Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-10-07, 09:57 PM   #1
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default How to get IE icon on desktop

I was looking around and found this list of tricks, the main one is how to get IE7's icon onto the desktop. Just tested, and it works. (Main advantage is over a shorcut is that it gives you all of the extra stuff when you right click)

http://articles.techrepublic.com.com...7-6153509.html
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-07, 10:14 AM   #2
kam03
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 345
Send a message via MSN to kam03
Default Re: How to get IE icon on desktop

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bman212121
I was looking around and found this list of tricks, the main one is how to get IE7's icon onto the desktop. Just tested, and it works. (Main advantage is over a shorcut is that it gives you all of the extra stuff when you right click)

http://articles.techrepublic.com.com...7-6153509.html

Vista or Xp?


well on xp here's how:



Similar procedure for vista?
__________________
i7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Asus P8Z77-V,
8GB 1866Mhz CL9,
Gigabyte 7950,
Crucial M4 128GB,
Seagate 3TB,
Enermax Galaxy 1000W DXX,
Windows 7 Ultimate x64,
NEC LCD2690WUXi,
Yamaha RX-V667 Receiver,
Monitor Audio Vector 5.1
kam03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-07, 10:46 AM   #3
Richteralan
The Enigma
 
Richteralan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: State College, PA
Posts: 758
Send a message via ICQ to Richteralan Send a message via MSN to Richteralan
Default Re: How to get IE icon on desktop

I don't really get it why you need IE icon on desktop when you have it on quick launch toolbar.

The links are just so called 10 tricks to make Vista fly.
Richteralan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-07, 02:14 PM   #4
einstein_314
w00t!!
 
einstein_314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,905
Default Re: How to get IE icon on desktop

Quote:
Originally Posted by Richteralan
I don't really get it why you need IE icon on desktop when you have it on quick launch toolbar.

The links are just so called 10 tricks to make Vista fly.
Yeah I've got it in my quicklaunch, top of the start menu, and a button on my keyboard opens it as well....And I pretty much exclusively use the button on the keyboard.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz (9 x 355) w/ Swiftec APOGEE GTX Waterblock|| Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Edition
eVGA 8800 GTX Superclocked Edition @ 675/1150 w/ DangerDen 8800GTX Waterblock|| 4x1GB Mushkin XP2 PC2-8500
X-Fi Fatal1ty 64MB || PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W || Seagate 7200.10 320 GB || Dell 2407WFP
Logitech Z-5300 Speakers || Sennheiser HD555's || Logitech G7 || Logitech G15 || Windows Vista Ultimate x64
einstein_314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-07, 02:26 PM   #5
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: How to get IE icon on desktop

Quote:
Originally Posted by kam03
Vista or Xp?


well on xp here's how:



Similar procedure for vista?
Nope, vista doesn't have the option for some weird reason, hence the regedit. I guess I should have specified vista, but I just figured people would be expecting it to be vista.

I don't really use the quicklaunch, so the desktop icon is important to me.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-07, 02:58 PM   #6
Clay
Registered User
 
Clay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,992
Default Re: How to get IE icon on desktop

Use Slickrun or Launchy
__________________
SLI GeForce 7800 GTX 512MB @ 550/1700 | MSI K8N Neo4/SLI | A64 X2 4400+ Toledo | CORSAIR XMS 2GB (2 x 1GB) TwinX PC 3500 | Silverstone ST65ZF 650W| 93.71| XP SP2 and a Dell 2405FPW

I personally believe that us americans are unable to do so because osama.

