nV News Forums

 
 

nV News Forums (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/index.php)
-   NVIDIA Linux (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Quake3 Performance Problem with 4349 (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=9992)

tstate 04-11-03 04:38 AM

Quake3 Performance Problem with 4349
 
Hi,

Quake was running fine with the last version of the Driver. I
updated to 4349. Now I have about 40 Frames less in Quake
plus the timings seem to be wrong. The clock runs about 2-4"
to slow. Jumps are like there's no gravity etc, etc, etc...
...it's just not playable anymore.

My Hardware:
Asus A7A266, Duron 1000Mhz, 265MB RAM, Geforce2 MX400
Linux RedHat 8.0
Quake3 1.32b (110 Frames before now 70)

My Question is now: How can i go back to the old driver????
Reinstalling the RPM's won't work.

Andy Mecham 04-11-03 01:10 PM

Quote:

Jumps are like there's no gravity etc, etc, etc...
This almost sounds like a Q3A problem - the NVIDIA driver can't affect the in-game gravity settings, unless you meant that as a description of choppy play.
Quote:

My Question is now: How can i go back to the old driver????
Code:

nvidia-installer --uninstall
will uninstall the driver. You can then install 1.0-4191.

--andy

tstate 04-13-03 05:05 AM

Hi,

I will check the uninstaller. Got no time a the moment.

It's not just a quake problem!
before after
quake 100-110 60-70 FPS
UT 60 30 FPS
UT2003 35 5-8 FPS

I have another system. It's pretty much the same. Expect theres a Geforce4 TI4200 in it. Here everything
runs fine.

Andy Mecham 04-13-03 02:46 PM

Are you sure you're pulling the correct libGL libraries?

--andy

tstate 04-15-03 07:59 AM

Hi,

Testet the uninstaller. Everything is running fine again!

There where in fact some libGLxxx.rpmsave around. But
the active one was libGL.so.1.0.4349. Maybe I try it
sometimes on freshly installed box.

btw: The main problem was not the lack of performance.
The timings where wrong!
One minute real time was:
48s on a the Geforce2 MX in Quake3
58s on Geforce4 MX in Quake3
This lead to the slow jumps and movments (I think)

There was another problem: A friend of mine couldn't
change the settings in Quake3. Quake simply crashed.
Reinstalling the older drivers (4191) helped.
(Celeron1700, Geforce4MX, RedHat80)

So I guess I wait for the next generation of Drivers ;)

Thanks alot

Gabriel

Wolfman [TWP] 04-15-03 09:04 AM

Quote:

There was another problem: A friend of mine couldn't
change the settings in Quake3. Quake simply crashed.
Reinstalling the older drivers (4191) helped.
There could also be a problem with the glibc library files. I had that problem with the new install of RH9, and when RH updated the glibc library files that fixed the crashing problem with Q3A. Now I can setup and change Quake 3's settings without it crashing.. It's worth looking into.... This was with the 4349 drivers installed (RH9 needs the 4349 anyway as the other will not run)

Wolf

Andy Mecham 04-15-03 12:53 PM

The US boxed version of RH9 shipped with a broken glibc - you need to grab the update from RedHat if you're using that version. The download version is fine.

--andy

tstate 04-28-03 06:54 AM

Hi,

Found the Problem(s)!
I had twinview aktivated (for playing on the BIG screen).
Turning twinview off -> Evereything is as fast as before. :)

Now I updatet to 4363 and RH9 and everything seems to
work perfect.

thx alot for the new drivers.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.