Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-10-07, 06:21 AM   #13
retsam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,602
Default Re: Vista memory score

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowdog
It's not important, basically just a wank.
jsut a wank....so now your telling me this is like porn? i still dont get it...lol
retsam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-07, 07:55 AM   #14
ArrowMk84
Registered User
 
ArrowMk84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,010
Default Re: Vista memory score

My RAM gets a 5.9



Settings are in my sig.

Anybody what the performance program is looking at when it determines a score?
__________________
Intel i7-2600k @ 4.6GHz | Asus Maximus IV Extreme | 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1866 MHz 9-10-9-27 | Dual EVGA GeForce GTX 580 3GB | Creative X-Fi Titanium Pro PCI-E | Intel 510 Series SSD 120 GB | 2x Raptor 600 GB RAID | 2TB WD Black | Lite-On 21x Blu-ray Burner | Corsair AX1200 Modular PSU | Silverstone FT02 | Corsair H60 with Dual Fans | Dell 3007-HC 30" LCD | Audioengine 5 & S8

Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
ArrowMk84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-07, 08:51 AM   #15
lee63
Classified
 
lee63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Murrieta, U.S./Taunton, U.K.
Posts: 4,263
Default Re: Vista memory score

Weird, Im only getting 5.7 with the Mem in sig
__________________
lee63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-07, 08:53 AM   #16
ArrowMk84
Registered User
 
ArrowMk84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,010
Default Re: Vista memory score

What's your FSB?
__________________
Intel i7-2600k @ 4.6GHz | Asus Maximus IV Extreme | 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1866 MHz 9-10-9-27 | Dual EVGA GeForce GTX 580 3GB | Creative X-Fi Titanium Pro PCI-E | Intel 510 Series SSD 120 GB | 2x Raptor 600 GB RAID | 2TB WD Black | Lite-On 21x Blu-ray Burner | Corsair AX1200 Modular PSU | Silverstone FT02 | Corsair H60 with Dual Fans | Dell 3007-HC 30" LCD | Audioengine 5 & S8

Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
ArrowMk84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-07, 09:13 AM   #17
lee63
Classified
 
lee63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Murrieta, U.S./Taunton, U.K.
Posts: 4,263
Default Re: Vista memory score

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArrowMk84
What's your FSB?
277
__________________
lee63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-07, 09:46 AM   #18
ArrowMk84
Registered User
 
ArrowMk84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,010
Default Re: Vista memory score

Quote:
Originally Posted by lee63
277
That's probably why you have a lower score. You could lower the CPU multipler and RAM divider, up your FSB and see if that improves your score.
__________________
Intel i7-2600k @ 4.6GHz | Asus Maximus IV Extreme | 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1866 MHz 9-10-9-27 | Dual EVGA GeForce GTX 580 3GB | Creative X-Fi Titanium Pro PCI-E | Intel 510 Series SSD 120 GB | 2x Raptor 600 GB RAID | 2TB WD Black | Lite-On 21x Blu-ray Burner | Corsair AX1200 Modular PSU | Silverstone FT02 | Corsair H60 with Dual Fans | Dell 3007-HC 30" LCD | Audioengine 5 & S8

Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
ArrowMk84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-07, 10:36 AM   #19
lee63
Classified
 
lee63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Murrieta, U.S./Taunton, U.K.
Posts: 4,263
Default Re: Vista memory score

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArrowMk84
That's probably why you have a lower score. You could lower the CPU multipler and RAM divider, up your FSB and see if that improves your score.
Bumped it up to 300 lowered the multi to 10x, now I'm getting 5.9s in everything
__________________
lee63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-07, 12:14 PM   #20
ArrowMk84
Registered User
 
ArrowMk84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,010
Default Re: Vista memory score

Quote:
Originally Posted by lee63
Bumped it up to 300 lowered the multi to 10x, now I'm getting 5.9s in everything
With that board, you should be able to hit 333 easily, and get your 3.3 GHz CPU OC back.
__________________
Intel i7-2600k @ 4.6GHz | Asus Maximus IV Extreme | 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1866 MHz 9-10-9-27 | Dual EVGA GeForce GTX 580 3GB | Creative X-Fi Titanium Pro PCI-E | Intel 510 Series SSD 120 GB | 2x Raptor 600 GB RAID | 2TB WD Black | Lite-On 21x Blu-ray Burner | Corsair AX1200 Modular PSU | Silverstone FT02 | Corsair H60 with Dual Fans | Dell 3007-HC 30" LCD | Audioengine 5 & S8

Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
ArrowMk84 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-10-07, 12:27 PM   #21
lee63
Classified
 
lee63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Murrieta, U.S./Taunton, U.K.
Posts: 4,263
Default Re: Vista memory score

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArrowMk84
With that board, you should be able to hit 333 easily, and get your 3.3 GHz CPU OC back.
The FSB is limited to around 300 or so on the 680i with Quad cores, its a issue that should be fixed soon I can only do 300 max.

5.9s

__________________
lee63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-07, 12:47 PM   #22
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: Vista memory score

Quote:
Originally Posted by retsam
can some please explain why the windows score thing is so important?...i dont get it.
Just a way to gauge performance, like a FEAR behcmark test, if something is lower than it should be, we want to know why.
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-07, 01:30 PM   #23
Kaguya
Registered User
 
Kaguya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 661
Default Re: Vista memory score

Any idea what Vista uses to bench with and whether it's really a good representation of what our systems really perform like in RL?
__________________
Intel Core i7 960 @ 3.6Ghz
EVGA X58 3X SLI
OCZ Gold 12GB DDR3
EVGA GeForce GTX 470 x2 SLI
OCZ Vertex 2 EX & Corsair P256
LG GH22NS50 22X DVD-RW SATA
Antec TruePower Quattro 1000w SLI PSU
Acer HN274H 1920x1080 3D Ready LCD
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speakers
Antec 900 Ultimate Gamer Case
Kaguya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-07, 01:48 PM   #24
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: Vista memory score

Quote:
Originally Posted by hokeyplyr48
i have a 5.2 for 2gb. is there a max for 2gb of ram in vista or does my memory just blow?
I got a 5.9, and I have the same ram as you do. I'm assuming you just OC'ed the stuff a little. It is probably when you tested it as opposed to the parts in the pc. If there was a bunch of other things running when you tested, then it could make the score go down.

I'm not sure how scientific it is either, it is just something else to look at.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GPU memory consumption, back buffer, Quadro tdsussman NVIDIA Linux 5 08-14-12 09:14 PM
Video: For HPC Energy Efficiency, Samsung 20-nm Memory Fab Makes a Difference News Archived News Items 0 06-26-12 06:00 AM
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
Measuring card memory usage peter_ga NVIDIA Linux 0 05-24-12 08:07 PM
new memory tech QBM (Quad band memory) sebazve Rumor Mill 9 09-24-02 09:38 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.