Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-31-06, 10:58 PM   #1
nippyjun
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 489
Default Question about memory speeds/ ratio/ and the math involved...

I have an evga 680i, memory unlinked and set to 1066 (8500c5d memory). I have been slowly increasing the FSB and stability testing the system. I have the FSB (QDR) currently at 1334, multiplier at 9 for a cpu speed of 3.0.

When i check the actualy memory speed in cpuz it says 1048 (524x2) and a ratio of 7:11. What math do i do to figure out how to set the memory speed so that it is actually 1066. I know that i can just up the memory speed setting a few mhz at a time until the actual speed is 1066, but i wanted to know how i use the ratio to figure out the speed.

Also, how do i know what memory ratio will be used when i choose a cpu fsb (even though i chose unlinked).

Thanks.
__________________
ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe Wireless edition mobo | AMD 64 X2 4800+ AM2 @ 3.0gigs | 2 Gigs Corsair Twin2X 6400C4 DDR2 @ 1000mhz @ 4-4-4-12 | EVGA 8800GTX | 150Gig Raptor SATA HD | NEC 16x DVD/RW | PC Power and Cooling 1Kilowatt Quad SLI PSU | Dell 3007 WFP 30" LCD | WinXP Pro SP2

Last edited by nippyjun; 01-01-07 at 12:01 AM.
nippyjun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-07, 10:12 AM   #2
hirantha
SUC SUDO
 
hirantha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: NY, Staten Island
Posts: 2,211
Default Re: Question about memory speeds/ ratio/ and the math involved...

i'm trying to figure this out too, cuz i'm having a brain fart trying to get my RAM & CPU to run 1:1

so 1334/4 =333 that means your RAM has to be 333*3 which is 999 maybe 1Ghz now thats i believe 2:3 ratio in order for 1:1 i think we have to run at 666Mhz of RAM

i'm not sure can anyone clarify this while i enjoy my brain fart

ok my brain fart is slowly clearing the air, i believe what i said up there is correct.. now lets say if you run your Proc at 420 which is 420*4 = 1680Mhz BUS now in order for the memory to run at 1:1 it has to be 420*2 = 840Mhz
I wonder if we can gain any performace running at 1:1
__________________
Intel i7 3770K
16 GB DDR3
Evga 670 SLI

Look me up in AION and GW2
Game Tag: Famorak

Last edited by hirantha; 01-04-07 at 11:11 AM.
hirantha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-07, 11:51 AM   #3
nippyjun
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 489
Default Re: Question about memory speeds/ ratio/ and the math involved...

What i'm seeing is that the computer looks at your fsb, and then at the speed that you have chosen for the memory and then used a ratio that gets the memory the closest to that speed.

It's not truely unlinked when you choose unlinked.
__________________
ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe Wireless edition mobo | AMD 64 X2 4800+ AM2 @ 3.0gigs | 2 Gigs Corsair Twin2X 6400C4 DDR2 @ 1000mhz @ 4-4-4-12 | EVGA 8800GTX | 150Gig Raptor SATA HD | NEC 16x DVD/RW | PC Power and Cooling 1Kilowatt Quad SLI PSU | Dell 3007 WFP 30" LCD | WinXP Pro SP2
nippyjun is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.