nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA FreeBSD (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=47)
-   -   Display freeze (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=93044)

chedder 06-10-07 05:24 PM

Display freeze
 
Hey, i'm on freebsd 6.2 / xorg 7.2 / latest beryl with xfce4.
and my display likes to freeze, i've noted this problem tends to occer when opera spawns another window, although not always. i've read other solutions, one of which was a moddification to dwords in sysctrl (adding "PerfLevelSrc=0x2222" to it). that appeared to work, but obviously didn't..

Oh, and my card is a Geforce FX5900XT.

chedder 06-10-07 05:25 PM

Re: Display freeze
 
Oh, it's also worth nothing the system doesn't freeze, programs appear to be still running, i can still move my mouse.. it's just the display, and the keyboard. thus i cannot escape from X or do anything, and have to hard reboot.

SirDice 06-11-07 09:09 AM

Re: Display freeze
 
Have a look at dmesg, is there anything else using the same IRQ as the graphics card?

I had a similar issue with the onboard ethernet in combination with an FX5200, had to use a pci ethernet card so I could assign it a different IRQ. The nvidia driver should be able to use a shared IRQ but I've never gotten it to work.

If the machine hangs are you able to log in remotely using ssh? That way you can at least reboot the machine properly ;)

chedder 06-11-07 10:52 AM

Re: Display freeze
 
The machine's processes continue to run (music still plays, mouse still moves).
so i'd imagine ssh would work to, sadly i have no way of connecting to it, at least until i get a new router.

Quote:

Originally Posted by SirDice
Have a look at dmesg, is there anything else using the same IRQ as the graphics card?

I had a similar issue with the onboard ethernet in combination with an FX5200, had to use a pci ethernet card so I could assign it a different IRQ. The nvidia driver should be able to use a shared IRQ but I've never gotten it to work.

If the machine hangs are you able to log in remotely using ssh? That way you can at least reboot the machine properly ;)


chedder 06-11-07 02:43 PM

Re: Display freeze
 
[root@chaotica ~]# dmesg |grep 'irq 16'
nvidia0: <GeForce FX 5900XT> mem 0xfb000000-0xfbffffff,0xe8000000-0xefffffff irq 16 at device 0.0 on pci1
fwohci0: <VIA Fire II (VT6306)> port 0xbc00-0xbc7f mem 0xfd700000-0xfd7007ff irq 16 at device 7.0 on pci0
fwohci1: <1394 Open Host Controller Interface> mem 0xfde00000-0xfde007ff,0xfdd00000-0xfdd03fff irq 16 at device 14.2 on pci0

... how do i change the irq?
just move it to another slot, or..?

SirDice 06-25-07 04:22 PM

Re: Display freeze
 
If the firewire is on a card you could try moving it. If it's onboard it might be in the BIOS. I had no option of changing the onboard NIC's IRQ in my BIOS so I had to resort to installing a PCI NIC.

If you don't use firewire you could try disabling it or compile a kernel without the firewire support.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.