Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-23-07, 03:20 PM   #1
DiThi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1
Default nvidia-settings bug

Hi, I don't know where to report this, I hope here is OK.

The nvidia-settings program doesn't load the .nvidia-settings-rc file if the locale settings for the decimal separator is comma instead of period. It saves the file with period-decimal float values, and try to read it with comma decimal separators:

Code:
$ nvidia-settings -l

ERROR: Error parsing configuration file '/home/dithi/.nvidia-settings-rc' on line 36: '0/RedBrightness=-0.104294' (Trailing garbage).
I use kubuntu 6.10 with kernel 2.6.17 with this apt repository for nvidia drivers:
I think it doesn't happen with lastest restricted ubuntu drivers in the official repo, but I'm not sure.

As workaround I manually replaced the periods with commas.

Best regards
DiThi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-07, 03:29 PM   #2
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: nvidia-settings bug

Does this problem persist with the version of nvidia-settings that ships with the 1.0-9755 driver? If so, please attach the ~/.nvidia-settings-rc file which reproduces this problem.

thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-07, 04:25 PM   #3
labba
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 54
Default Re: nvidia-settings bug

Same problem here:
Code:
ERROR: Error parsing configuration file '/home/markus/.nvidia-settings-rc' on line 37:
       '0/RedBrightness=0.000000' (Trailing garbage).
I am using the latest version of nvidia-settings. ~/.nvidia-settings.rc is attached.
Attached Files
File Type: bz2 nvidia-settings-rc.tar.bz2 (666 Bytes, 131 views)
labba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-07, 06:04 PM   #4
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: nvidia-settings bug

Thanks. I've reproduced this problem and opened bug 300691.

-Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-07, 08:13 PM   #5
zander
NVIDIA Corporation
 
zander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,740
Default Re: nvidia-settings bug

Please post the complete environments in which you run `nvidia-settings` (i.e. the output of `env).
zander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-07, 06:00 AM   #6
labba
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 54
Default Re: nvidia-settings bug

Hi zander,
here the outpout of env:
Code:
MANPATH=/usr/local/share/man:/usr/share/man:/usr/share/binutils-data/i686-pc-linux-gnu/2.16.1/man:/usr/share/gcc-data/i686-pc-linux-gnu/4.1.1/man:/opt/sun-jdk-1.4.2.13/man:/etc/java-config/system-vm/man/:/usr/lib/php5/man/:/usr/kde/3.5/share/man:/usr/qt/3/doc/man
KDE_MULTIHEAD=false
DM_CONTROL=/var/run/xdmctl
TERM=xterm
SHELL=/bin/bash
XDM_MANAGED=/var/run/xdmctl/xdmctl-:0,maysd,mayfn,sched,rsvd,method=classic
GTK2_RC_FILES=/home/blub/.gtkrc-2.0:/home/blub/.kde/share/config/gtkrc-2.0:/etc/gtk-2.0/gtkrc
GTK_RC_FILES=/etc/gtk/gtkrc:/home/blub/.gtkrc:/home/blub/.kde3.5/share/config/gtkrc
GS_LIB=/home/blub/.fonts
WINDOWID=27263131
QTDIR=/usr/qt/3
LC_ALL=de_DE@euro
ANT_HOME=/usr/share/ant
KDE_FULL_SESSION=true
USER=blub
PRELINK_PATH_MASK=/usr/lib/gstreamer-0.10
GDK_USE_XFT=1
SESSION_MANAGER=local/lumpen:/tmp/.ICE-unix/6781
_JAVA_OPTIONS=-Dswing.aatext=true
DCOP_YAKUAKE_SESSION=0
MOZ_DISABLE_PANGO=1
XPSERVERLIST=
VMHANDLE=sun-jdk-1.4
PAGER=/usr/bin/less
CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK=/etc/java-config/vms/ /etc/env.d/java/ /etc/php/cli-php5/ext-active/ /etc/php/cgi-php5/ext-active/ /etc/php/apache1-php5/ext-active/ /etc/php/apache2-php5/ext-active/ /etc/terminfo /etc/texmf/web2c /etc/revdep-rebuild
AUDIODEV=default
FLTK_DOCDIR=/usr/share/doc/fltk-1.1.6/html
XDG_CONFIG_DIRS=/usr/kde/3.5/etc/xdg
KONSOLE_DCOP=DCOPRef(yakuake,konsole)
DESKTOP_SESSION=kde-3.5
PATH=/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/opt/bin:/usr/i686-pc-linux-gnu/gcc-bin/4.1.1:/opt/sun-jdk-1.4.2.13/bin:/opt/sun-jdk-1.4.2.13/jre/bin:/opt/sun-jdk-1.4.2.13/jre/javaws:/usr/kde/3.5/bin:/usr/qt/3/bin:/usr/kde/3.3/bin:/usr/kde/3.5/bin:/usr/games/bin:/opt/limewire
KONSOLE_DCOP_SESSION=DCOPRef(yakuake,session-1)
DISTCC_LOG=
PWD=/home/blub
JAVA_HOME=/home/blub/.gentoo/java-config-2/current-user-vm
GENERATION=2
EDITOR=/bin/nano
JAVAC=/home/blub/.gentoo/java-config-2/current-user-vm/bin/javac
LANG=de_DE@euro
QMAKESPEC=linux-g++
KDEDIRS=/usr/kde/3.5:/usr:/usr/local
PS1=\[\033[01;32m\]\u\[\033[01;33m\]@\[\033[01;31m\]\h \[\033[01;34m\](\w)\[\033[01;32m\]\$ \[\033[00m\]
DISTCC_VERBOSE=0
DCCC_PATH=/usr/lib/distcc/bin
JDK_HOME=/home/blub/.gentoo/java-config-2/current-user-vm
SHLVL=2
HOME=/home/blub
LANGUAGE=de_DE@euro
XCURSOR_THEME=none
PYTHONPATH=/usr/lib/portage/pym
LESS=-R -M --shift 5
G_FILENAME_ENCODING=ISO-8859-15
LOGNAME=blub
GCC_SPECS=
CVS_RSH=ssh
XDG_DATA_DIRS=/usr/share:/usr/kde/3.5/share:/usr/local/share
CLASSPATH=.
DBUS_SESSION_BUS_ADDRESS=unix:abstract=/tmp/dbus-fDsyAkVHj5,guid=db8b96920fbcf93ad7deff0046137f71
PKG_CONFIG_PATH=/usr/qt/3/lib/pkgconfig
LESSOPEN=|lesspipe.sh %s
INFOPATH=/usr/share/info:/usr/share/binutils-data/i686-pc-linux-gnu/2.16.1/info:/usr/share/gcc-data/i686-pc-linux-gnu/4.1.1/info
DISPLAY=:0
RUBYOPT=-rauto_gem
OPENGL_PROFILE=nvidia
G_BROKEN_FILENAMES=1
CONFIG_PROTECT=/usr/share/X11/xkb /usr/kde/3.5/share/config /usr/kde/3.5/env /usr/kde/3.5/shutdown /usr/share/config /usr/kde/3.3/share/config /usr/kde/3.3/env /usr/kde/3.3/shutdown /usr/kde/3.5/share/config /usr/kde/3.5/env /usr/kde/3.5/shutdown
COLORTERM=
_=/usr/bin/env
labba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-07, 10:02 PM   #7
zander
NVIDIA Corporation
 
