nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Home Theater A/V (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=54)
-   -   RCA vs. Component (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=96216)

annmay 08-07-07 07:39 PM

RCA vs. Component
 
Hi everyone, I just joined the forum.

I have a flat screen TV that takes a component signal, so I'm looking to hook that up. I know they sell component cables designated for each color but they look exactly like RCA cables with slightly thicker heads. Is there any different between the two cords, or can I save money and use RCAs?

betterdan 08-07-07 08:25 PM

Re: RCA vs. Component
 
You could use the RCA cables but don't be a cheap ass and just get some component ones, they aren't that expensive especially if you order them from here http://www.monoprice.com/products/su...d=10235&style=

rflair 08-07-07 09:15 PM

Re: RCA vs. Component
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by annmay
Hi everyone, I just joined the forum.

I have a flat screen TV that takes a component signal, so I'm looking to hook that up. I know they sell component cables designated for each color but they look exactly like RCA cables with slightly thicker heads. Is there any different between the two cords, or can I save money and use RCAs?

No you can't use RCA cables in component jacks, they operate on different impedances (ohms).

betterdan 08-07-07 09:17 PM

Re: RCA vs. Component
 
Yes you can, I have done it before in a pinch and they worked.

rflair 08-07-07 09:30 PM

Re: RCA vs. Component
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by betterdan
Yes you can, I have done it before in a pinch and they worked.

My mistake then, I just remember trying digital audio with regular rca and it didn't work. Never tried video, I stand corrected.

evilghost 08-07-07 09:33 PM

Re: RCA vs. Component
 
As long as they're the same gauge cable they work just fine, regardless of the color. Just makes doing YPbPr a little more annoying when you're mismatching the cable colors :)

betterdan 08-07-07 10:08 PM

Re: RCA vs. Component
 
Digital audio coax works with regular composite cables too, at least the video composite cable, never tried the audio composite but I don't see why that wouldn't work either.
When I didn't have enough optical inputs on my old receiver I was using a regular analog composite cable for the digital coax output on the dvd player and into the receiver with no problems.

Bman212121 08-07-07 11:58 PM

Re: RCA vs. Component
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by rflair
My mistake then, I just remember trying digital audio with regular rca and it didn't work. Never tried video, I stand corrected.

You can do digital audio with a regular cable as well IIRC. I'm pretty sure I've tried that with my Logitechs just using a standard composite cable, and it worked just fine. The wire itself is just a piece of copper, so as long as it can pass the current it sound work. It could have been a really thin cable or maybe too long to pass the signal properly.

@ the op:
I would probably just order a component cable though since it won't be much more, but the colors will match and you know it should work good because that is what it was intended to be used for.

annmay 08-08-07 05:20 PM

Re: RCA vs. Component
 
Thanks for all the help everyone. I tried using regular RCA and that seems to work for now, although I might buy a set of component to free up the other cables for audio equip. Thanks!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:54 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.