People out there in our nation don't have that, And I believe that our education like such as south africa and such as the Iraq.

everywhere "such as". And I believe our education should help the US should help the south africa and the iraq and the asian countries so we can build up our future.
-- Miss Teen South Carolina

Clay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-07, 03:16 PM   #7
LycosV
Registered User
 
LycosV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 888
Default Re: How to get IE icon on desktop

I've never been big on the quicklaunch icons, but my last job got me in the habit of using it to call up Outlook.
For IE I just hit the start button and type "i" In XP it's at the top there and runs it as long as none of your other recently used programs start with an i (I always removed any offenders). And in Vista if you hit start i then pick IE from the list enough times it will migrate to the top so you just hit start->i->enter. Problem solved.
LycosV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-07, 05:05 PM   #8
Ancient
Occasional User
 
Ancient's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Too far from the beach
Posts: 619
Default Re: How to get IE icon on desktop

Sucks that you can't undock the Toolbars in Vista like you can in 2000 and XP. I liked to undock the Desktop toolbar, drop it at the bottom of the screen (the Taskbar is at the top) and auto-hide it, using it in a similar way to the OS X dock. Vista won't let that happen.
__________________
"You know the difference between cannibals and liberals? Cannibals only eat their enemies."
Ancient is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-11-07, 06:00 PM   #9
$n][pErMan
III%
 
$n][pErMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,726
Send a message via AIM to $n][pErMan
Default Re: How to get IE icon on desktop

This thread CAN't be serious.... in vista just right click on the IE button in the start menu.... hold the button down... drag it onto the desktop.. release the button and select "Create Shortcut here".... lol.
__________________
Intel® Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.51GHz (390 x 9 / 1.39v) | ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP LGA 775 Intel P965 (1236 BIOS) | OCZ GOLD 8GB (2GB x 4) DDR2 PC2-8500 Dual Channel (4-4-4-12 780Mhz/1.95V 1:1 Ratio) | EVGA GeForce GTX 770 DUAL SuperClocked 4GB (Currently @ 1240MHz Core / 7112MHz Memory) | Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS | Zalman CNPS9700 LED Ultra Quiet CPU Cooler | Samsung SSD 840 Series 256GB | ASUS ProArt 24in Widescreen LED 1920 x 1200 | Samsung DVD-RW-DL 18x Burner w/ lightscribe| SILVERSTONE OP650 ATX12V / EPS12V 650W Power Supply | AOpen 5.1 Surround sound system | Windows 7 Pro x64
100% Orthos Stable!
$n][pErMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-07, 04:45 AM   #10
mcolbourn
Time waits for no man!
 
mcolbourn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 736
Default Re: How to get IE icon on desktop

Quote:
Originally Posted by $n][pErMan
This thread CAN't be serious.... in vista just right click on the IE button in the start menu.... hold the button down... drag it onto the desktop.. release the button and select "Create Shortcut here".... lol.

Thats what I was going to say.
__________________
CPU : Intel Core i7 920 @ 4 Ghz - MOBO : Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R - RAM : Corsair Vengeance 12GB DDR3 PC3-12800 - GPU : Power Color 6970
HD : Crucial m4 128gb (SSD),1TB Samsung F3 & 1TB Samsung F1 - Sound Card : ASUS Xonar DG - Speakers : Logitech Z523 - PSU : CORSAIR Gold AX750 Case : CM 690 II Advanced - Display : Hazro HZ27WC
mcolbourn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-07, 07:37 AM   #11
piper1
Registered User
 
piper1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 31
Default Re: How to get IE icon on desktop

Quote:
Originally Posted by $n][pErMan
This thread CAN't be serious.... in vista just right click on the IE button in the start menu.... hold the button down... drag it onto the desktop.. release the button and select "Create Shortcut here".... lol.
True, but when you right click on the desktop shortcut you only get the properties of the shortcut - not the internet options. For me, I copied the icon from the control panel to the desktop for the internet options.
piper1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Best Virtual Desktop: NVIDIA VGX & Windows RemoteFX News Archived News Items 0 06-13-12 10:30 AM
Desktop wireless problems? Vanzagar General Hardware 14 06-06-12 06:06 AM
OpenGL apps crashing in NVIDIA driver when switching desktop dinosaur NVIDIA Linux 0 06-01-12 07:09 PM
Gladinet Cloud Desktop 4.0.874 News Archived News Items 0 05-08-12 05:00 PM
3DNA 3d desktop prydah General Software 2 08-01-02 10:59 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.