zander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,740
Default Re: nvidia-settings bug

Thanks; what does the output of `locale` look like?
zander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-07, 02:40 PM   #8
labba
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 54
Default Re: nvidia-settings bug

The output of locale:
Code:
LANG=de_DE@euro
LC_CTYPE="de_DE@euro"
LC_NUMERIC="de_DE@euro"
LC_TIME="de_DE@euro"
LC_COLLATE="de_DE@euro"
LC_MONETARY="de_DE@euro"
LC_MESSAGES="de_DE@euro"
LC_PAPER="de_DE@euro"
LC_NAME="de_DE@euro"
LC_ADDRESS="de_DE@euro"
LC_TELEPHONE="de_DE@euro"
LC_MEASUREMENT="de_DE@euro"
LC_IDENTIFICATION="de_DE@euro"
LC_ALL=de_DE@euro
labba is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-08-07, 11:06 PM   #9
zander
NVIDIA Corporation
 
zander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,740
Default Re: nvidia-settings bug

@labba: could you check if the attached nvidia-settings binary works better (be sure to remove any existing nvidia-settings configuration files, first)?

I had to split the binary up due to the forum's file size constraints. To reconstruct it, use:
# for i in nvidia-settings.*.zip; do unzip $i; done
# rm nvidia-settings.*.zip
# cat nvidia-settings.a* >> nvidia-settings
# rm nvidia-settings.a*
# chmod +x ./nvidia-settings
Attached Files
File Type: zip nvidia-settings.aa.zip (62.1 KB, 153 views)
File Type: zip nvidia-settings.ab.zip (59.6 KB, 144 views)
File Type: zip nvidia-settings.ac.zip (60.0 KB, 142 views)
File Type: zip nvidia-settings.ad.zip (40.4 KB, 146 views)
File Type: zip nvidia-settings.ae.zip (74.2 KB, 136 views)
zander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-07, 11:07 PM   #10
zander
NVIDIA Corporation
 
zander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,740
Default Re: nvidia-settings bug

...
Attached Files
File Type: zip nvidia-settings.af.zip (84.9 KB, 143 views)
File Type: zip nvidia-settings.ag.zip (89.4 KB, 133 views)
File Type: zip nvidia-settings.ah.zip (86.8 KB, 135 views)
File Type: zip nvidia-settings.ai.zip (83.4 KB, 140 views)
File Type: zip nvidia-settings.aj.zip (38.5 KB, 138 views)
zander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-07, 05:36 AM   #11
labba
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 54
Default Re: nvidia-settings bug

Hi zander,

thanks for the improved nvidia-settings tool. The new version seems to work without problems!

Another question: Is it normal that the screen turns black for about 1,5 sec if I change the "force GPU scaling" setting? Is this going to be fixed?
labba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-07, 12:01 PM   #12
AaronP
NVIDIA Corporation
 
AaronP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,487
Default Re: nvidia-settings bug

labba,
Currently, changing the "force GPU scaling" option forces a complete reinitialization of the display, meaning your display has to re-sync. There are plans to fix that (when the "native" and "best fit" resolutions are the same, that is) in some future driver release, though not the next one.
AaronP is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Help Installing NVIDIA Tesla M2070Q in Linux RHEL5 Ferianto85 NVIDIA Linux 0 05-18-12 08:35 PM
Found Simpsons in NVIDIA registry settings! ShVen NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 6 10-06-02 09:26 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.