Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-27-06, 03:41 PM   #1
fishy-mun
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 7
Default Fedora 6 Xinerama Problems

Hi all,

I have just installed FC6 and am trying to get my dual head GeForce 6600 card to work with Xinerama. I allows me to log in but once I try to open applications such as xterm or gdesklets they just fail. When I log in using Twinview they dont but then I loose my one big desktop as opposed to having two seperate ones.

Any ideas?

I am using the following xorg.conf
# Xorg configuration created by system-config-display

Section "ServerLayout"

#Option "TwinView"
Identifier "dual head configuration"
Screen "Screen0" 0 0
Screen "Screen1" RightOf "Screen0"
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
Option "Xinerama" "On"

EndSection

Section "Files"
RgbPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
ModulePath "/usr/lib/xorg/modules/extensions/nvidia"
ModulePath "/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
FontPath "unix/:7100"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "dbe"
Load "extmod"
Load "fbdevhw"
Load "record"
Load "freetype"
Load "type1"
Load "glx"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# Specify which keyboard LEDs can be user-controlled (eg, with xset(1))
# Option "Xleds" "1 2 3"
# To disable the XKEYBOARD extension, uncomment XkbDisable.
# Option "XkbDisable"
# To customise the XKB settings to suit your keyboard, modify the
# lines below (which are the defaults). For example, for a non-U.S.
# keyboard, you will probably want to use:
# Option "XkbModel" "pc102"
# If you have a US Microsoft Natural keyboard, you can use:
# Option "XkbModel" "microsoft"
#
# Then to change the language, change the Layout setting.
# For example, a german layout can be obtained with:
# Option "XkbLayout" "de"
# or:
# Option "XkbLayout" "de"
# Option "XkbVariant" "nodeadkeys"
#
# If you'd like to switch the positions of your capslock and
# control keys, use:
# Option "XkbOptions" "ctrl:swapcaps"
# Or if you just want both to be control, use:
# Option "XkbOptions" "ctrl:nocaps"
#
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "de"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "yes"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"

### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "BENQ"
ModelName "BenQ FP991"
DisplaySize 380 300
### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
HorizSync 30.0 - 81.0
VertRefresh 56.0 - 76.0
Option "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"

### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
Identifier "Monitor1"
VendorName "BENQ"
ModelName "BenQ FP990"
DisplaySize 380 300
### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
HorizSync 30.0 - 81.0
VertRefresh 56.0 - 76.0
Option "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "nvidia0"
Driver "nvidia"
BusID "AGP:01:00:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "nvidia1"
Driver "nvidia"
BusID "AGP:01:00:0"
Screen 1
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "nvidia0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1280x1024"
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen1"
Device "nvidia1"
Monitor "Monitor1"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1280x1024"
EndSubSection
EndSection
fishy-mun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-06, 03:45 PM   #2
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Fedora 6 Xinerama Problems

This is a known Xorg bug that occurs when Xinerama & Composite are used simultaneously. The only current workarounds are to disable Composite or use Twinview.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-06, 03:57 PM   #3
friedmud
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 15
Default Re: Fedora 6 Xinerama Problems

Explain again why you don't want twinview? I don't understand?

I'm currently using Twinview to run two monitors on FC6 with 9625 and compiz stuff... it all works great.

Friedmud
friedmud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-06, 04:05 PM   #4
fishy-mun
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 7
Default Re: Fedora 6 Xinerama Problems

Thanks for the replys. Maybe I am doing something wrong. When I do twinview I get two seperate screens as opposed to one big one. This means I would like to be able to drag a window from one monitor to the other.
fishy-mun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-06, 04:08 PM   #5
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Fedora 6 Xinerama Problems

I'm not sure that I understand what you mean by "two separate screens". Please generate and post an nvidia-bug-report.log.
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-06, 04:11 PM   #6
fishy-mun
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 7
Default Re: Fedora 6 Xinerama Problems

What I mean by two seperate screens is that you cant drag one window from one monitor to the next.

How do I create the log file?
fishy-mun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-06, 04:40 PM   #7
fishy-mun
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 7
Default Re: Fedora 6 Xinerama Problems

Got it working. I pasted in the following and it worked:

Section "Extensions"
Option "Composite" "false"
EndSection

Sorry for the basic questions.

Mun
fishy-mun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-06, 05:42 PM   #8
friedmud
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 15
Default Re: Fedora 6 Xinerama Problems

Twinview definitely allows you to drag windows between the screens...

Here is my xorg config that works with 9625 drivers with Twinview (draggable windows between screens), composite and compiz all working perfectly...

Code:
# Xorg configuration created by system-config-display

Section "ServerLayout"
	Identifier     "Default Layout"
	Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
	InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
	InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
        Option "AIGLX" "true"
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
        Option         "Composite"   "Enable"
EndSection


Section "Files"

# RgbPath is the location of the RGB database.  Note, this is the name of the 
# file minus the extension (like ".txt" or ".db").  There is normally
# no need to change the default.
# Multiple FontPath entries are allowed (they are concatenated together)
# By default, Red Hat 6.0 and later now use a font server independent of
# the X server to render fonts.
	ModulePath   "/usr/lib/xorg/modules/extensions/nvidia"
	ModulePath   "/usr/lib/xorg/modules/extensions"
	ModulePath   "/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
	FontPath     "unix/:7100"
EndSection

