nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   can't get SLI enabled with 2 8600gts' (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=94145)

bldgengineer 07-01-07 11:26 AM

can't get SLI enabled with 2 8600gts'
 
1 Attachment(s)
now I can't get sli going.

This is what I get when I "cat /proc/driver/nvidia/cards/*" in terminal:
Code:

Model:          GeForce 8600 GTS
IRQ:            21
Video BIOS:      60.84.18.00.25
Card Type:      PCI-E
DMA Size:        40 bits
DMA Mask:        0xffffffffff
Bus Location:    01.00.0
Model:          GeForce 8600 GTS
IRQ:            21
Video BIOS:      ??.??.??.??.??
Card Type:      PCI-E
DMA Size:        40 bits
DMA Mask:        0xffffffffff
Bus Location:    03.00.0

Last time I was able to get it going with "nvidia-xconfig --enable-all-gpus" in command prompt after stopping x.

So far I've tried that, --multigpu, --sli=auto, and --sli=AFR

Is there a command I'm missing? included the bug report

netllama 07-01-07 12:43 PM

Re: can't get SLI enabled with 2 8600gts'
 
[ 303.083589] allocation failed: out of vmalloc space - use vmalloc=<size> to increase size.
[ 303.083717] NVRM: RmInitAdapter failed! (0x25:0xffffffff:1014)

This is covered in the driver README.

bldgengineer 07-01-07 02:03 PM

Re: can't get SLI enabled with 2 8600gts'
 
I can't seem to get vmalloc to increase. I've type vmalloc=512mb,vmalloc=512m, vmalloc=512, sudo vmalloc=512(etc) and whenever I do $ cat /proc/meminfo its always the same.


so how do you get it to increase?

netllama 07-01-07 02:16 PM

Re: can't get SLI enabled with 2 8600gts'
 
You'll need to contact whomever built your kernel, as this is a kernel limitation.

zander 07-01-07 03:48 PM

Re: can't get SLI enabled with 2 8600gts'
 
@bldgengineer: I wouldn't expect the vmalloc parameter to change the MemTotal reported via /proc/meminfo, since you're using a HIGHMEM enabled kernel; does the initialization problem persist if you use e.g. vmalloc=192M or vmalloc=256M?

bldgengineer 07-03-07 07:04 AM

Re: can't get SLI enabled with 2 8600gts'
 
but wouldn't the vmallocTotal change? Like near the bottom of the list
Code:

MemTotal:      2075068 kB
MemFree:      1108208 kB
Buffers:        488676 kB
Cached:        264828 kB
SwapCached:          0 kB
Active:        325068 kB
Inactive:      581728 kB
HighTotal:    1178560 kB
HighFree:      745012 kB
LowTotal:      896508 kB
LowFree:        363196 kB
SwapTotal:    1951888 kB
SwapFree:      1951888 kB
Dirty:            876 kB
Writeback:          0 kB
AnonPages:      153400 kB
Mapped:          55980 kB
Slab:            38436 kB
SReclaimable:    24860 kB
SUnreclaim:      13576 kB
PageTables:      1844 kB
NFS_Unstable:        0 kB
Bounce:              0 kB
CommitLimit:  2989420 kB
Committed_AS:  572388 kB
VmallocTotal:  114680 kB
VmallocUsed:    62696 kB
VmallocChunk:    46580 kB


zander 07-03-07 12:11 PM

Re: can't get SLI enabled with 2 8600gts'
 
Does the vmalloc= addition to your kernel's command line show up in /proc/cmdline? If vmalloc= doesn't work, there are a few other options; please see the README for details.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:56 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.