Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-13-07, 10:37 AM   #1
Scar13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18
Default New system seems a little slow to me? Thoughts?

Good day Gents,
My new system linked below seems to be a little slow in VG I am getting about 30 fps and sometimes 9!!! High Quality not even highest!

IN 3dmark 06 I only 10176?? THat seem low to anyone for this type of system?

I have NOT overclocked anything as of yet..

My CPU is water cooled adn I may over clock it, but I have been out of the overclocking arena for years..

Any help would be great!
__________________
E6600 CPU @ 2.4GHz
(RAID-0) sata II
MSI P6N SLI-FI nForce 650i
Corsair XMS2 PC6400 2 Gig
EVGA 8800 GTX
Scar13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-07, 11:41 AM   #2
dsessom
Boobs are good.
 
dsessom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Lawton, OK USA
Posts: 134
Send a message via ICQ to dsessom Send a message via AIM to dsessom Send a message via Yahoo to dsessom
Default Re: New system seems a little slow to me? Thoughts?

That's actually a pretty respectable 3Dmark06 score. What resolution are you gaming with?
__________________
Main PC - | Pentium5 @ 6.4ghz (400x16) | Vapochill XC (XtraChilly) | Abit ICU812 v2.0 | 8GB (4x2GB) Corsair XMS PC12800 @ 2-3-3-5-1T | XFX Geforce 9850 Super Ultra GTX X4 | 4x1TB WD SATA3 RAID 0 | Sony DLQ32 DVD+/-RW | ThermalTake Chameleon case w/thermal sensitive paint. & 1000W PSU | Windows Valley SemiPro w/SP1.25
dsessom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-07, 12:37 PM   #3
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: New system seems a little slow to me? Thoughts?

You really need to overclock your processor a little. You still shouldn't be getting 9fps anywhere on Vanguard, but having your CPU at stock speed isn't helping.

Sometimes in towns when areas and lots of characters are loading mine will drop down into the teens or lower until a scene loads.. is that what you're talking about? But when casually exploring it shouldn't be slowing down to 9fps anywhere.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-07, 01:42 PM   #4
Scar13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18
Default Re: New system seems a little slow to me? Thoughts?

Dressem for 3dmark 06 the default of 1280x1024

For regular gaming about 1024 - 768

When I am oout of town in VG I get about 30 - 50

When I get near a town and for the first few minutes in it I get about 2 fps ad then I get about 8 when I look aroudn and teens sitting still.
__________________
E6600 CPU @ 2.4GHz
(RAID-0) sata II
MSI P6N SLI-FI nForce 650i
Corsair XMS2 PC6400 2 Gig
EVGA 8800 GTX
Scar13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-07, 02:33 PM   #5
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: New system seems a little slow to me? Thoughts?

Vanguard runs like crap inside towns, but your performance still seems a tad lower than what it should be.

Disable "bloom" in your graphics settings. It helps a lot in towns when you're around lots of characters. Also turn down shadows to 50%.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-07, 09:06 PM   #6
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: New system seems a little slow to me? Thoughts?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scar13
For regular gaming about 1024 - 768
You have a 8800GTX & you play your games @1024x768

the least resolution to take advantage of your card would be 1280x1024(4xAA,16xAF) or 1600x1200 otherwise you're always CPU limited.
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-07, 11:48 AM   #7
Scar13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18
Default Re: New system seems a little slow to me? Thoughts?

Thats interesting I did not know that!
__________________
E6600 CPU @ 2.4GHz
(RAID-0) sata II
MSI P6N SLI-FI nForce 650i
Corsair XMS2 PC6400 2 Gig
EVGA 8800 GTX
Scar13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-07, 10:48 AM   #8
Scar13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18
Default Re: New system seems a little slow to me? Thoughts?

OC'ed the proc last night to 2.7

re-ran the test and got 10414 in default settings.

Turned up the resolution in the game and now I have allmost NO issues!

I did find one town where I had issues, but I think its a game problem.
__________________
E6600 CPU @ 2.4GHz
(RAID-0) sata II
MSI P6N SLI-FI nForce 650i
Corsair XMS2 PC6400 2 Gig
EVGA 8800 GTX
Scar13 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-15-07, 02:07 PM   #9
r3v3nant
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: New system seems a little slow to me? Thoughts?

you could prolly get 3.0ghz out of that e6600.. most of them do that on stock volts these days.. even up to 3.3ghz and beyond on stock vcore.. ymmv. if you keep pushing it, just go 100mhz at a time.. testing for stability.. anyways, some cpu power does help the SM3.0 and SM2.0 scores with these 8800GTX cards.. all those stream processors like to have some horse power behind them on the back end.
__________________

x58 / core i7 920 / xfx 5870 / 3x auria 24 eyefinity
680i / e6850 / zotac 9500gt / sammy 26
r3v3nant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-07, 06:51 PM   #10
$n][pErMan
III%
 
$n][pErMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,726
Send a message via AIM to $n][pErMan
Default Re: New system seems a little slow to me? Thoughts?

Your Mark06 looks just fine for those specs. I get just slightly higher on almost the same exact system as you... I am probably only higher because my CPU is OC'ed.
__________________
Intel® Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.51GHz (390 x 9 / 1.39v) | ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP LGA 775 Intel P965 (1236 BIOS) | OCZ GOLD 8GB (2GB x 4) DDR2 PC2-8500 Dual Channel (4-4-4-12 780Mhz/1.95V 1:1 Ratio) | EVGA GeForce GTX 770 DUAL SuperClocked 4GB (Currently @ 1240MHz Core / 7112MHz Memory) | Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS | Zalman CNPS9700 LED Ultra Quiet CPU Cooler | Samsung SSD 840 Series 256GB | ASUS ProArt 24in Widescreen LED 1920 x 1200 | Samsung DVD-RW-DL 18x Burner w/ lightscribe| SILVERSTONE OP650 ATX12V / EPS12V 650W Power Supply | AOpen 5.1 Surround sound system | Windows 7 Pro x64
100% Orthos Stable!
$n][pErMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nvidia 173.14.35: Fedora 17 x86 terribly slow Mr Wolf NVIDIA Linux 25 07-02-12 01:44 AM
UEFI+Nvidia - NVRM: Your system is not currently configured to drive a VGA console... interzoneuk NVIDIA Linux 0 06-26-12 04:51 AM
Max Payne 3 system requirements updated, new PC screenshots released News Archived News Items 0 05-28-12 06:49 AM
Ars Technica system guide: Bargain Box April 2012 News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 10:30 PM
Strange RedHat 7.3 issues with A7N266-C nforceuser NVIDIA Linux 8 09-27-02 03:16 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.