nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Can't switch VT with 100.14.09 drivers (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=93015)

gbil 06-10-07 02:19 AM

Can't switch VT with 100.14.09 drivers
 
1 Attachment(s)
Ok time I also report a problem :)

Using the 100.14.09 drivers I can no longer change to another VT while the nvidia driver is loaded. Pressing ctrl+alt+f1 etc while on X results in black screen and the monitors entering standby mode. I can switch back to X just fine though. Also in shutdown after X is killed I see nothing, again screens are black and they enter standby mode. This doesn't happen with 9755 drivers or beta 100x drivers. This doesn't change if I remove any boot option, totally new to these drivers.

Please find attached the bug report.

obra 06-10-07 06:56 AM

Re: Can't switch VT with 100.14.09 drivers
 
Strange. I had this problem with previous beta drivers, 100.14.09 solved it for me.

Cadynum 06-10-07 08:06 AM

Re: Can't switch VT with 100.14.09 drivers
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by gbil
Ok time I also report a problem :)

Using the 100.14.09 drivers I can no longer change to another VT while the nvidia driver is loaded. Pressing ctrl+alt+f1 etc while on X results in black screen and the monitors entering standby mode. I can switch back to X just fine though. Also in shutdown after X is killed I see nothing, again screens are black and they enter standby mode. This doesn't happen with 9755 drivers or beta 100x drivers. This doesn't change if I remove any boot option, totally new to these drivers.

Please find attached the bug report.

I got the same problem.

gbil 06-10-07 08:27 AM

Re: Can't switch VT with 100.14.09 drivers
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by obra
Strange. I had this problem with previous beta drivers, 100.14.09 solved it for me.


Guess what fixed it for you broke it for me :)

Hope when they solve it for me doesn't break it for you again :p

zander 06-10-07 01:24 PM

Re: Can't switch VT with 100.14.09 drivers
 
@gbil: there's a known regression with VESA console interaction that was introduced between 100.14.06 and 100.14.09; if you're using a VESA console, I'd recommend using a standard VGA one for now. This should work better again in future drivers, though only VGA is presently fully supported.

gbil 06-10-07 03:07 PM

Re: Can't switch VT with 100.14.09 drivers
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by zander
@gbil: there's a known regression with VESA console interaction that was introduced between 100.14.06 and 100.14.09; if you're using a VESA console, I'd recommend using a standard VGA one for now. This should work better again in future drivers, though only VGA is presently fully supported.

Hm, so no 100.14.09 drivers for me since I can't run my 1680x1050 display on 640x480... I'll wait for new beta in which hopefully it will be fixed.

almatic 06-12-07 07:54 AM

Re: Can't switch VT with 100.14.09 drivers
 
I have this problem as well, the suggested solution means again huge letters in the console :(
Please fix this.

jarodcanal 06-18-07 02:59 PM

Re: Can't switch VT with 100.14.09 drivers
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by gbil
Ok time I also report a problem :)

Using the 100.14.09 drivers I can no longer change to another VT while the nvidia driver is loaded. Pressing ctrl+alt+f1 etc while on X results in black screen and the monitors entering standby mode. I can switch back to X just fine though. Also in shutdown after X is killed I see nothing, again screens are black and they enter standby mode. This doesn't happen with 9755 drivers or beta 100x drivers. This doesn't change if I remove any boot option, totally new to these drivers.

Please find attached the bug report.

Hi,
I had exactly the same problem.
In my case it appears with nvidia drivers 9xxxx but it is still present with 100.14.09 drivers: the virtual consoles are there but there is not video signal sent to the screen, and you can switch between X and virtual consoles without problem (and there is no problem accessing virtual consoles using the nv driver, the problem only appears when using nvidia driver).
(I have it with Ubuntu 7.04 and with Kubuntu 7.04 (same machine))
I solved it modifying my boot options, adding "vga=792".
Now my /boot/grub/menu.lst has the following line:
Code:

kernel          /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.20-16-generic root=UUID=9924d035-b141-4e2b-922
a-013cf2c1cddd ro quiet splash vga=792

(for possible values for vga parameter have a look at :
Linux framebuffer super mini howto)
Now I can access my virtual consoles even when I am using the nvidia driver under Ubuntu 7.04.
I hope this helps you.
Regards

obra 06-18-07 07:44 PM

Re: Can't switch VT with 100.14.09 drivers
 
To those of you with working FB-consoles: Are any of you using tvout or running multiple screens?

I am, and this is the result: http://fredrik.obra.se/corruption.jpg

:(

gbil 06-22-07 03:09 AM

Re: Can't switch VT with 100.14.09 drivers
 
My console switching problem solved with 100.14.11 drivers.

choroba 06-22-07 09:56 AM

Re: Can't switch VT with 100.14.09 drivers
 
The problem remains even after upgrade to 100.14.11. I log into KDE, run another session, switch back, switch to the new session - and all I can do is to press the RESET button :(

gbil 06-22-07 10:53 AM

Re: Can't switch VT with 100.14.09 drivers
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by choroba
The problem remains even after upgrade to 100.14.11. I log into KDE, run another session, switch back, switch to the new session - and all I can do is to press the RESET button :(

You will need to open a new thread with a bug report according to the sticky since your problem has nothing to the one I had.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:41 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.