Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-09-06, 02:43 PM   #1
boow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 23
Default 9629 stuck 800 x 600 [SOLVED]

running slackware 11 driver stuck in 800 x 600

biostar geforce 6100-m9 using onboard card for now

planning on getting geforce 7600 i'll post back if i have problems with new card and drivers.

for now i just downgraded to 8776

Last edited by boow; 11-10-06 at 01:54 PM.
boow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-06, 02:53 PM   #2
zander
NVIDIA Corporation
 
zander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,740
Default Re: 9629 stuck 800 x 600

Please start X with -logverbose 6, then generate and attach an nvidia-bug-report.log file.
zander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-06, 05:38 PM   #3
Logan_Leichmann
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2
Default Re: 9629 stuck 800 x 600

I have the same problem with gentoo 2006.1 and GForceMX 4000...
Attached Files
File Type: log nvidia-bug-report.log (107.3 KB, 124 views)
Logan_Leichmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-06, 05:41 PM   #4
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: 9629 stuck 800 x 600

Looks like the problem is that the EDID for your CRT is returning bogus information:
(--) NVIDIA(0): --- EDID for @@@ (CRT-0) ---
(--) NVIDIA(0): Maximum Image Size : 65535mm x 65535mm
(--) NVIDIA(0): Valid HSync Range : 4294967 kHz - 0 kHz
(--) NVIDIA(0): Valid VRefresh Range : -1 Hz - 0 Hz
(--) NVIDIA(0): EDID maximum pixel clock : 0.0 MHz

Was this problem not present in an earlier driver version?

You can attempt to workaround this by setting UseEDID to false in xorg.conf and creating a modeline.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-06, 05:43 PM   #5
Logan_Leichmann
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2
Default Re: 9629 stuck 800 x 600

Tanks for the answer.
I haven't got any problem with earlier driver version.

I'll try your method.

Edit: Thanks you, it's work fine.
Now, trying to use beryl...
Logan_Leichmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-06, 08:02 PM   #6
Amr_not_Amr
*BANNED*
 
Amr_not_Amr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 11
Default Re: 9629 stuck 800 x 600

I've the same problem on fedora core 6 ... I didn't have such problem with any previous version ..
my running kernel is

2.6.18-1.2798.fc6


Quote:
You can attempt to workaround this by setting UseEDID to false in xorg.conf and creating a modeline.
how can this be made?
and in which section of xorg.conf ??

Note: This driver worked very nice with no problems until I've rebooted the system ... I think this may help ...

Here is my nvidia bug report after running X -logverbose 6
Attached Files
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report.log.tar.gz (29.9 KB, 109 views)

Last edited by Amr_not_Amr; 11-09-06 at 08:31 PM.
Amr_not_Amr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-06, 09:34 PM   #7
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: 9629 stuck 800 x 600

You add the following to the device section:
Option "UseEDID" "False"

See the driver README for more information.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-06, 11:26 PM   #8
RJD101
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 8
Default Re: 9629 stuck 800 x 600

You add the following to the device section:
Option "UseEDID" "False"


I chose to add Option "ModeValidation" "NoDFPNativeResolutionCheck" to the "Device" section of Xorg.conf, and my resolution issues were solved.

Apparently, FC6 could not configure a proper EDID on an older CRT, which in my particular setup is a 1280x1024, Sylvania F77
RJD101 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-10-06, 10:47 AM   #9
Amr_not_Amr
*BANNED*
 
Amr_not_Amr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 11
Default Re: 9629 stuck 800 x 600

Hello, thanks very much to every one who tried to help

I've tried to add this option
Option "ModeValidation" "NoDFPNativeResolutionCheck"
But it didn't work ... it opened again in 800x600 on 50 HZ

Then I've tried to set
Option "UseEDID" "False"
it worked well ... But there is a strange problem ... available refresh rates are reported incorrectly ... from kde the drop down menu reports that it's currently working on 50 Hz and and you can change it to any of the option ranges from 50 Hz to 57 Hz ... while I'm 100% sure that the current refresh rate isn't less that 85 Hz ..
Amr_not_Amr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-06, 01:54 PM   #10
boow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 23
Default Re: 9629 stuck 800 x 600

I had this with my new card as well but the trick above solved it. I'm no programmer but I'm guessing the new driver has problems with older non plug n play monitors. I'm using and old HP Pavilion S50.
boow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.