Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-16-07, 03:23 PM   #25
Saintster
Registered User
 
Saintster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 784
Default Re: Intel E6600 or AMD 6000 X2?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xion X2
One of the high-end 965 boards. Either Asus or Gigabyte. I had the P5B Deluxe with an FSB that would overclock over 500 and linked it earlier in this thread.


Got it thanks.Links are timing out on me I'll try later thanks again.
Saintster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-07, 03:35 PM   #26
Saintster
Registered User
 
Saintster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 784
Default Re: Intel E6600 or AMD 6000 X2?

Hows this memory the specs on the board said to use memory with 5-5-5- or 6-6-6 timings and an operating voltage of 1.8.http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16820231121
Saintster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-07, 03:45 PM   #27
Xion X2
Registered User
 
Xion X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U.S.
Posts: 6,701
Default Re: Intel E6600 or AMD 6000 X2?

Newegg's having some trouble, so I can't pull up the page. But you can disregard those specs. I had G.Skill with 4-4-4-5 timings and recommended 2.3V and it ran like a champ from day one. I know for a fact that it loves G.Skill and Crucial. Can't really speak for anything else.

Those specs you site were probably linked to the original BIOS. Perhaps in the beginning the board wouldn't boot with anything more than 1.8V, but it booted just fine with my G.Skill @ 2.3 when I had it. I don't think you'll have a problem with that. There have been plenty of BIOS updates since release.
__________________

i7-2700k @ 5.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 570 2.5GB Tri-SLI
Asus P67 WS Revolution (Tri-SLI)
OCZ Vertex SSD x 4 (Raid 5)
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 @ 1600MHz
PC Power & Cooling 950W PSU
Xion X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-07, 04:30 PM   #28
Saintster
Registered User
 
Saintster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 784
Default Re: Intel E6600 or AMD 6000 X2?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xion X2
Newegg's having some trouble, so I can't pull up the page. But you can disregard those specs. I had G.Skill with 4-4-4-5 timings and recommended 2.3V and it ran like a champ from day one. I know for a fact that it loves G.Skill and Crucial. Can't really speak for anything else.

Those specs you site were probably linked to the original BIOS. Perhaps in the beginning the board wouldn't boot with anything more than 1.8V, but it booted just fine with my G.Skill @ 2.3 when I had it. I don't think you'll have a problem with that. There have been plenty of BIOS updates since release.

Right on thanks again.I appreciate the info.
Saintster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-07, 06:02 PM   #29
Blacklash
8^9^3
 
Blacklash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Old Vizima
Posts: 3,679
Default Re: Intel E6600 or AMD 6000 X2?

There is nothing wrong with the X2 6000+ for 239usd or around there. I'd probably go with the X2 5600+ for 189usd myself as you are already @ 2.8 and should be able to get 3.0GHz.

If you bring even average overclocking into the picture I have to say get a C2D. They do 3.2GHz with little trouble and 3.5-3.7GHz on air with aftermarket cooling and some voltage bumping.

You may wish to wait for the E6320|E6430 to be released and get that with a good 965 board. They will have the same cache as the E6600 and a lower multi. They will be roughly 163-189usd and should do 3.2-3.7 on air as well. Heck 500 x 7 with a E6320 on a good 965 board would give you a solid 3.5. If you want to be more "safe" and sure to get your OC, buy the E6420.

If you want a "value" OC try something like a Brisbane 3600+ and a Biostar T550 mobo. Some people are getting 3.0GHz with that combo and I'd more realistically expect 2.6-2.8. Some of those budget mobos have 2.20v or less available for ram. Some top at a flat 2.1 and some have no increases possible at all. So be careful in your selection of memory if you go that route.

