Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-29-03, 11:52 AM   #1
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default 3DMARK 2003 Patch released

3DMark03 Patch (build 320) Improvements

Key technical points:
Now supports Microsoft DirectX 9.0a.
Professional version includes customization tools for different skins.
Anti-Aliasing (FSAA) and full frame pixel shader post-processing can now be used simultaneously. (NOTE: DirectX 9.0a runtime must be installed for this functionality).
New Features:
Added appropriate tools for creating custom skins for the 3DMark03 user interface.
Added a new benchmarking option which forces PixelShader 1.1 code path in game tests 2 and 3.
"Submit Saved Result" feature enabled in 3DMark03 Free Version.
2 new command lines added: "fixedfps" and "disableopt".
Fixes & Updates:
CPU & VPU/GPU MHz detection functionality updated.
Installation issue solved.
Fixed all reported issues with results in Excel.
Fixed ImageQuality Test issues.
Updated System Info.
Improved driver detection.
XML issues solved.
All other reported & identified problems and bugs in 3DMark03 have been solved.

download here:
http://www.futuremark.com/download/?3dmark03patch.shtml
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-03, 09:48 PM   #2
Solomon
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: In a House
Posts: 502
Default

What is so sad is that Futuremark didn't even fix their biggest flaw/cheat. You can STILL! cancel out in the middle of the benchmark and overclock your settings and re-run it to the old settings to show that your score is a lot higher then it should be. Because it still keeps the old setting even though the clocks have changed.

This was verified by some of our readers. How sad... Good Job Futuremark.

Regards,
D. Solomon Jr.
*********.com
Solomon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-03, 10:55 PM   #3
Ratchet
The Tool
 
Ratchet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 96
Send a message via ICQ to Ratchet Send a message via MSN to Ratchet
Default

jAkUp, can you test with and without forced PS 1.1 on you GFFX?
Ratchet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-03, 11:01 PM   #4
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default

hmmm... i tried looking for the option but i cant find it! maybe its only for retail 3dmark 2k3... if anyone knows if you can enable it in trial, let me know.
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-03, 03:41 AM   #5
Nick[FM]
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 38
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Solomon
What is so sad is that Futuremark didn't even fix their biggest flaw/cheat. You can STILL! cancel out in the middle of the benchmark and overclock your settings and re-run it to the old settings to show that your score is a lot higher then it should be. Because it still keeps the old setting even though the clocks have changed.

This was verified by some of our readers. How sad... Good Job Futuremark.

Regards,
D. Solomon Jr.
*********.com
Thought to drop by..

If you are talking about the GPU/VPU core & mem MHz, I don't see how that is possible. I just tested this procedure:

1. Started 3DMark03 (default MHz)
2. Ran GT1 and GT2
3. Quit the benchmark run
4. Overclocked the GPU/VPU
5. Ran the whole benchmark

and when I looked at the result file, it showed me the overclocked MHz, and not the default. Or am I missing something?

*edit: Ok.. I think I know what you guys mean. You see, when you start 3DMark03, and the look at the client SystemInfo, it displays the info it collects when 3DMark03 is executed. If you then change any MHz, the client System Info is not changed, but the result file that you will upload / save is. If you do the steps I posted above, and then after the benchmark run look at the details of the result file (not the clientside SI), you should be able to find the MHz that are sent to the ORB, and they are correct. The clientside SI is not updated "on the fly". I hope this clears up things..

Best,

Nick / Futuremark

Last edited by Nick[FM]; 04-30-03 at 03:58 AM.
Nick[FM] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-03, 08:45 AM   #6
Solomon
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: In a House
Posts: 502
Default

It does... You don't usually look at the file. The results do show the change once you look at the file. Maybe in the next patch you shouldn't even allow the program to run again. Have a pop up window that says, "system specs have changed. Please restart program"...



Regards,
D. Solomon Jr.
*********.com
Solomon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-03, 11:05 AM   #7
Nick[FM]
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 38
Default

Solomon,

well, the data that is viewable in the ORB is the one that counts. If anyone posts anything about 3DMark, or results, you should always ask them for a compare URL. It's easier to determine what's up when one can actually see the result + we can investigate it (in case there would really be some probelms).

We will keep this in mind the next time we update our products, or release new ones. It seems that people are pretty quick to look at the System Info that's been gathered when 3DMark is started. It is all ok, but as we have seen, people like to "hack" and "tweak" to fool the program. We are doing a lot to prevent cheating and faking stuff. It's not an easy task, but now it is looking pretty good.

btw, thanks for the new update in your news!
Nick[FM] is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SOF2 1.02 Patch Released! PsychoSy Gaming Central 5 10-17-02 05:08 AM
Does anyone like the cool water reflection effect in unreal 2003? imtim83 Gaming Central 15 09-20-02 10:18 PM
NV30 not shipping until Feb. 2003? sbp Rumor Mill 40 09-17-02 10:41 PM
AMD kernel patch question redmoose NVIDIA Linux 2 09-07-02 07:16 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.