Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > General Software

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-08-03, 11:16 AM   #1
Phyre
Registered User
 
Phyre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Central Louisiana
Posts: 323
Default Excel Charts

Does anyone know if it is possible to copy charts from Excel file No. 1 to Excel file No. 2 but have the pasted chart use the source data from Excel file No.2? A simple copy and paste does not work. The newly pasted file uses the source data from the original file.

Thanks for any info.,
Phyre
Phyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-03, 12:44 PM   #2
Matthyahuw
Registered User
 
Matthyahuw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 919
Send a message via ICQ to Matthyahuw Send a message via AIM to Matthyahuw Send a message via Yahoo to Matthyahuw
Default

right-click on the chart itself, and choose source data, click in the data range box, then highlight the new data and hit ok...
__________________
Shalom!
Matthyahuw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-03, 12:49 PM   #3
Phyre
Registered User
 
Phyre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Central Louisiana
Posts: 323
Default

Oops, my bad. I should have been a little more clear. You'll see what I mean, Matty. LOL

I've got 200 files that I need to do this with. Each of these files have monthly readings from instruments that are updated every 15 mins. And, I need daily charts. So, for a full month and a few days over and under, I have roughly 3300 rows in each file. Multiply that by 200 and you have roughly 660,000 total rows.

That being said, I can do the right-click and edit the source data, but with the amount of data I have (about 30 charts per file), I would like to have this process a little more automated. It's a real bugger, man.

Thanks for the help.

Phyre
Phyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-03, 04:25 PM   #4
Matthyahuw
Registered User
 
Matthyahuw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 919
Send a message via ICQ to Matthyahuw Send a message via AIM to Matthyahuw Send a message via Yahoo to Matthyahuw
Default

macro?
__________________
Shalom!
Matthyahuw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-03, 05:32 PM   #5
Phyre
Registered User
 
Phyre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Central Louisiana
Posts: 323
Default

Yeah. I started one of those, but being a macro newbie, I'm getting some errors. I've been able to assign variables to sheet names and charts using InputBoxes, but I cannot seem to get the ranges down. I either get a type mismatch or object or with block variable not set. I used the macro recorder and then went in to start assigning variables to stuff.

Here's the current state of the macro.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sub Test()
'
' Test Macro
'
'
'

Dim ChartNo, Title, Default, Chart 'Prompt for inputting chart number to modify
ChartNo = "Chart No."
Title = "Chart No."
Default = "1"

Chart = InputBox(ChartNo, Title, Default)

Dim Sheets, Title2, Default2, Sheet 'Prompt for inputting sheets
Sheets = "Sheets to use"
Title2 = "Sheets"
Default2 = "1"

Sheet = InputBox(Sheets, Title2, Default2)

Dim Ranges, Title3, Default3 'Prompt for Cell Ranges
Dim Range1 As Range
Ranges = "Cell ranges to use"
Title3 = "Ranges"
Default3 = "A1:A1"

Dim Ranges2, Title4, Default4, Range2
Ranges2 = "Cell ranges to use"
Title4 = "Ranges"
Default4 = "A1:A1"

Range1 = InputBox(Ranges, Title3, Default3)
'Range2 = InputBox(Ranges2, Title4, Default4)

'ActiveSheet.ChartObjects(Chart).Activate
'ActiveChart.ChartArea.Select
ActiveChart.SetSourceData Source:=Sheets(Sheet).Range(Range1), _
PlotBy:=xlColumns
End Sub


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It would be nice to enter ranges like b97:b192,d97:d192, but I just can't seem to get the macro to take it.

Thanks again,
Phyre
Phyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-03, 01:32 AM   #6
ALobpreis
 
ALobpreis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ramos
Posts: 412
Default

Just a shot in the dark, but....
What about Edit / Special Paste?
ALobpreis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Diablo 3 Tops Sales Charts for May News Gaming Headlines 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
VGA Charts Summer 2012 News Archived News Items 0 06-10-12 02:30 AM
NVIDIA announces GeForce GTX 670 (Blog GSM.ARENA / AnandTech Benchmark Charts) News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 0 05-11-12 06:10 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.