nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Benchmarking And Overclocking (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   Should my temps be cooler? (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=96845)

ATOJAR 08-19-07 09:56 AM

Should my temps be cooler?
 
I have in total 3 case fans, one 120mm exhaust fan, one 120mm side fan & one 120mm front fan(see case links 1 & 2 for case & fans), i have a thermalright ultra 120 eXtreme and i used arctic silver 5 thermal compound, i have my cpu at 3.4GHz and im running at at 1.5v(see idle & load links for temps)

The load temp is running TAT(intel thermal analysis tool)for around 10-15 mins at 100% workload on both cores, the whole setup is well over 8 hours Orthos stable!

Ive tried re-seating the cpu cooler and that has no effect, ive checked to make sure there are no dry spots on the cpu(the thermal compound is fully covering the cpu)!

I cant help thinking the temps should be cooler... what do you guys reckon? ... anything i could try to lower the temps?

Idle

Load

**********************

Case 1

Case 2

Madpistol 08-19-07 10:12 AM

Re: Should my temps be cooler?
 
Those temps sound about right for 1.5V. Is that the lowest stable voltage you can get your processor to run @ 3.4Ghz? My 24/7 is 3.2Ghz, but I only have to push the voltage to about 1.28V for stability, but I have to push it to 1.5V for 3.6Ghz. If you can undervolt the processor any more than that, it would probably help your temps tremendously.

ATOJAR 08-19-07 10:23 AM

Re: Should my temps be cooler?
 
Yip, im aware that lower voltage means lower temps, ill try again to be sure, ill start at 1.45v and run Orthos, ill knock it up one on the vcore each time it fails, see what happenes .... i have tried this before, im sure 1.5v is the best i can do to get it stable, im thinking of running at 3.2GHz 24\7 ..... see if that helps knock afew voltages off.

If i run Orthos at 3.4GHz with 1.5v the cpu struggles to hit 55c ... just TAT really puts the temps up, although i know nothing stresses the cpu like TAT!

Maby im just unfortunate enough to get a cpu that needs higher voltages, luck of the draw i think .... i got the short straw lol

|MaguS| 08-19-07 11:12 AM

Re: Should my temps be cooler?
 
40C for idle? That sounds WAY to high honestly. At 3.8ghz (vcore at 1.575) I was idling at 32C, with my CPU at 3.5ghz (vcore 1.475) I am idling at 27C.

mullet 08-19-07 11:18 AM

Re: Should my temps be cooler?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by |MaguS|
40C for idle? That sounds WAY to high honestly. At 3.8ghz (vcore at 1.575) I was idling at 32C, with my CPU at 3.5ghz (vcore 1.475) I am idling at 27C.


He doesn't have G0 stepping like you and his case door is on. :p

Quote:

Originally Posted by ATOJAR
Now turning off C1E Support & Speedstep changes things, ive managed to get higher, i have 1.4500v ... at the moment im at 3.4GHz ... im goin to leave it at 1.4500v and see how high i can clock the CPU ... i dont really wanna go past 1.4500v!

Ill keep ya posted! .... w00t, thanks for your help guys! :D :cool:

Do you still have C1E Support & Speedstep disabled?

ATOJAR 08-19-07 11:40 AM

Re: Should my temps be cooler?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mullet
Do you still have C1E Support & Speedstep disabled?

Nope, i have them enabled!

|MaguS| 08-19-07 11:53 AM

Re: Should my temps be cooler?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mullet
He doesn't have G0 stepping like you and his case door is on. :p

True aboutt he G0 stepping but I dout the case door being off (not really off since its leaning against the case so the door fan still will work) would make that much of a difference.

mullet 08-19-07 11:55 AM

Re: Should my temps be cooler?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ATOJAR
Nope, i have them enabled!


So you have them enabled with your Vcore set at 1.5v or auto?

ATOJAR 08-19-07 12:03 PM

Re: Should my temps be cooler?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mullet
So you have them enabled with your Vcore set at 1.5v or auto?


Those are enabled with my vcore set to 1.5v .... ?

mullet 08-19-07 12:09 PM

Re: Should my temps be cooler?
 
So basically your CPU throttles back to 2.2Ghz with the vcore @ 1.5v this will have some affect on your idle temps, yes.

ATOJAR 08-19-07 12:14 PM

Re: Should my temps be cooler?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mullet
So basically your CPU throttles back to 2.2Ghz with the vcore @ 1.5v this will have some affect on your idle temps, yes.


Ahh right, so even though my cpu throttles down to 2.2GHz the voltage still stays at 1.5v? .... i though the voltage dropped also and just upped the voltage as asn when its needed! ......

Is there nothing i can do about this?

mullet 08-19-07 12:21 PM

Re: Should my temps be cooler?
 
Will if you leave your Vcore to auto then maybe, I have never tried this so I don't know for sure.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.