I don't see what the big deal is? They are deleting characters from accounts that have been inactive for 7 months and not from active accounts. If the accounts are going to be inactive for that long it's probably safe to say the people who created those accounts do not want to come back or use em.
• NO characters will be deleted from an account that has a valid, running subscription.
• If an account's subscription ran out 7 or more months ago, and the account is not reactivated until the character deletion process starts, characters below level 21 will be deleted. Characters of level 21 and up remain untouched and are NOT deleted.
I really peed off that they nerfed the double XP potion....was making leveling alts fun in "easy mode"