nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   Crysis (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=59)
-   -   Crysis Beta can corrupt os (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=99676)

Rummy 10-04-07 01:00 AM

Crysis Beta can corrupt os
 
Is this possible?

http://www.overclock.net/pc-games/24...a-warning.html

CaptNKILL 10-04-07 01:28 AM

Re: Crysis Beta can corrupt os
 
Thats a bit scary.

Anything is possible really. Its not very likely, but I wouldn't be completely surprised if it was true.

nutcrackr 10-04-07 02:25 AM

Re: Crysis Beta can corrupt os
 
I bet this is another BS rumour

SH64 10-04-07 02:40 AM

Re: Crysis Beta can corrupt os
 
Wait wait wait!! thats exactly what happened to my friend!!!!

he called me yesterday & told me how his OS get completely f*cked up after installing the Crysis beta. he is dual-booting on XP & Vista. now XP is not working correctly & in Vista many files are corrupted & the beta file itself is missing! :eek:

now that someone confirmed it , i can believe it is a serious issue but probably not for many.

Dreamingawake 10-04-07 02:44 AM

Re: Crysis Beta can corrupt os
 
:headexplode: :headexplode:

geez.. this is ridiculous.

it actually happened to me too. had to re-install vista, but, at the time
i didn't think it was related to the beta........

sux hardcore, i love this game, don't want to uninstall it.. but.. now i'm
scared that i should........

EDIT: it happened to me with Beta 2.. using beta 3 now.. I wonder..

Blade 10-04-07 02:45 AM

Re: Crysis Beta can corrupt os
 
Bah, dual booting here & running Crysis Beta since 1st release, no probs at all.
Crysis running in XP as Vista performance with Crysis is crap compared to XP atm.

SH64 10-04-07 04:26 AM

Re: Crysis Beta can corrupt os
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Dreamingawake
EDIT: it happened to me with Beta 2.. using beta 3 now.. I wonder..

Be warned the problem my friend had was when he just started to install the beta 3.

3DBrad 10-04-07 09:20 AM

Re: Crysis Beta can corrupt os
 
I had the same thing after installing a game demo a few months back.

nekrosoft13 10-04-07 09:32 AM

Re: Crysis Beta can corrupt os
 
when PC is running and for no reason it shut down or gets BSOD. There is always a change that a file might get corrupted.

This could happen when you view this website, not likelly, but its possible.

Just because it happened while you played the game, doesn't mean the game is to blame.

3DBrad 10-04-07 10:12 AM

Re: Crysis Beta can corrupt os
 
With mine, what was happening is that sure, it would POST and everything, as that has nothing to do with the OS, however, it wouldn't even go into safe mode.

It would attempt to go into safemode, but would just freeze.

I could have possibly just "repaired" the installation, but I format too often to worry about "repairing" an OS installation. :)

madmossy 10-04-07 11:35 AM

Re: Crysis Beta can corrupt os
 
Thread title should be renamed to "Idiotic Users can corrupt OS".

Crysis has been perfectly fine for me since Beta 1 and im running Vista 64 the most hated of all winblows OS's (from a developer standpoint :P)

nekrosoft13 10-04-07 11:43 AM

Re: Crysis Beta can corrupt os
 
beta3? when did that happen?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.