Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-15-03, 05:31 AM   #1
lgcperth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 4
Default new machine and TwinView

Hi I have just recieved a dual Xeon 2.8 Ghz box with a new Nvidia Q4 980 XGlL

I am running redhat 7.3, I used an overkill full install of everything.

My problem is that I cannot figure out how to get the nvidia driver working, I can only seem to get the vesa driver working and that does not allow me to do a twinview.

Help!!!

Ive attached my XF86Config-4 and the log file.
Attached Files
File Type: log xfree86.0.log (16.8 KB, 118 views)
lgcperth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-03, 05:33 AM   #2
lgcperth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 4
Default

Opps forgot the XF86Config-4
Attached Files
File Type: txt xf86config-4.txt (1.9 KB, 121 views)
lgcperth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-03, 01:40 PM   #3
Andy Mecham
l33t master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default

The "Failed to initialize kernel module" message is the catchall error message - there are lots of causes.

Can you successfully insert the nvidia kernel module with modprobe?
Code:
modprobe nvidia
Does X then start if you do that?

--andy
__________________
Andy Mecham
NVIDIA Corporation
Andy Mecham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-03, 09:24 PM   #4
lgcperth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 4
Default

sorry to be such a newbie,I guess I run modprobe in a shell.


I tried in a shell and got the message

modprobe: Can't locate module nvidia

So maybe my environment is wrong??

I ran the standard install of the driver from teh nvidia website via teh command

sh NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-4349.run
lgcperth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-03, 05:03 AM   #5
lgcperth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 4
Default

O.K. I have managed to get the twinview working, I think the problem relates to my DV cables.

I was running the two lcd monitors directly from the DVI outputs on the graphics boards to the DVI inputs on the monitors.

When i ran dv->anologe convertors, and standard rgb cables into the monitors, lo and behold it works.

Any clues as to how i can make the dvi cables work.

I have tried altering the crt,crt to dlp,dlp but that doesnt work.
lgcperth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
order of devices in TwinView mjh NVIDIA Linux 2 10-16-02 04:45 AM
[CRASH] GeForce2MX with TwinView beezly NVIDIA Linux 3 08-05-02 05:31 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.