Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-10-06, 05:51 PM   #1
uOpt
FreeBSD cheering section
 
uOpt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Boston, MA, USA
Posts: 609
Default Broken in 8756: dual-head DFP/CRT with 6200 TC (worked in 8178)

Problem in 8756:

This dual-head setup doesn't work anymore:
Code:
Section "Device"
        Identifier      "pcie1nvidia0"
        Driver          "nvidia"
        VendorName      "Videocard vendor"
        BoardName       "Whatever NVidia is in the first PCIe slot - first screen"
        BusID           "PCI:05:0:0"
        Screen          0
        Option          "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT-1"
#       Option          "Coolbits" "1"
EndSection

Section "Device"
        Identifier      "pcie1nvidia1"
        Driver          "nvidia"
        VendorName      "Videocard vendor"
        BoardName       "Whatever NVidia is in the first PCIe slot - second screen"
        BusID           "PCI:05:0:0"
        Screen          1
        Option          "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP-0"
        Option          "Coolbits" "1"
EndSection

Code:
Section "Screen"
        Identifier              "screen0-on-pcie1nvidia"
        Device                  "pcie1nvidia0"
        Monitor                 "MAG"
        DefaultColorDepth       24
        Subsection "Display"
                Depth           24
                Modes
#                       "1600x1280"
#                       "1600x1200"
#                       "1600x1200cra"
                        "1400x1050cramag"
                        "1280x1024"
                        "1152x864"
                        "1024x768i"
                        "1024x768"
                        "800x600"
                        "640x480"
                        "320x240"
        EndSubsection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
        Identifier      "screen1-on-pcie1nvidia"
        Device          "pcie1nvidia1"
        Monitor         "Dell2405"
        DefaultDepth    24
        SubSection      "Display"
                Viewport        0 0
                Depth           24
                Modes
                                "1920x1200dell2"
                                "1920x1200dell3"
                                "1600x1200"
                                "1400x1050"
                                "1280x1024"
                                "1280x960"
                                "1152x864"
                                "1024x768"
                                "800x600"
                                "640x480"
        EndSubSection
EndSection

That worked fine under 8178, but in the new drivers I get:
Code:
(--) NVIDIA(0): Connected display device(s) on GeForce 6200 TurboCache(TM) at
(--) NVIDIA(0):     PCI:5:0:0:
(--) NVIDIA(0):     Mag InnoVision 986FS (CRT-1)
(--) NVIDIA(0): Mag InnoVision 986FS (CRT-1): 400 MHz maximum pixel clock
(II) NVIDIA(0): Assigned Display Device: CRT-1

[...]

(**) NVIDIA(1): Option "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP-0"
(**) NVIDIA(1): Option "Coolbits" "1"
(**) NVIDIA(1): Enabling RENDER acceleration
(II) NVIDIA(1): NVIDIA GPU GeForce 6200 TurboCache(TM) at PCI:5:0:0
(--) NVIDIA(1): VideoRAM: 65536 kBytes
(--) NVIDIA(1): VideoBIOS: 05.44.02.24.68
(II) NVIDIA(1): Detected PCI Express Link width: 8X
(--) NVIDIA(1): Interlaced video modes are supported on this GPU

(--) NVIDIA(1): Connected display device(s) on GeForce 6200 TurboCache(TM) at
(--) NVIDIA(1):     PCI:5:0:0:
(--) NVIDIA(1):     Mag InnoVision 986FS (CRT-1)
(--) NVIDIA(1): Mag InnoVision 986FS (CRT-1): 400 MHz maximum pixel clock
(EE) NVIDIA(1): Unable to find available Display Devices for screen 1.

As you can see, it detects the CRT again, although I told it to use the DFP output.

Any hints?

