Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-05-07, 04:31 PM   #1
SeriTonin
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,349
Default Upgrading Bios for evga 680i

Do I need a win98 boot disk in order to do this? Unfortunately it seems the only way to upgrade the bios is the old school floppy method. No via windows method (here in 2007).

Do I need a boot disk for a command prompt or is that included?


Anyone else upgrade to the P25 bios? My cpu is displaying 50C which I know isnt right, this bios claims to have a fix for incorrect temp readings via cpu, and to ease my mind (and the extra oc'ing announced) I'd like to give this an install.
SeriTonin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-07, 03:23 PM   #2
d.scott
Ultrachronic
 
d.scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3
Default Re: Upgrading Bios for evga 680i

I used the flash drive method to update my BIOS to P25 as well. It seemed to work just fine for me.
__________________
Home Studio Setup

Motherboard: eVGA 122-CK-NF68-TR nForce 680i SLI (P25 BIOS) RMA
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 2.92 GHz
Memory: Corsair TWIN2X2048-8500C5 XMS2 2GB @ 1066 MHz / 5-5-5-15 2T
Graphics Card: eVGA GeForce 7900GS KO 256MB
CPU Cooler: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro Good air cooling, but I need MORE!
CPU Cooler (On Order): CoolIT Systems Eliminator
PSU: SeaSonic M12 600W
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB
Case: Antec P180B
Video Monitors: Dell 1905 FP 2
Sound Interface 1: EMU 1820m PCI RMA
Sound Interface 2: M-Audio FireWire 410
Speakers: KRK V8 Reference Monitors
OS: Windows XP Professional SP2
Audio Sequencing: Ableton Live 6
WAV Editing: Samplitude 7 Pro

D.SCOTT
Guitars - Ultrachronic
www.ultrachronic.com
d.scott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-07, 01:37 AM   #3
Muppet
Registered User
 
Muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: Upgrading Bios for evga 680i

Same here, after using a flash drive, i'll never plug my floppy in again.
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition | Intel 4930k | SS Phasechange | 16GB Corsair Platinum DDR3 1866 | Asus GTX680 x2 SLI | Corsair AX1200 Watt PSU | Lian-Li PC-8NWX | Intel 520 120Gb SSD x2 | Samsung S27A950D 27" 120Hz | HP ZR24w 24" S-IPS x3 Nvidia Surround @6000x1200 | Xonar Essence STX
Muppet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asus Bios bug nforceuser NVIDIA Linux 3 10-06-02 05:15 AM
new bios my motherboard and got new feature IDE PCI BUS MASTERING what is it ??? b5fan CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 12 09-22-02 06:10 PM
PC Games, CeleronII 566, CeleronA 300, BIOS Savior, Heatsinks, NES & Sega Items +pics TekViper For Sale/Trade 5 08-07-02 11:48 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.