nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Benchmarking And Overclocking (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   Q6600 (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=96120)

litri 08-06-07 08:26 AM

Q6600
 
Hi All,

Just got my new Intel Q6600 and my Abit IN9 32x Max and I want to start
playing with the CPU to see how far can I overclock it.

The only problem is that i want to use the memory sticks from my old AM2 platform which, by the way, are a pair of Patriot PC2-6400 CL5 for a total of
4gigs.

I know "now" that the Q6600 has the multiplier locked at 9, and I was wondering if the fact that my memory is not spec'ed to work higher than 6400
will limit my overclock.

I was looking at a recent article about Q6600 overcloking at bit-tech and found that they were using PC2-8000 memory sticks but i found that they were using a 10/11 FSB to RAM ratio in which and they were still running the memory at 800mhz at the default timmings and now the question is,

Having in mind that there have been quite a few steppings of the Q6600 and some o'clock better than others... Could i achive the same results with my
memory sticks?

Cheers.

CaptNKILL 08-06-07 09:12 AM

Re: Q6600
 
PC-6400 will be plenty for a Quad core unless you are using some ridiculous cooling that'd allow you to get over 3.6Ghz.

You should be able to do 1:1 ratio with no problems up to at least 400Mhz BUS (800Mhz DDR) but I doubt the CPU will make it that far if you're on air cooling, or even water.

randsom 08-06-07 09:48 AM

Re: Q6600
 
the multi is not locked at below 9x


the 680i chipset allows you to run linked or unlinked on the memory.which is very usefull.

so unless you are able to run insane front side bus, by lowering the mulit to 8 and cranking up the fsb, or just going for it at 9x youll be fine.

Nvidia has got a overclocking guide on their website, see if you can find it , if not pm me and ill email it to you.I have been overclocking for a while and it helped me with some of the oscure bios setting of the 680i

JaylumX 08-10-07 05:39 AM

Re: Q6600
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by CaptNKILL
PC-6400 will be plenty for a Quad core unless you are using some ridiculous cooling that'd allow you to get over 3.6Ghz.

You should be able to do 1:1 ratio with no problems up to at least 400Mhz BUS (800Mhz DDR) but I doubt the CPU will make it that far if you're on air cooling, or even water.

Mine made 430mhz @ 4-4-4-12 on air no problems.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.