Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-12-03, 10:53 AM   #1
Kapp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 94
Send a message via ICQ to Kapp Send a message via AIM to Kapp
Default Operating System Not Found?

I rebooted my other computer today and it wouldn't load, all it says is "operating system not found" I tryed to format, but it said I couldn't, and I have no clue what else I can possibly do. I put the windows 98 startup disk in, and it wouldn't even load the drivers because it can't find a disk or something, but it was working fine for awhile..anyone know what could be wrong?
Kapp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-03, 12:04 PM   #2
madthumbs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 188
Default

Check the cables to the HD
__________________
my pos
madthumbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-03, 04:39 PM   #3
Head_slinger
DEP Hater :)
 
Head_slinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, UK
Posts: 277
Send a message via ICQ to Head_slinger
Default

This happened to e and it was actually the HD jumper for Slave master. It wasnt set properly.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3500+
1gb Corsair XMS3200C2PT
Leadtek 6800GT
Audigy 2
ASUS A8V

Windows XP Prof./SuSe 8.2
Head_slinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-03, 05:23 PM   #4
volt
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 1,556
Default Re: Operating System Not Found?

Quote:
Originally posted by Kapp
I rebooted my other computer today and it wouldn't load, all it says is "operating system not found" I tryed to format, but it said I couldn't, and I have no clue what else I can possibly do. I put the windows 98 startup disk in, and it wouldn't even load the drivers because it can't find a disk or something, but it was working fine for awhile..anyone know what could be wrong?
Usually this is fixable (when your OS still resides on your partition that is hehe)

If it was Win2k/XP you could just copy the system files over. I'm not sure how did that happen just of rebooting.

It could be that your partition is no longer bootable. Run fdisk to fix the problem. There will be an option to set the active partition, then you will be able to format.
__________________
[b]Optimization guidelines by Koji Ashida of NVIDIA:[/b][list][*]Use fx12 instructions whenever possible[*]Use lowest pixel shader version[/list][url=http://developer.nvidia.com/docs/IO/10878/ChinaJoy2004_OptimizationAndTools.pdf]source[/url]

[size=1]The politics are invading the technology. We don't really like to mess with politics because that kind of adversarial relationship has nothing to do with pure technical operations and the technical specifications of what we like to play with, the hardware![/size]
volt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UEFI+Nvidia - NVRM: Your system is not currently configured to drive a VGA console... interzoneuk NVIDIA Linux 0 06-26-12 04:51 AM
Max Payne 3 system requirements updated, new PC screenshots released News Archived News Items 0 05-28-12 06:49 AM
Ars Technica system guide: Bargain Box April 2012 News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 10:30 PM
What operating system are you using? PCarr78 Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 58 03-31-03 06:28 PM
Strange RedHat 7.3 issues with A7N266-C nforceuser NVIDIA Linux 8 09-27-02 03:16 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.