nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Home Theater A/V (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=54)
-   -   Confused with resolution output (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=93147)

simonporter007 06-12-07 11:12 AM

Confused with resolution output
 
I have a samsung 42Q7HD which as I understand has a maximum resolution of 1024x768 (which i think is pretty pants and wish i had seen this before i bought it)

What i don't understand is how i can have my xbox at 720p or 1080i but not my PC with a new 8800GTX card in it. Is this because of the connection? Currently it is a DVI to a SVGA adapter which i imagine would make the difference.

So what im asking really is if i get a DVI to HDMI adapter, plug it into the TV through that, does that fool the TV into thinking it's something else and display a higher resolution? Or would it still be determined by my PC drivers. Bit confused about the whole thing!

Also, would it load up the screen automatically through HDMI? or would i have to load it up and then tell it to output it my TV?

Many thanks, sorry for the noob question!

Simon.

thor1182 06-12-07 11:25 AM

Re: Confused with resolution output
 
TV's overscan. To get what you need you need to either enable custom resolutions and tinker to you find one that fits, or look for drivers that correctly compensate for the overscan.

I am connecting to my Samsung dlp via a dvi - hdmi and with a 6800 gt and I had to go the first route. I haven't digged for an updated Vista 64 driver that can adjust for the overscan correctly.

Ancient 06-12-07 12:32 PM

Re: Confused with resolution output
 
Over an SVGA input the best resolution you're going to get is 480i. So you're not getting anywhere near the best picture you could have, if you're using that input. I've never heard of a DVI to SVGA adapter though. I'm not sure why anyone would go that route.

Yes, you could use a DVI->HDMI cable from your PC to your TV. It should show up on the screen just fine, though you may have to designate the TV as the primary display if you have a dual monitor setup. Using a DVI->HDMI cable you could output a 720p resolution. As was already mentioned you'll need to adjust for overscan. The 160.03 drivers are the only current non-hacked drivers that allow that adjustment in XP or Vista. I haven't tried the recently released 160.04 drivers but more than likely they permit overscan adjustment as well.

Give the DVI->HDMI cable a shot and if you have any more questions feel free to ask them in here.

simonporter007 06-12-07 01:49 PM

Re: Confused with resolution output
 
Hi thanks for the replies, i stopped off on the way home and got a HDMI/DVI adapter. Yeah it now works as 720p which is perfect, just as you say i need to sort out this overscan thing. nvidia drivers let me adjust scaling but it does nada, so i'll try the powerstrip route or something.

Cheers for the quick replies, i'll see how i get on.

Simon.

Ancient 06-12-07 02:57 PM

Re: Confused with resolution output
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by simonporter007
Hi thanks for the replies, i stopped off on the way home and got a HDMI/DVI adapter. Yeah it now works as 720p which is perfect, just as you say i need to sort out this overscan thing. nvidia drivers let me adjust scaling but it does nada, so i'll try the powerstrip route or something.

Cheers for the quick replies, i'll see how i get on.

Simon.

Install the 160.03 drivers and use the Resize HDTV Desktop option in the NVIDIA control panel and you'll be able to adjust for overscan.

thor1182 06-12-07 03:52 PM

Re: Confused with resolution output
 
does those work right with the 6 series stuff?

I have like 2 days worth of experience with Vista.

simonporter007 06-13-07 03:40 AM

Re: Confused with resolution output
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Ancient
Install the 160.03 drivers and use the Resize HDTV Desktop option in the NVIDIA control panel and you'll be able to adjust for overscan.

Cheers, installed the 03 drivers and was able to fix the overscan issue no problem. It's pretty much sorted now, text isn't as clear as what i thought it might be but it's better than my last resolution!

thanks again,

Simon.

googler 06-19-07 07:26 PM

Re: Confused with resolution output
 
you post some pictures maybe?>


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.