nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   [BUGREPORT] Black areas with compiz+randr1.2+latest drivers (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=94142)

Cimi 07-01-07 09:57 AM

[BUGREPORT] Black areas with compiz+randr1.2+latest drivers
 
1 Attachment(s)
http://img293.imageshack.us/img293/9...matadd6.th.png
I have this bug using xrandr -o left

Attached bugreport log

Note 1:
with few parts of xorg 7.3, as randr 1.2
Note 2:
With metacity the problem disappear, so the problem seems related when the screen is composited.
I can move the mouse in the black area and open applications

bldgengineer 07-01-07 10:08 AM

Re: [BUGREPORT] Black areas with compiz+xorg 7.3+latest drivers
 
have you tried logging out, ctrl-alt-f5, stop x, then type sudo dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg.

Select your driver and select the resolutions you use.

I've had the same issues in the past and this normally fixes them.

lmk

Cimi 07-01-07 10:15 AM

Re: [BUGREPORT] Black areas with compiz+xorg 7.3+latest drivers
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bldgengineer
have you tried logging out, ctrl-alt-f5, stop x, then type sudo dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg.

Select your driver and select the resolutions you use.

I've had the same issues in the past and this normally fixes them.

lmk

I'm using xrandr... sorry I haven't specified

xbobmx 07-01-07 04:33 PM

Re: [BUGREPORT] Black areas with compiz+randr1.2+latest drivers
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Cimi
Note 2:
With metacity the problem disappear, so the problem seems related when the screen is composited.
I can move the mouse in the black area and open applications

This looks like a bug in your window manager, not the nvidia driver.

Cimi 07-01-07 05:05 PM

Re: [BUGREPORT] Black areas with compiz+randr1.2+latest drivers
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by xbobmx
This looks like a bug in your window manager, not the nvidia driver.

why not? whith compiz the screen becomes composited so that's the difference

xbobmx 07-02-07 01:05 PM

Re: [BUGREPORT] Black areas with compiz+randr1.2+latest drivers
 
You say you can open applications and move the mouse in the black area, which means that the nvidia driver can render to that area fine, as long as the app instructs it to. So the window manager just isn't resizing correctly. Can you try restarting compiz ("compiz --replace")?

Cimi 07-02-07 06:50 PM

Re: [BUGREPORT] Black areas with compiz+randr1.2+latest drivers
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by xbobmx
You say you can open applications and move the mouse in the black area, which means that the nvidia driver can render to that area fine, as long as the app instructs it to. So the window manager just isn't resizing correctly. Can you try restarting compiz ("compiz --replace")?

But i haven't got that bug with older drivers...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.