Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Home Theater A/V

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-24-07, 10:03 AM   #13
Ancient
Occasional User
 
Ancient's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Too far from the beach
Posts: 619
Default Re: HDTV Antennas

I agree with EG. Special HD antennas are a rip off. My brother brought over his Terk 55, which is an amplified HD antenna and which is supposed to be one of the better ones. I tried it in place of a cheap Jensen powered antenna that is not even intended for HD and there's no noticeable difference in signal strength. I even moved the Terk 55 upstairs and tried to aim it optimally, since it's supposedly directional. No difference.
__________________
"You know the difference between cannibals and liberals? Cannibals only eat their enemies."
Ancient is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-07, 10:07 AM   #14
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: HDTV Antennas

This is so fantastic. I want to iterate again HOW GLAD I AM that I didn't buy one of the HDTV antennas at Best Buy when I bought the TV. They even had a few open box items that were like $43 and I was considering...
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-07, 10:09 AM   #15
evilghost
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,606
Default Re: HDTV Antennas

Glad to help. Remember, there is no such thing as an HDTV antenna outside of marketing ploys. There are UHF/VHF antennas that are amplified, directional, unamplified, etc.

A $5 pair of VHF rabbit ears and a UHF loop should be all anyone needs unless they're looking for an amplified or directional antenna.
evilghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-07, 10:25 AM   #16
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default Re: HDTV Antennas

Quote:
Originally Posted by evilghost
That guy is UHF only

EDIT: I'm an idiot, I see the rabit ears.
Yeah, I'm just interested in the HD channels and they're all UHF so I don't use the rabbit ears.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-07, 11:38 AM   #17
vandalous
UN Spacy Pwnz Me
 
vandalous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 758
Send a message via AIM to vandalous Send a message via MSN to vandalous Send a message via Yahoo to vandalous
Default Re: HDTV Antennas

Since I'm 50 miles away from the towers I've got a big ol' Channel Master 7xxx-something or other mounted to my roof. I had to put a preamp on the line to boost the signal.

I wanted to get a Yagi but they were out of stock at Fry's and I needed something for the Super Bowl last year when I installed this one.

OTA HD FTW! (if you're within range)
__________________
NZXT Rogue (red) mATX case | Intel QX9550 ES @ 3000 (9x333) | ASUS P5E-VM HDMI | 4 GB Corsair TWIN2X 6400C4 (OC:1066, 5-5-12-2T) | BFG 8800GTX OC | Lite-On LH-20A1H186C Lightscribe DVDRW | Corsair VX550 PSU | Medusa 5.1 Headphones | Logitech G9 mouse & G15 v2 KB | Westinghouse L2410NM + Dell 1907FP | Vista Ultimate x64 SP1
vandalous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-07, 05:39 PM   #18
betterdan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: HDTV Antennas

I am about 15 miles or so from the stations towers and I have a $15 Radioshack uhf antenna on the roof of my 2 story house and it picks up everything. I do get some dropouts on the local digital CBS channel, I believe I am getting too powerful of a signal and it is overloading it.
DO NOT buy one of those gimmicky HD antennas.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-07, 05:54 PM   #19
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: HDTV Antennas

Bastard Radioshack...the cheapest antenna in-store was $11 and it had no coaxial in, just out. So I had to buy a splitter for $8 (cheapest one) and then a 2 ft coaxial extension to go from the splitter to the TV.

Grand total with tax: $26.
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-07, 06:14 PM   #20
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: HDTV Antennas

wtf...I hooked up the antenna via the splitter/joiner and apparently I can only get the channels from one source through coaxial at a time...and when I scanned the antenna, I only picked up a single HD channel.

Sigh.
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-24-07, 06:17 PM   #21
evilghost
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,606
Default Re: HDTV Antennas

WTF? I've never heard of a coax in for an antenna and why are you having to split off OTA? Your receiver should have a OTA in.
evilghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-07, 06:29 PM   #22
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: HDTV Antennas

Quote:
Originally Posted by evilghost
WTF? I've never heard of a coax in for an antenna and why are you having to split off OTA? Your receiver should have a OTA in.
You said this morning the antenna you have has a coaxial in.

What receiver are you talking about? My TV has one coaxial in...either cable or antenna. I guess I don't understand how I'm supposed to be able to get OTA and cable at the same time. I don't have a cable box in my room, I just have it split from the wall with a coaxial line coming in my room and the other end is going into the HD box in the living room.
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-07, 08:50 PM   #23
evilghost
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,606
Default Re: HDTV Antennas

The cable going to the HD TV in the living room, doesn't it have some type of set-top box or are you using a built-in tuner in the TV? Best I can tell this applies to you:

http://www.hdtvoice.com/voice/archiv...hp/t-3711.html

I made some assumptions earlier that evidently I shouldn't have so sorry about that. I've got DirecTV and I have a set top box, I've got an ANT input on the receiver for OTA and another input for Satellite. The receiver connects to my 42" Plasma monitor over component YPbPr.
evilghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-07, 08:52 PM   #24
superklye
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MKE
Posts: 13,629
Default Re: HDTV Antennas

Gotcha. Yeah...we have two lines coming into the apartment: one for Roadrunner, the other for cable TV. We have the Explorer HD 8300 cable box in the living room for my roommate's TV.

We also have a split coming off that line and right into my room. I have no box, so it's just the raw basic cable coming straight into my TV.

EDIT: Yeah, it looks like that's the exact situation I'm in. It's not a huge deal by any means...I was only able to pick up a single HD channel and it was whatever used to be the WB.
superklye is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
$254.99 - Magnavox 26" 720p LCD HDTV 26MF301B/F7 News Archived News Items 0 06-20-12 09:00 PM
$254.99 - Westinghouse 32" 720p 60Hz LED-LCD HDTV LD-3237 News Archived News Items 0 06-18-12 09:50 PM
$229.99 - HANNspree 32" Class (31.5" Diag.) 720p 60Hz LED-Backlit LCD HDTV SV32AMUB News Archived News Items 0 06-18-12 09:50 PM
Blu-ray 3D Movie Playback With PC on a 3D HDTV Using HDMI 1.4 News Archived News Items 0 05-16-12 03:30 AM
HDTV support - computer to HDTV set porksoda NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 10 10-27-05 06:30 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.