nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Benchmarking And Overclocking (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   New to all this!! (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=92311)

bobskisr 05-29-07 08:19 AM

New to all this!!
 
I’ve been looking for a place to start Over-clocking my new build and can’t find any good info. I just did my first build at 62 years young. This will be my first attempt at over-clocking and need help. This is what I came up with.

Machine
BFG nForce 680i LT SLI Socket 775 Motherboard
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 2.4Ghz 4x2mb 1066FSB CPU
Four (4) OCZ DFI Special Edition Dual Channel 1024MB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz Total memory 4gb’s
Two (2) BFG GeForce 8800 GTX / 768MB GDDR3 / SLI Ready / PCI Express / Dual DVI / HDTV / Video Cards
Two (2) HD’s 500Gb each
One (1) CD / DVD R-W (Plain Jane)
750W Power supply
Thermal Electric CPU Cooler
Running XP on drive “C” and VISTA on “D”
Everything is SLI Certified

I did 3 3DMark runs on the machine over two days and got 3 different results.

http://service.futuremark.com/orb/re...jectId=2012278
10197 run on the 21st.

http://service.futuremark.com/orb/re...jectId=2006514
11281 run on the 21st

http://service.futuremark.com/orb/re...ojectId=201674
11638 on 05/22

You may have to use the pull down menu to look at them.

Just don’t understand this. I did the same thing each time boot the machine and run the test.

Anyway just like building the machine was a first for me so will over clocking and I’ll need all the help I can get. Slow and easy. I’m trying to get the BIGGEST BANG for all THE BUCKS (Over $3,500.00 U.S) I think I have a good PC now I just want to make it better. I don’t care about 3Dmark scores I’m well past that point in my life.

I like to fly using FSX and others and want to see everything they have to offer at High, even MAX settings.

Bob Ski

Trademark 05-29-07 08:34 AM

Re: New to all this!!
 
Not sure why exactly you want to overclock that... thing... It's a huge monstrosity anyways, although if you're going to overclock it has to be your CPU. Someone else can explain this in detail for you.

Jon 05-30-07 04:28 AM

Re: New to all this!!
 
I've just gone for a fairly safe overclock with my Q6600. Just changed these settings in the bios:

Locked pci to 33mhz
Locked pci-e to 100mhz
Set memory to 1:1
Then upped the fsb 20mhz(ish) at a time until I hit 333mhz.

Cpu speed = 333fsb * 9 (3ghz).
Memory at 666mhz.

I've not touched the voltages at all.

On the other hand, you could always have a look round and see what clock speeds people are getting on their 8800s and use NTune to overclock the graphics cards instead... although I'm not sure if NTune does SLI as I don't have one GTX let alone two.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:14 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.