Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-12-03, 08:19 PM   #1
Mlman
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 3
Send a message via ICQ to Mlman Send a message via AIM to Mlman
Default I'm about to give up

This new loader is especially difficult for Linux newbies to get running properly. I got it to compile and load, reconfigured XF86Config and I get an error message that no screens are found. I checked through the forum and I didn't change the identifiers. I have attached both the XF86 error log and the XF86 config file. I know this is a configuration problem somewhere.

Geforce 3
version 4363
SuSE 8.2
CPU: AthlonXP 2100+
Motherboard: EPoX EP-8RD
Attached Files
File Type: log xfree86.log (22.1 KB, 199 views)

Last edited by Mlman; 05-12-03 at 08:25 PM.
Mlman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-03, 08:36 PM   #2
shassard
Asus Geforce FX 5600
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 36
Default

right at the end of the log you have:

---
(EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to initialize the NVIDIA kernel module!
(EE) NVIDIA(0): *** Aborting ***
---

Make sure that you get the right NVIDIA_kernel package and install it properly. As root, you should be able to do a "lsmod" and see the "nvidia" module loaded.
shassard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-03, 08:54 PM   #3
lajiri
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 5
Default Easy Fix

.

Last edited by lajiri; 12-13-09 at 10:28 PM.
lajiri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-03, 09:09 PM   #4
Mlman
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 3
Send a message via ICQ to Mlman Send a message via AIM to Mlman
Default

XF86Config file is the first part of the attachement, and I am using the IA32 loader
Mlman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-03, 09:25 PM   #5
lajiri
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 5
Default Check Modules

.

Last edited by lajiri; 12-13-09 at 10:27 PM.
lajiri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-03, 07:16 AM   #6
tsubasa
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: France ( Angouleme )
Posts: 105
Default ?

Do u have a KT333 or KT 400 Mother board ?
tsubasa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-03, 08:05 AM   #7
alien999999999
Registered User
 
alien999999999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 218
Send a message via ICQ to alien999999999
Default

don't think he has our problem.

he just installed it wrongly, so that the module isn't loaded at boot time.
an insmod nvidia before the init 5 could help alot.
__________________
Alien is my name and headbiting is my game.
alien999999999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-03, 06:56 PM   #8
Mlman
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 3
Send a message via ICQ to Mlman Send a message via AIM to Mlman
Default *grumblfwamp*

ok, apparently the module isn't loading. I tried re-running the installer, and setting up through SaX2 and I'm still getting the same error report. The help link from the readme to SuSE gives me a 404 error so I can't even check that to see if I'm installing this right, and searching the SuSE site is no help either. Does anyone have a copy of the SuSE linux install directions?
Mlman is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-15-03, 08:52 AM   #9
shassard
Asus Geforce FX 5600
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 36
Default

hopefully you've already downloaded and installed the appropriate rpm from here:

ftp://download.nvidia.com/XFree86/Linux-x86

If that didn't, or you've compiled a custom kernel, you may need to try to install the below kernel module package:

ftp://download.nvidia.com/XFree86/Li....0-4363.tar.gz

I use custom kernels all of the time and the .tar.gz file is the only way to go ..
shassard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gaikai_Inc: RT @SamFr3sh: Can I just give it up to Tera Online for having the coolest News GAIKAI 0 06-22-12 07:00 AM
AMD Radeon HD 7970 GHz Edition: Give Me Back That Crown! (Tom's Hardware) News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 06-22-12 03:00 AM
US argues it shouldn't have to give Megaupload user his legit files News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 06-11-12 01:20 PM
I give up: WinXP + AGP + ALi eL_PuSHeR Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 4 09-07-02 05:35 PM
You want shaders? I wil give you Quake2maX shaders Kruno Gaming Central 3 09-02-02 03:52 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.