nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   General Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   Extremely Slow NVNET in linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=9381)

pr0c 03-31-03 08:23 PM

Extremely Slow NVNET in linux
 
In windows my NIC is as should be expected. I regularly download at 90~100kbps from the net and i dont' know how fast from my lan itself.

In linux :( it goes something like this...
1.) Begin download.. 90kbps YAY!
2.) Second by second my speed drops
3.) After a few sefconds my speed is 1BPS.. far less than even 1kbps literally.

It is linux only.

I'm running Debian. Please help!!!

Nvidia for my Ti4600 works perfect
NVaudio works fine
Nvnet...

pr0c 04-01-03 08:42 AM

nothin...?

lame duck 04-01-03 06:17 PM

might be a bug in your browser?

pr0c 04-01-03 08:51 PM

I wish it was something that simple. No, has nothing to do with the software being used such as the broser. It occurs no matter what distro/browser i use.

Speed test @ dslreports show my upload is >600k which is where it should be but downloads are ~ 10k at the moment.

lame duck 04-01-03 08:52 PM

maybe bad eth. card drivers?

- sorry, thats all I can think of.

Andy Mecham 04-02-03 01:09 PM

Please send a detailed bug report to linux-nforce-bugs@nvidia.com.

--andy

pr0c 04-03-03 08:43 AM

Actually Andy i figured out the problem (i think..) and I'd like to discuss here so people that have similar problems can search the forums and see this post...

When i set my MTU to 1400 rather than 1500 i get almost normal internet performance. I'm not sure why but here is my setup. Nvnet -> LinkSys "network everywhere" router -> "cable" (its really a wireless internet thing..) modem.

The router defaults to 1500 mtu and maybe the problem is that with linux set to exactly the same size its causing problems??? I have no idea how the internals of networking work.

The problem that i'm experiancing is that I have to change my MTU to 1400 everytime i boot and the other problem i have is the RWIN, i cannot change it when i change the settings as suggested here http://www.psc.edu/networking/perf_tune.html#Linux it does nothing to actually change my settings!! (I set RWIN much lower than they suggested)

Does anyone have any ideas how to deal with this? I cannot even get "Path MTU Discovery" to turn on even when i set the file to 1... it turns back to 0 on reboot too!

This is so frustering =[

pr0c 04-03-03 08:45 PM

Problem Solved...

set MTU to 14** .. something less than 1500 by a lil bit and its all fixed. Although i haven't rebooted yet i added MTU = 1495 in /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0 and it should set correctly upon boot every time.

bjlockie 04-04-03 01:10 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by pr0c
Problem Solved...

set MTU to 14** .. something less than 1500 by a lil bit and its all fixed. Although i haven't rebooted yet i added MTU = 1495 in /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0 and it should set correctly upon boot every time.

Is there a Linux utility to optimize network settings like the is for Windows?

pr0c 04-04-03 09:02 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by bjlockie
Is there a Linux utility to optimize network settings like the is for Windows?
Unfortunatelly i was UNable to find one, it would be simple to write i think (like the windows one) but i dont' think anyone has.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:37 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.