standalone or dual boot
 
I'd go with dual boot. That's what I'm running currently. XP with Vista x64. So far I haven't actually had to resort to XP for any games. I only need it for 3D CAD programs that don't work in Vista yet.

hirantha 05-16-07 04:09 PM

Re: vista standalone or dual boot
 
i'm planing on upgrading to Vista ultimate 64bit, i will go with a clean install no dual boot. :afro:

|MaguS| 05-16-07 04:12 PM

Re: vista standalone or dual boot
 
Im running a single OS, Vista 32 Ultimate. Its stable and the only game that has given me issues so far is System Shock 2.... its completly unplayable now. :(

kevJ420 05-16-07 05:08 PM

Re: vista standalone or dual boot
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by |MaguS|
Im running a single OS, Vista 32 Ultimate. Its stable and the only game that has given me issues so far is System Shock 2.... its completly unplayable now. :(

How do you play system shock 2 now?

I was just curious.

It always disturbs me when something doesn't work.

grey_1 05-16-07 05:09 PM

Re: vista standalone or dual boot
 
I'm running Vista Home premium 64bit stand alone.

Absolutely zero regrets.

kevJ420 05-16-07 05:10 PM

Re: vista standalone or dual boot
 
Dual boot. I think a good combo would be xp32 and vista ult. 64.

One for compatibility and one for the future.

DoomUK 05-16-07 05:42 PM

Re: vista standalone or dual boot
 
Dual boot.

einstein_314 05-16-07 05:55 PM

Re: vista standalone or dual boot
 
I should also point out that if I didn't have to use 3D CAD programs (solidworks and inventor) then I would not be dual booting. I would be running Vista x64 by itself. So if you don't need XP....I would go just Vista.

tornadog 05-16-07 06:36 PM

Re: vista standalone or dual boot
 
looks like 8800 and Vista is not the best combo for LOTRO, so I guess I will keep XP for now. Only reason I am even considering Vista is for Halo 2 and Lost Planet Demo that came out yesterday. Otherwise, I am just happy with XP.

|MaguS| 05-16-07 06:38 PM

Re: vista standalone or dual boot
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by kevJ420
How do you play system shock 2 now?

I was just curious.

It always disturbs me when something doesn't work.

I don't. :(

Wish they would have released the Dreamcast version, then I would have an option to play the game still. Gonna build a Windows 98 rig I think...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:19 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.