Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-23-03, 01:10 PM   #1
brg3982
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 5
Default Open GL, Xinerama, two monitors

Ok, I have given up on twinview and two video devices (cards) and gone back to xinerama. This leaves OpenGL basically intact except it centers the video on the center of my TWO screens, not the one it can (does) display too, so I get half of the Open GL displayed as if half my monitor were blank (but I am using two monitors). Does that make any sense?

ANyway, is there a GL configuration to tell it where to display how much of what?
brg3982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-03, 05:03 PM   #2
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

Use a window manager that understands the Xinerama information that the server has available. Window managers that understand Xinerama don't (unless you tell them to) put windows across both screens.
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-03, 11:15 AM   #3
brg3982
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 5
Default

I was laboring under the (mis?)conception that KDE 3.1.1 was xinerama aware. If it isn't, can I, and how do I, inform it that I am all xinerama-ish. Seems like I remember a radio button in KDE 3 that I can't find now.

Plus, it is really annoying that the Task bar won't span the two screens, but reserves space for it on the second.
brg3982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-03, 01:12 PM   #4
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

I don't know, never having used KDE in a twinview (or other dual-monitor) setup. But I do know that the Qt library has a compile-time option to enable Xinerama support, but its configure script says "breaks on RH 6.something", so perhaps whoever compiled your distro's Qt looked at that and didn't enable it? Each of KDE's packages also has an --enable-xinerama option that's off by default.

You might (might) be able to go to www.trolltech.com and get the latest source for Qt, then compile it yourself, but it's quite in-depth; maybe just ask around at wherever you got Qt and/or KDE from (like the distro's website) to see if they compiled it with Xinerama?
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nvidia Quadro 420 and dual 30" monitors quickSTi NVIDIA Linux 2 06-20-12 01:04 PM
Problems with configuring monitors and keeping them disabled with 302.17 Erosmith NVIDIA Linux 2 06-20-12 01:10 AM
Now Available: Knights Corner Open Source Software Stack News Archived News Items 0 06-05-12 09:00 PM
An open source analogy: Open source is like sharing a recipe News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 06:30 AM
2 Video Cards -- Disable Open GL on single? amites NVIDIA Linux 5 05-30-12 04:51 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.