Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-12-03, 12:06 PM   #1
madthumbs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 188
Default New .Net and now I have to log in!?

I was able to figure out how to be able to click on my icon to login, but can't I just skip that part anyway? I'm the only user on this PC.
__________________
my pos
madthumbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-03, 02:58 PM   #2
monkeydust
Registered User
 
monkeydust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 495
Default

I use the Autologin feature in Tweak UI to do that. I don't know how to do it without using that. But, Tweak UI has some other nice features and is unobtrusive anyway.
__________________
AMD X2 4800+
ASUS A8N-SLI
2 x 1GB OCZ PC3200 Platinum
eVGA 8800 GTS 620/1000
2 x 300gb Maxtor Maxline III SATA2 HD
Creative X-Fi / Logitech Z-5500
NEC 16X Double Layer DVD±RW Drive
Lian-Li v1200 w/OCZ Powerstream 600w PSU
Dell 2001FP 20.1" LCD
3DMark06 - 8553
monkeydust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-03, 05:24 PM   #3
volt
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 1,556
Default

.Net? You mean like Windows .Net ? (win2k3 maybe?)
__________________
[b]Optimization guidelines by Koji Ashida of NVIDIA:[/b][list][*]Use fx12 instructions whenever possible[*]Use lowest pixel shader version[/list][url=http://developer.nvidia.com/docs/IO/10878/ChinaJoy2004_OptimizationAndTools.pdf]source[/url]

[size=1]The politics are invading the technology. We don't really like to mess with politics because that kind of adversarial relationship has nothing to do with pure technical operations and the technical specifications of what we like to play with, the hardware![/size]
volt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-03, 07:13 PM   #4
madthumbs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 188
Default

Nah, I think it's .net v1.1 or something like that. I'll try tweakui. I've tried it before, but it didn't offer me anything I couldn't do without it at the time. Thanks!
__________________
my pos
madthumbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-03, 06:24 PM   #5
SteveL
70.....degrees
 
SteveL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 53
Default

This one caught me out too !!

Once you've installed the new .Net patch, go to the Users section in Control Panel, you'll notice that Windows has created a new user using the .Net name, if you delete that user you won't have to log in anymore.

If at some point in the future you need to use .Net s/w Windows will just create the user again automatically so you shouldn't have any probs.

Hope this helps
SteveL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-03, 02:41 PM   #6
madthumbs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 188
Default

Thanks, tweakui worked temporarily and seemed worthy of having installed. When I get home, I'll give this a try. I was considering it anyway, but wasn't sure about what it would do.
__________________
my pos
madthumbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.