Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-16-03, 05:00 AM   #1
migras
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Vigo
Posts: 3
Send a message via Yahoo to migras
Unhappy nForce and new BandWidthTest

With the latest drivers and BandWidthTest mode enabled in XF86Config the higher resolution I can get is 1280x960@71Hz. Although I can stand that resolution, the refresh rate is too low.

Is there any way to tune the system (disabling AGP, sound, whatever) to higher this limit?
I'm running with the bandwidth test disabled at 1280x1024@80Hz, but the system is unstable. (Crashes with OpenOffice.org for instance). Enabling the bandwidth test makes the system stable, but my eyes would hurt
migras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-03, 10:38 AM   #2
Kenneth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 19
Default With 60 Hz refresh and 1280x1024 I got crispy fonts

After lowering the refresh rate, the fonts got nice and clean (MSI K7N420Pro m/b). I am using Mandrake 9.1.

I have noticed this in Windows XP too. With high refresh rate and 1280x1024, the display gets fuzzy. It seems like the built-in Video does not handle high bandwidth well.

If/when I upgrade, I will buy a graphics card with DVI and a flat screen.

When thinking about it, I actually had one or two X-crashes when I was using high refresh rate in Mandrake 9.1...

/Kenneth
Kenneth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-03, 12:59 PM   #3
Andy Mecham
l33t master
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,163
Default

Memory bandwidth is limited by the speed of your RAM.

--andy
__________________
Andy Mecham
NVIDIA Corporation
Andy Mecham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-03, 02:19 PM   #4
migras
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Vigo
Posts: 3
Send a message via Yahoo to migras
Default

Is there any way to calculate the maximum refresh rate for a given resolution knowing the memory speed?

(Thank you for your rapid answer, btw).
migras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-03, 12:12 PM   #5
migras
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Vigo
Posts: 3
Send a message via Yahoo to migras
Default

In case anybody has the same problem. I have a simple way to lower my bandwidth needs, so I can use a higher resolution.
Just lower the DefaultDepth so the card needs less bandwidth. Now I can run my monitor at 1280x1024@80Hz using 16 bbp.

(There's compromise between color depth and resolution/refresh rate).

Hope this helps somebody.
migras is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.