Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-06-07, 08:46 PM   #13
Slammin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,123
Default Re: memory failure reason announced

It's Marketing.

Really, the problem is, they sell the ram with these incredible timings, but you can only get those timings by running the ram at insane voltage.
In my case, my OCZ PC2 8800's are rated 2.2-2.4v, and you will definitely need that voltage to even reach their rated 1100MHz, and more to overclock them.

Needless to say, unless you have very good active cooling on them, and even then I would not bet on them lasting, they will die. I've already lost one stick and that was at 2.2v. I had not realized until too late that they were running so hot. And I mean HOT! I did have a fan on them too, but it was a low speed 90mm quiet fan.

Maybe 2.4v is not too much if you can keep them from getting too hot, but at 2.3+v, mine were too hot to touch!
__________________
Abit IN9 32x MAX- Kentsfield QX6700 @3520
1.5 vcore watercooled D-Tek Fuzion/PA-160/MCR120/2x MCP655
2x2GB G-Skill 1066 5-5-5-15 2T@1.9vdimm
2x EVGA 580GTX 1.5GB Sli
2x 74GB Sata Raptor Raid0
2x 320GB Hitachi Sata II
X-FI Elite Pro
Dell U3011
Lian Li V2100B
Corsair HX1000
Slammin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-07, 08:48 PM   #14
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: memory failure reason announced

Good thing OCZ warrenties their RAM even ran at High Voltages.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-07, 10:19 PM   #15
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: memory failure reason announced

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS|
Good thing OCZ warrenties their RAM even ran at High Voltages.
Why do you guys say these are insanely high voltages? DDR was rig around this same voltage while running slower. I've got 2GB DDR500 G.Skill ram that requires 2.6-2.8v, and you are complaining about 2.2???

With active cooling the ram should be able to handle it without a problem. And I'm referring to a cooler like this one for the ram:

http://www.frozencpu.com/products/54...?tl=g40c18s235

I don't see any reason to get concerned over this. If you already lost a stick of ram due to heat, then maybe you have inadequate airflow in your case. Really 2.2v is not all that much.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-07, 10:48 PM   #16
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: memory failure reason announced

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redeemed
Why do you guys say these are insanely high voltages? DDR was rig around this same voltage while running slower. I've got 2GB DDR500 G.Skill ram that requires 2.6-2.8v, and you are complaining about 2.2???

With active cooling the ram should be able to handle it without a problem. And I'm referring to a cooler like this one for the ram:

http://www.frozencpu.com/products/54...?tl=g40c18s235

I don't see any reason to get concerned over this. If you already lost a stick of ram due to heat, then maybe you have inadequate airflow in your case. Really 2.2v is not all that much.
DDR2 is not spec'd the same as DDR1. Remember, default voltage for DDR2 is about 1.8v. 2.4v is a lot of voltage!
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-07, 10:57 PM   #17
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: memory failure reason announced

Quote:
Originally Posted by jAkUp
DDR2 is not spec'd the same as DDR1. Remember, default voltage for DDR2 is about 1.8v. 2.4v is a lot of voltage!
Yeah, you're right. My bad. But with proper cooling it should be able to handle 2.2 no problem. Atleast, I'd think it would. What are you running your RAM at?
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-07, 11:01 PM   #18
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: memory failure reason announced

2.5v But yea, 2.2v should be ok, but it really depends on the chip.
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-07, 11:05 PM   #19
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: memory failure reason announced

Quote:
Originally Posted by jAkUp
2.5v But yea, 2.2v should be ok, but it really depends on the chip.
That's kind of what I was getting at... 2.2 isn't too high. You are almost running the same voltages my DDR500 is running- granted you need the heatsinks plus that OCZ cooler to pull it all off, but you got it working none the less. 2.2 is possible and not all that far fetched with the right cooling, as you have very much proven with your rig.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-07, 12:33 AM   #20
einstein_314
w00t!!
 
einstein_314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,905
Default Re: memory failure reason announced

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS|
Good thing OCZ warrenties their RAM even ran at High Voltages.
Haha this reminds me of my OCZ PC4000 GOLD VX ram I had a while back....It needed 3.2V to run at it's rated speed And it was warrantied to 3.3V. Unfortunately I got two defective sets....so I said screw that and got the mushkin stuff I currently have....couldn't be happier.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz (9 x 355) w/ Swiftec APOGEE GTX Waterblock|| Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Edition
eVGA 8800 GTX Superclocked Edition @ 675/1150 w/ DangerDen 8800GTX Waterblock|| 4x1GB Mushkin XP2 PC2-8500
X-Fi Fatal1ty 64MB || PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W || Seagate 7200.10 320 GB || Dell 2407WFP
Logitech Z-5300 Speakers || Sennheiser HD555's || Logitech G7 || Logitech G15 || Windows Vista Ultimate x64
einstein_314 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-07-07, 04:04 AM   #21
Muppet
Registered User
 
Muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: memory failure reason announced

I have been running my corsair for 4 months now on 2.4 volts without any hassles. Seeing as this is official, i may look at changing my volts.
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition | Intel 4930k | SS Phasechange | 16GB Corsair Platinum DDR3 1866 | Asus GTX680 x2 SLI | Corsair AX1200 Watt PSU | Lian-Li PC-8NWX | Intel 520 120Gb SSD x2 | Samsung S27A950D 27" 120Hz | HP ZR24w 24" S-IPS x3 Nvidia Surround @6000x1200 | Xonar Essence STX
Muppet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-07, 05:02 AM   #22
Slammin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,123
Default Re: memory failure reason announced

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redeemed
That's kind of what I was getting at... 2.2 isn't too high. You are almost running the same voltages my DDR500 is running- granted you need the heatsinks plus that OCZ cooler to pull it all off, but you got it working none the less. 2.2 is possible and not all that far fetched with the right cooling, as you have very much proven with your rig.

Very true. Proper cooling. Still, OCZ claims this ram doesn't even need active cooling! Now, I'm not dumb enough to believe that, but again, Marketing.

Also keep in mind that I had 4 sticks and you know how close they are in the slots, so I am getting one of those purpose-built ram coolers when my RMA comes back.

I'm not convinced the mobos are to blame for ram dying and even reading nVidia's response, it's seems pretty clear that they also think 2.4v is too much for DDR2.

Oh well, one of the main reasons I bought 4 sticks was so that I wouldn't be completely dead in the water should I lose one or two, and as was said, OCZ warantee on these is lifetime at 2.4v :-)
__________________
Abit IN9 32x MAX- Kentsfield QX6700 @3520
1.5 vcore watercooled D-Tek Fuzion/PA-160/MCR120/2x MCP655
2x2GB G-Skill 1066 5-5-5-15 2T@1.9vdimm
2x EVGA 580GTX 1.5GB Sli
2x 74GB Sata Raptor Raid0
2x 320GB Hitachi Sata II
X-FI Elite Pro
Dell U3011
Lian Li V2100B
Corsair HX1000
Slammin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GPU memory consumption, back buffer, Quadro tdsussman NVIDIA Linux 5 08-14-12 09:14 PM
Video: For HPC Energy Efficiency, Samsung 20-nm Memory Fab Makes a Difference News Archived News Items 0 06-26-12 06:00 AM
Measuring card memory usage peter_ga NVIDIA Linux 0 05-24-12 08:07 PM
New GPU from Nvidia Announced Today, the GeForce GTX 670 News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 01:50 PM
new memory tech QBM (Quad band memory) sebazve Rumor Mill 9 09-24-02 09:38 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.