Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-18-03, 12:41 PM   #1
mzla
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Missoula, MT
Posts: 7
Question Quick q re fresh slack9.0 install

Hi
I just did a fresh new install of slackware 9, and am using the nv driver that comes with it. I've got a geForce 2 MX, 64mb.
It works... for the most part.
Q. Should I stick with this driver, or download one from nvidia?
It is fine at 1280x1024, but I want 1024x768.
When at 1024x768, it gives me the "desktop bigger than screen", which I find annoying, even though I specified NOT with the xf86config. This is the case whether I'm at 24 or 16 bpp.
I might still have a copy of my modelines from slack 8.1, not sure.
Any tips?
Thanks
mzla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-03, 03:47 PM   #2
Andy Mecham
l33t master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default

Post your XF86Config file.

--andy
__________________
Andy Mecham
NVIDIA Corporation
Andy Mecham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-03, 03:54 PM   #3
mzla
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Missoula, MT
Posts: 7
Exclamation okay..... but.....

I'll post the XF86Config from home this evening, I'm at work now.
But my main question is... does nvidia have downloadable drivers that are any better than the one that came with Slackware 9?
Thanks!
mzla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-03, 04:04 PM   #4
Andy Mecham
l33t master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default

Slackware came with the opensource 2d "nv" driver, which is part of and distributed by XFree86. The driver available from www.nvidia.com is a fully accelerated 3D driver. If you're happy with just 2D, then it might be best to stick with what you have. If you plan on playing any games or using OpenGL, you'll need to install the accelerated driver.

--andy
__________________
Andy Mecham
NVIDIA Corporation
Andy Mecham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-03, 04:34 PM   #5
mzla
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Missoula, MT
Posts: 7
Default OK

Thanks, that's the info I was looking for
mzla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-03, 08:51 PM   #6
mzla
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Missoula, MT
Posts: 7
Default Here's my XF86Config

Here it is....
My main problem is that 1024x768 is using the bigger-than-screen desktop even though I told it not to.
Possibly this is because I don't have any modelines at this point ???
This is a geForce2 MX, 64mb, AGP.
Otherwise, everything seems to work fine.
Thanks for any tips/suggestions


# File generated by xf86config.

#
Section "Module"

# This loads the DBE extension module.

Load "dbe" # Double buffer extension

SubSection "extmod"
Option "omit xfree86-dga" # don't initialise the DGA extension
EndSubSection

Load "type1"
Load "speedo"
# Load "freetype"
# Load "xtt"

# This loads the GLX module
Load "glx"
# This loads the DRI module
# Load "dri"

EndSection

Section "Files"

RgbPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"

FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/local/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/misc/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi/:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi/:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Speedo/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Type1/"
# FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/TrueType/"
# FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/freefont/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi/"

# The module search path. The default path is shown here.

# ModulePath "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules"

EndSection


Section "ServerFlags"

# Option "NoTrapSignals"
# Option "DontVTSwitch"
# Option "DontZap"
# Option "Dont Zoom"
# Option "DisableVidModeExtension"
# Option "AllowNonLocalXvidtune"
# Option "DisableModInDev"
# Option "AllowNonLocalModInDev"

EndSection


Section "InputDevice"

Identifier "Keyboard1"
Driver "Keyboard"

# Option "Protocol" "Xqueue"

Option "AutoRepeat" "500 30"

# Option "Xleds" "1 2 3"
# Option "LeftAlt" "Meta"
# Option "RightAlt" "ModeShift"
# Option "XkbModel" "pc102"
# Option "XkbModel" "microsoft"
# Option "XkbLayout" "de"
# or:
# Option "XkbLayout" "de"
# Option "XkbVariant" "nodeadkeys"
#
# Option "XkbOptions" "ctrl:swapcaps"
# Option "XkbRules" "xfree86"
# Option "XkbModel" "pc101"
# Option "XkbLayout" "us"
# Option "XkbVariant" ""
# Option "XkbOptions" ""
# Option "XkbDisable"

Option "XkbRules" "xfree86"
Option "XkbModel" "microsoft"
Option "XkbLayout" "us"

EndSection


Section "InputDevice"

Identifier "Mouse1"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "PS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/mouse"

# Option "Resolution" "256"
# Option "Protocol" "Xqueue"
# Option "BaudRate" "9600"
# Option "SampleRate" "150"
Option "Emulate3Buttons"
# Option "Emulate3Timeout" "50"
# Option "ChordMiddle"

EndSection

Section "Monitor"

Identifier "vmp400"
HorizSync 27-96
VertRefresh 50-160

EndSection


Section "Device"
Identifier "Standard VGA"
VendorName "Unknown"
BoardName "Unknown"
# Chipset "generic"
Driver "vga"
# BusID "PCI:0:10:0"
# VideoRam 256
# Clocks 25.2 28.3

EndSection

# Device configured by xf86config:

Section "Device"
Identifier "nvcard"
Driver "nvidia"
VideoRam 65536
# Insert Clocks lines here if appropriate
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen 1"
Device "nvcard"
Monitor "vmp400"
DefaultDepth 24

Subsection "Display"
Depth 8
Modes "800x600" "640x480" "1024x768"
ViewPort 0 0
EndSubsection
Subsection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "1024x768" "1280x1024" "800x600"
ViewPort 0 0
EndSubsection
Subsection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1024x768" "1280x1024" "800x600"
ViewPort 0 0
EndSubsection
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Simple Layout"
Screen "Screen 1"
InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"

EndSection

# Section "DRI"
# Mode 0666
# EndSection
mzla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-03, 08:53 PM   #7
Andy Mecham
l33t master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default

It's setting up a virtual desktop because of the order of your modes. If you don't want 1280x1024, then remove it from your modes list.

--andy
__________________
Andy Mecham
NVIDIA Corporation
Andy Mecham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-03, 08:57 PM   #8
mzla
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Missoula, MT
Posts: 7
Default That's funny.

I removed all but the 1024x768, and yes, it works correctly now. It's funny because I'm sure I used to be able to have it that way before.
Go figure.
Thanks for the tip!
mzla is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mageia 2 Cannot Install 71.86.15 for Riva TNT/TNT2 kbulgrien NVIDIA Linux 3 06-29-12 08:27 AM
nForce + RedHat 7.3 Success Story rtz NVIDIA Linux 47 02-15-03 02:20 AM
Red Hat null(limbo beta 3), guide to install Nvidia Drivers utiel NVIDIA Linux 21 09-30-02 05:32 PM
can't install old det's after 40.41's m!n!0n NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 1 09-16-02 11:58 AM
How to install Divx+player to SUSE linux guide... kaarelcool NVIDIA Linux 1 08-27-02 07:54 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.