Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-09-07, 02:40 AM   #1
miltiad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 26
Default Resolution with S-Video

Hi,

What is the maximum screen resolution with S-Video Output ?

Thank you.
miltiad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-07, 03:41 AM   #2
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default Re: Resolution with S-Video

Composite and S-video are made for resolutions of upto about 800x600. Above that resolution you need relatively high frequency pixelclocks which the cables can't handle that well (leads to a lot of signal loss).

When you connect a tv using s-video the resolution the card outputs (in case of the integrated tvout encoder of Nvidia gpus) is 720x480 (NTSC) or 720x576 (PAL) no matter which resolution you specify in your xorg.conf. The image is scaled to fit into this view.

If you really want high resolutions for tvout (HDTV) you should use either component or hdmi/dvi.
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-07, 07:14 AM   #3
rerushg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Carolina, USA
Posts: 99
Send a message via AIM to rerushg
Default Re: Resolution with S-Video

Thunderbird:
My card, 7900GS (EVGA), came with an S-video/component splitter that allowed HDTV resolutions with no apparent loss in quality versus DVI (in WinXP, Linux is another story).
That surprizes me; I would have expected such a splitter to use the DVI port. Is a DVI/component splitter in common use? Would it offer any advantage?
Thanks.
rerushg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-07, 09:35 AM   #4
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default Re: Resolution with S-Video

Composite/S-VIDEO/Component are all analog ways of transporting data. DVI/HDMI are digital and work very differently.
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-07, 11:05 AM   #5
miltiad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 26
Default Re: Resolution with S-Video

Thank you for your answer, I'll give it a try when I receive my HDMI cable.
miltiad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-07, 03:52 PM   #6
pe1chl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: Resolution with S-Video

Quote:
Originally Posted by rerushg
Thunderbird:
My card, 7900GS (EVGA), came with an S-video/component splitter
Even though your component cable connects to the same connector as the S-video cable, the component signal is not split from the S-video signal.
The connector on the card contains both S-video and component outputs, that are partly independent.

Still, this splitter uses the output of the tvout encoder. Best quality can always be obtained directly from the videocard (DVI/VGA output) instead of via the tvout encoder.
Of course you need a display with DVI/VGA input for this. Some TV sets do have such an input.
pe1chl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IOGEAR 3D Complete+ 4-Port HDMI Switcher with 2D/3D Video Processor News Archived News Items 0 06-28-12 05:40 PM
Vivid Sydney in 3D, 2012 ' High Definition 3D Timelapse Video News Archived News Items 1 06-23-12 12:47 PM
Video: HPC Analyst Crossfire from ISC'12 News Archived News Items 0 06-23-12 12:00 AM
30.82 and 40.41 resolution + monitor OSD. Max3D NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 2 09-05-02 02:15 AM
Best video card for running dual displays? nutsnbolts NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 10 09-03-02 02:02 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.