Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-24-03, 09:09 AM   #1
zhak
Registered User
 
zhak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 12
Default Failed to initialize the NVIDIA kernel module!

My hardware: NVIDIA Riva TNT2(Pro)

I've installed last driver (NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-4349.run). Installer compiled kernel modules (informed me about that), but i have errors and can't start X

Cut from log:

[...]

(II) LoadModule: "GLcore"
(WW) Warning, couldn't open module GLcore
(II) UnloadModule: "GLcore"
(EE) Failed to load module "GLcore" (module does not exist, 0)

[...]

(EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to initialize the NVIDIA kernel module!
(EE) NVIDIA(0): *** Aborting ***
(II) UnloadModule: "nvidia"
(II) UnloadModule: "vgahw"
(II) Unloading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/libvgahw.a
(EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a usable configuration.

Fatal server error:
no screens found

What's going on? Please, HELP
Attached Files
File Type: log xfree86.0.log (19.5 KB, 98 views)
__________________
>zhak<
zhak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-03, 09:52 AM   #2
jimbob0i0
ATI Geek
 
jimbob0i0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 268
Send a message via ICQ to jimbob0i0 Send a message via Yahoo to jimbob0i0
Default

read the readme file......

you need to remove the lines load glcore and load dri from your xfree86 file..... it appears from the log that glcore is still loading.
jimbob0i0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-03, 10:05 AM   #3
zhak
Registered User
 
zhak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 12
Default

I have done it, and error about GLcore is gone, but i have STILL this errors:

[...]
(EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to initialize the NVIDIA kernel module!
(EE) NVIDIA(0): *** Aborting ***
(II) UnloadModule: "nvidia"
(II) UnloadModule: "vgahw"
(II) Unloading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/libvgahw.a
(EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a usable configuration.

Fatal server error:
no screens found

(
__________________
>zhak<
zhak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-03, 11:37 AM   #4
zhak
Registered User
 
zhak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 12
Default

it's ok now, but i have black BOX (with some coloured strip on the left) on CENTER of the screen and i can't kill this BOX normally.

This box disappear when i run for example xvidtune and move screen (right or whatever)
__________________
>zhak<
zhak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-03, 01:35 PM   #5
zhak
Registered User
 
zhak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 12
Smile

I've DONE it

This errors was because i used rivafb (framebuffer) compiled into kernel. Now i removed rivafb from my kernel and everything is OK.
__________________
>zhak<
zhak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Regression with 295.33 and GeForce GT 240 maro NVIDIA Linux 16 06-29-12 07:47 PM
UEFI+Nvidia - NVRM: Your system is not currently configured to drive a VGA console... interzoneuk NVIDIA Linux 0 06-26-12 05:51 AM
xorg locks-up with newest nvidia drivers w/ vdpau. theroot NVIDIA Linux 1 06-24-12 12:04 PM
nvidia + 2.4.19 gentoo = messed up ulukay NVIDIA Linux 18 11-02-02 12:58 AM
X Failed to load NVdriver c00lr4c3r NVIDIA Linux 13 10-22-02 02:44 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.