Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > General Software

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-20-06, 04:55 AM   #1
H3avyM3tal
SB's Twin Blades
 
H3avyM3tal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Israel
Posts: 1,138
Default How do I take gigs from one volume and give it to another?

I know its confusing but:

I have 80gigs of hd space divided into 10/20/20/25. Got xp installed already and all other stuff I needed.

Now, my question is how do I take the 10/20/20/25 and make it into 15/15/20/25? I used to know of such a program that could do that.
I really dont wanna install xp all over again......

Any help would be much appreciated
H3avyM3tal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-06, 05:47 AM   #2
glObalist
working as intended
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 935
Default Re: How do I take gigs from one volume and give it to another?

Partition Magic
__________________
Intel E8400 C2D 3Ghz @ 3.6Ghz ---> ASUS P5Q Pro <--- 2x2GB PATRIOT DDR2 800Mhz
PALIT Sonic HD4850 1GB DDR3 <---> BENQ FP241W 24" LCD
M-AUDIO FireWire 410 <---> Logitech Z-5400 5.1 THX
Quote:
All MMO's are now baby-school weak. The only good MMO's make your eyes bleed and force you to eat glass. In my day we had to walk uphill in the snow 5 miles *JUST* to log in.
glObalist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-06, 09:03 AM   #3
dsessom
Boobs are good.
 
dsessom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Lawton, OK USA
Posts: 134
Send a message via ICQ to dsessom Send a message via AIM to dsessom Send a message via Yahoo to dsessom
Default Re: How do I take gigs from one volume and give it to another?

Partition Magic is the only app I know of that can do that. But, just from personal experience, it isn't always 100% successful at resizing partitions and can corrupt data on those partitions that are resized.
__________________
Main PC - | Pentium5 @ 6.4ghz (400x16) | Vapochill XC (XtraChilly) | Abit ICU812 v2.0 | 8GB (4x2GB) Corsair XMS PC12800 @ 2-3-3-5-1T | XFX Geforce 9850 Super Ultra GTX X4 | 4x1TB WD SATA3 RAID 0 | Sony DLQ32 DVD+/-RW | ThermalTake Chameleon case w/thermal sensitive paint. & 1000W PSU | Windows Valley SemiPro w/SP1.25
dsessom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-06, 09:40 AM   #4
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,365
Default Re: How do I take gigs from one volume and give it to another?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsessom
Partition Magic is the only app I know of that can do that. But, just from personal experience, it isn't always 100% successful at resizing partitions and can corrupt data on those partitions that are resized.
100% true

i tried partition magic few times, once or twice, it corrupted both partitions, so be careful

vista also has a build in resize option
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-06, 12:24 PM   #5
H3avyM3tal
SB's Twin Blades
 
H3avyM3tal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Israel
Posts: 1,138
Default Re: How do I take gigs from one volume and give it to another?

Thanks for the info. I managed to find one though, called Paragon Partition Manager. Worked like a charm

Thanks for the effort guys/gals
H3avyM3tal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-06, 12:37 PM   #6
rewt
mmm, Beer.. :drooling:
 
rewt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 3,667
Default Re: How do I take gigs from one volume and give it to another?

Stick with Paragon. Norton/Symantec, whoever they are, will most likely corrupt your data. It happened to me before too.
__________________
My pimp'n rig
Athlon64 Venice 3000+ @ 2.6GHz (4100+) · Win XP Pro x86, Vista Ultimate x64 · eVGA K8-NF41 nForce4 SLi · Corsair XMS 1.5GB PC3200 CAS2/1T · eVGA 2x 6600GT SLi · Leadtek Winfast TV2000 XP Deluxe · Western Digital Caviar SE ½TB RAID 0/1 · PowerLink LPK2-30 400W · LiteON LDW-411S OC to 811S 8x DVD±R/RW/ROM · MicroAdvantage 64MB QuickiDrive · Samsung SyncMaster 931B 19" LCD · Microsoft Optical Wheel Mouse USB · Sony PSXtoUSB Analog Gamepads · Memorex MX2700 Multimedia Keyboard · Lexmark 3200 Color Jetprinter · nForce Network Controller 1Gb/s LAN (Cable ~3Mb/s down) · ΩPioneer Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound
rewt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.