Maybe something about the config file syntax changed?
Attached Files
File Type: txt Xorg.0.log.txt (32.5 KB, 139 views)
File Type: txt xorg.conf.txt (13.5 KB, 151 views)
__________________

My Unix benchmark results
uOpt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-06, 05:59 PM   #2
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Broken in 8756: dual-head DFP/CRT with 6200 TC (worked in 8178)

You should be using the UseDisplayDevice option, not the ConnectedMonitor option. If UseDisplayDevice fails to work, please generate and post an nvidia-bug-report.log.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-06, 06:07 PM   #3
uOpt
FreeBSD cheering section
 
uOpt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Boston, MA, USA
Posts: 609
Default Re: Broken in 8756: dual-head DFP/CRT with 6200 TC (worked in 8178)

Thank you, Lonni, that did it.



Working version:
Code:
Section "Device"
        Identifier      "pcie1nvidia0"
        Driver          "nvidia"
        VendorName      "Videocard vendor"
        BoardName       "Whatever NVidia is in the first PCIe slot - first screen"
        BusID           "PCI:05:0:0"
        Screen          0
        Option          "UseDisplayDevice" "CRT"
#       Option          "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT-1"
        Option          "Coolbits" "1"
EndSection

Section "Device"
        Identifier      "pcie1nvidia1"
        Driver          "nvidia"
        VendorName      "Videocard vendor"
        BoardName       "Whatever NVidia is in the first PCIe slot - second screen"
        BusID           "PCI:05:0:0"
        Screen          1
        Option          "UseDisplayDevice" "DFP"
#       Option          "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP-0"
        Option          "Coolbits" "1"
EndSection
__________________

My Unix benchmark results
uOpt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-06, 11:04 AM   #4
Macky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Default Re: Broken in 8756: dual-head DFP/CRT with 6200 TC (worked in 8178)

I have a 6200TC too but have a slightly different problem. When I use a DVI connected display, Kubuntu picks up the second display and I get dual screen functionality. But when I connect a VGA display (VGA connector) via the supplied DVI converter, the display is not detected and it reverts to a clone of the first screen. I have tried "UseDisplayDevice" but no matter what configuration I use, the log file always tells me a second display is not detected. I am using driver version 1.0.8762. Please help, I don't have the option to use a DVI display and I need the dual screen functionality.
Macky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-06, 12:49 PM   #5
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Broken in 8756: dual-head DFP/CRT with 6200 TC (worked in 8178)

Please generate and post an nvidia-bug-report.log.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-06, 09:48 AM   #6
Macky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Default Re: Broken in 8756: dual-head DFP/CRT with 6200 TC (worked in 8178)

Hi Lonni,

.log file attached as requested.

Regards
Hugh
Attached Files
File Type: log nvidia-bug-report.log (37.9 KB, 123 views)
Macky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-06, 02:01 PM   #7
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Broken in 8756: dual-head DFP/CRT with 6200 TC (worked in 8178)

What you've attached is not an nvidia-bug-report.log. All it contains is an X log, where I see:
Option "UseDisplayDevice" "CRT-0"

If you're trying to use two displays, then you shouldn't be specifying UseDisplayDevice to a single display. I doubt you'd need to use that option at all.

I'll need to see a bug report to comment further on the problem you're reported.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-06, 10:37 AM   #8
Macky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Default Re: Broken in 8756: dual-head DFP/CRT with 6200 TC (worked in 8178)

Sorry Lonni,

I managed to find the script to generate the correct file. Please find it attached.

Regards
Hugh
Attached Files
File Type: log nvidia-bug-report.log (93.4 KB, 127 views)
Macky is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-15-06, 01:31 PM   #9
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Broken in 8756: dual-head DFP/CRT with 6200 TC (worked in 8178)

If you're trying to use two displays, then you shouldn't be specifying UseDisplayDevice to a single display. I doubt you'd need to use that option at all.

Also, in the future, if you're going to send the same issue to linux-bugs@nvidia.com, please note that you've already posted it to nvnews, so that I'm not duplicating effort and replying to you twice.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-07, 10:58 PM   #10
watchtower
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1
Default Re: Broken in 8756: dual-head DFP/CRT with 6200 TC (worked in 8178)

I'm having the exact same problem with the 6200TC not displaying the second screen when a CRT display is attached to the DVI port.

Does anyone know if this problem was fixed at all?
watchtower is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I get Dual Head working? Heath NVIDIA Linux 1 08-22-02 01:44 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.