Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-23-07, 05:53 PM   #1
publicmsu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 22
Default Invalid Modeline

I'm currently running the GeForce 6600 with the nvidia 1.0.9631 drivers under gentoo. I've got the card connected to my pioneer HDTV throught component cables and am trying to get the true 1080i resolution to work with the component cables connected. The modeline works properly when attached through the DVI to the TVs VGA. When I attempt to use a modeline that I generated from powerstrip in windows, I receive the following error in the X logs.

(--) NVIDIA(0): Connected display device(s) on GeForce 6600 at PCI:1:0:0:
(--) NVIDIA(0): NVIDIA TV Encoder (TV-0)
(--) NVIDIA(0): NVIDIA TV Encoder (TV-0): 400.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
(--) NVIDIA(0): TV encoder: NVIDIA
(II) NVIDIA(0): Assigned Display Device: TV-0
(WW) NVIDIA(0): No valid modes for "1920x1080i"; removing.
(WW) NVIDIA(0):
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Unable to validate any modes; falling back to the default mode

(WW) NVIDIA(0): "nvidia-auto-select".
(WW) NVIDIA(0):
(II) NVIDIA(0): Validated modes:
(II) NVIDIA(0): "nvidia-auto-select"
(II) NVIDIA(0): Virtual screen size determined to be 1024 x 768

I have attached my xorg.conf to hopefully resolve why this does not work with my component cables, but works with my VGA cable.

Updated with nvidia-bug-report.log. Generated with startx --logverbose 6.
Attached Files
File Type: txt xorg.conf.txt (2.9 KB, 100 views)
File Type: log nvidia-bug-report.log (73.8 KB, 95 views)

Last edited by publicmsu; 01-23-07 at 07:04 PM.
publicmsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-07, 06:54 PM   #2
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Invalid Modeline

You'll need to follow these instructions:
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=46678
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-07, 08:10 PM   #3
publicmsu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 22
Default Re: Invalid Modeline

added log to first post..

Last edited by publicmsu; 01-23-07 at 08:35 PM.
publicmsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-07, 12:42 PM   #4
publicmsu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 22
Default Re: Invalid Modeline

No solution for getting this modeline to work with the Component outputs?
publicmsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-07, 12:48 PM   #5
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: Invalid Modeline

Custom modelines are not supported with TV-Out.
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trouble with SuSE80 & NVIDIA_kernel-1.0-3123.tar.gz mosquis NVIDIA Linux 6 10-08-02 07:20 PM
SuSe 8.0 Problems. GaMMa NVIDIA Linux 19 09-26-02 06:51 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.