Section "Module"
	Load  "dbe"
	Load  "extmod"
	Load  "fbdevhw"
	Load  "glx"
	Load  "record"
	Load  "freetype"
	Load  "type1"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# Specify which keyboard LEDs can be user-controlled (eg, with xset(1))
#	Option	"Xleds"		"1 2 3"
# To disable the XKEYBOARD extension, uncomment XkbDisable.
#	Option	"XkbDisable"
# To customise the XKB settings to suit your keyboard, modify the
# lines below (which are the defaults).  For example, for a non-U.S.
# keyboard, you will probably want to use:
#	Option	"XkbModel"	"pc102"
# If you have a US Microsoft Natural keyboard, you can use:
#	Option	"XkbModel"	"microsoft"
#
# Then to change the language, change the Layout setting.
# For example, a german layout can be obtained with:
#	Option	"XkbLayout"	"de"
# or:
#	Option	"XkbLayout"	"de"
#	Option	"XkbVariant"	"nodeadkeys"
#
# If you'd like to switch the positions of your capslock and
# control keys, use:
#	Option	"XkbOptions"	"ctrl:swapcaps"
# Or if you just want both to be control, use:
#	Option	"XkbOptions"	"ctrl:nocaps"
#
	Identifier  "Keyboard0"
	Driver      "kbd"
	Option	    "XkbModel" "pc105"
	Option	    "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
	Identifier  "Mouse0"
	Driver      "mouse"
	Option	    "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
	Option	    "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
	Option	    "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
	Option	    "Emulate3Buttons" "yes"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"

 ### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
 ### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
 ### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
#	ModelName    "Dell P1110"
#	DisplaySize  400	300
 ### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
#	HorizSync    30.0 - 121.0
#	VertRefresh  48.0 - 160.0
	Identifier   "Monitor0"
	VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
	Option	    "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Device"

#        Option     "HWcursor" "True"
#        Option     "CursorShadow" "True"
	Identifier  "Videocard0"
	Driver      "nvidia"
	VendorName  "Videocard vendor"
	BoardName   "NVIDIA GeForce FX (generic)"
	Option	    "TwinView"
	Option	    "TwinViewOrientation" "RightOf"
	# Option	    "MetaModes" "1600x1200 +0+0,1280x1024 +1600+176;1280x1024,;1024x768,;800x600,"
	Option	    "MetaModes" "1600x1200 +0+0,1280x1024 +1600+176;,1280x1024;,1024x768;,800x600"
        Option      "XAANoOffscreenPixmaps" "true"
        Option      "DRI"     "true"
        Option      "AllowGLXWithComposite" "true"
	Option       "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "true"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
        Option       "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "true"
	Identifier "Screen0"
	Device     "Videocard0"
	Monitor    "Monitor0"
	DefaultDepth     24
	SubSection "Display"
		Viewport   0 0
		Depth     24
		Modes    "1600x1200" "1280x1024" "800x600" "640x480"
	EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "DRI"
	Group        0
	Mode         0666
EndSection
friedmud is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-27-06, 11:37 PM   #9
Scutter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1
Default Re: Fedora 6 Xinerama Problems

Friedmud,

I tried your exact config with my 7600 and it didn't work, so I took the compiz bits out of your config and got it to work in my existing working non-compiz config with TwinView. Now compiz and TwinView are working together, but the desktops behave slightly differently.

Without effects enabled, each monitor acts like a separate desktop segment. I can maximize a window and it will only maximize to that monitor.

With effects enabled, both monitors together act as a single segment, so maximized winddows span both screens. This is obviously not desireable. Are you experiencing similar behaviour with effects enabled on with your config? If not, any idea why this happens?
Scutter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-06, 12:36 AM   #10
friedmud
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 15
Default Re: Fedora 6 Xinerama Problems

Yes... this is because Compiz is kind of dumb... it ignores Xinerama info (When there is an X server spanning multiple displays it exports Xinerama info to tell the window manager where the screen boundaries are so that things like Maximize work like you think they should... but Compiz doesn't pay attention)

I _highly_ recommend using Beryl instead: http://www.beryl-project.org/

It is a community fork of Compiz... it is _much_ more complete including a nice manager applet that sits in your taskbar tray... and a great plugin/configuration dialog to tweak everything like you want it and use lots of different plugins. But most importantly it honors Xinerama info... so it works better for us multi-monitor users.

RPMs that work with FC6 can be found here:

http://www.fedoraforum.org/forum/sho...ge=1&pp=15

(About 3/4 of the way down the first post)

Give it a whirl!

Friedmud
friedmud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-06, 02:28 AM   #11
alphonse
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 30
Default Re: Fedora 6 Xinerama Problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by fishy-mun
Thanks for the replys. Maybe I am doing something wrong. When I do twinview I get two seperate screens as opposed to one big one. This means I would like to be able to drag a window from one monitor to the other.
Twinview are draggable, how did you manage to do the opposite?
__________________
Fedora 7, AMD XP-M 2,4Ghz, Super-T DDR, GB nForce2, 7300GT DDR3(1600Mhz)
alphonse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
problems with drivers after 295.40 (OpenSuSE 12.1, GeFroce 7900 GS, Phenom II X4) alawa NVIDIA Linux 0 06-09-12 07:37 PM
Tex Is Back: Project Fedora Receives Its Funding News Archived News Items 0 06-07-12 10:50 AM
Nvidia Problems in Slackware 8.1 xtreme NVIDIA Linux 3 10-01-02 01:03 PM
mplayer & xmms problems! replys2me NVIDIA Linux 5 09-06-02 03:34 PM
DirectX 8 problems with GeForce4 Derwin NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 19 08-20-02 02:23 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.