nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Benchmarking And Overclocking (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   Vdroop! GAH! (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=96824)

|MaguS| 08-18-07 10:30 PM

Vdroop! GAH!
 
Ok, Im getting better at OCing Intel CPUs. Im at 3.8Ghz right now but im unstable and I believe its due to Vdroop. I can run great but once I run a stress test my volts drop aswell just get a lock up.

Anyone know how to fix this on my motherboard? I know their is a pencil mod for the none plus version aswell as gigabyte boards..

BTW how high is too high of a vcore with an Ultra-120 cooling my CPU?

|MaguS| 08-18-07 10:50 PM

Re: Vdroop! GAH!
 
Think im going to high on my settings in my attemps to get stable at 3.8Ghz.

jAkUp 08-18-07 10:56 PM

Re: Vdroop! GAH!
 
To overcome a bad vdoop, I think really the only solution is a vmod.

|MaguS| 08-18-07 10:59 PM

Re: Vdroop! GAH!
 
So unless there is one for my board i guess im just gonna need to get a new board. =\

jAkUp 08-18-07 11:12 PM

Re: Vdroop! GAH!
 
Well, yes some boards are worse than others... especially when you get to high voltages, like 1.6v+

There should be a mod for your board though

|MaguS| 08-18-07 11:16 PM

Re: Vdroop! GAH!
 
Not finding one =\

GIGABYTE GA-P35-DQ6 or ASUS P5K Deluxe?

|MaguS| 08-19-07 12:21 AM

Re: Vdroop! GAH!
 
Asus ****ing sucks... I can boot into windows at 3.8Ghz but theirs a huge FSB hole, I can't use 3.6Ghz nor can I use 3.7Ghz... It's either 3.5Ghz or 3.8Ghz...

|MaguS| 08-19-07 10:05 AM

Re: Vdroop! GAH!
 
vcore was 1.575, I even went up to 1.6 (PC stayed nice and cool aswell, idle was 30C).

conroejoe 08-19-07 11:04 PM

Re: Vdroop! GAH!
 
p5k can be pencil modded, check at xtremesystems.com/forums.

The gigabyte boards need vdroop soldered...

I have a DS3R, came from a pencilled p5b deluxe. I miss it for the OC. the voltage on the GB are strange. up to 1.6, then 1.8. and with the droop that means max @ 1.6v is 1.52v. Wish I went with the p5k.

|MaguS| 08-19-07 11:10 PM

Re: Vdroop! GAH!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by conroejoe
p5k can be pencil modded, check at xtremesystems.com/forums.

The gigabyte boards need vdroop soldered...

I have a DS3R, came from a pencilled p5b deluxe. I miss it for the OC. the voltage on the GB are strange. up to 1.6, then 1.8. and with the droop that means max @ 1.6v is 1.52v. Wish I went with the p5k.

Awsome, Wish I had a P5K board...

CaptNKILL 08-20-07 02:41 AM

Re: Vdroop! GAH!
 
vdroop on my board causes my vcore to drop from 1.5 to 1.44 under heavy load. Its still stable though surprisingly.

I'd love to get more out of this thing but I'd definitely need a volt mod. As much as I'd like to do it, I think I'll hold off.

The only upcoming games that could possibly kill my CPU will probably be the quad core optimized games, and by then I should be able to get my hands on a Xeon 45nm. No sense risking burning anything up for a couple hundred Mhz.

Tr1cK 08-20-07 08:51 AM

Re: Vdroop! GAH!
 
Asus is so overrated. I guess that's what marketing gets you.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.