Here's some good ram to consider for folks wanting to go the 3600+ budget route-

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...+675&x=17&y=31
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.96GHz (1.36v)|Mushkin 998681 XP3-12800 (3x2GB)
ASUS TUF Sabertooth (X58)|ASUS GTX 580 DirectCU II (980|4604)|ASUS PA246Q
WD VelociRaptor 150GB HD (x2)|Pioneer DVR-2920Q|LG GH22LS30|Klipsch PM20 2.0
SilverStone OP1000-E|SilverStone TJ10-B|Thermalright U-120 Extreme|Win 7 HP x64
Blacklash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-07, 06:24 PM   #30
gulizard
"Powerstroke Diesel"
 
gulizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Evansville, Indiana (from Detroit)
Posts: 663
Send a message via MSN to gulizard Send a message via Skype™ to gulizard
Default Re: Intel E6600 or AMD 6000 X2?

I am not one to judge someone. Some people have bad luck. It just depends on what you do with your system I guess. I have had this thing running at 3.6GHz. It ran around 43c idle.

The board itself it never really heated up. I think standard temp is around 45c on the south bridge. I got the fan and all installed, and alot of air moving through my case. I've had this board for about 3 months now. I have no complaints..
__________________
my rig: 2011 Ford F250 Lariat, 6.7 Powerstroke, DPF/urea delete H&S Mini Maxx tuned, w/ fuel box from IDP ET 1/8 8.40
gulizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-07, 06:39 AM   #31
john19055
 
john19055's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: GREENVILLE,TX
Posts: 3,857
Default Re: Intel E6600 or AMD 6000 X2?

I have both the 650i SLI and the 680i SLI and they both run stable for me .The 650i will let me overclock the CPU up to 2000 but it want let me go any higher then 1000mhz on the memory and my 680i will let me just go to 1650 on the CPU but the memory will let me run over 1200mhz. I like to run my system at a 1:1 ratio I only need to go to 800mhz since I run it at 3.6gig with the CPU at 1600 and the memory at 800 ,plus I only need to overclock my voltage to 1.31v to get 3.6g so my tempertures run about the same as stock 29c idle and around 45c with heavy load. The 650i CPU core would fluxuate to 1.35 to 1.4v so I had to run my core at a higher voltage and my temperture would run higher on it.I think the 680i has more phases on the voltage regulaters then the 650i because my voltage CPU core on my 680i stay very stable at 1.31v.It's true that when I first got my Evga 680i SLI I had some trouble but Evga fixed that with bios updates.I would go with the Intel Core 2 Duo because it will overclock great .At stock clocks the AMD 6000 X2 at 3gigs might win in some games but the intel Core 2 Duo E6600 will do 3gigs easy and it will be the fastest in games.And when AMD does come out with a new chip design and if it is faster then a core 2 duo you will more then likely have to get a new motherboard and right now if you decide later to go with a four core Intel core 2 duo ,you can use the same motherboard you get with the 650i or the 680i.
__________________
Intel i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16gigs G.Skill PC1600DDR3+2-ASUS DirectCU II GTX-670 in SLI+Crucial 256g-SSD+1-3Gig Seagate+2- Samsung 1-TB+3-WesternDigtial 640g+LG-12x Blu-Ray Burner+850watt XFX+Antec-P280 case+50" Plasma PM6700+Logitech Mouse+Keyboard+Pioneer VSX-1020+Polk Audio Speakers
john19055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-07, 02:39 PM   #32
FastRedPonyCar
Resident Tire Destroyer
 
FastRedPonyCar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,012
Send a message via AIM to FastRedPonyCar
Default Re: Intel E6600 or AMD 6000 X2?

I've had great results so far with my 6600 and MSI board. See sig.

No oc'ing stablity problems or ram issue or anything. It just works...quite well in fact.
__________________
- Desktop -
4770k @ 4.45 ghz - ASUS Gryphon Mobo - 16 gigs Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866 RAM - XSPC Rasa 750 RS240 H2o Cooling - EVGA GTX 680 @1325mhz - 128 gig Crucial RealSSD C300 - 150 gig Velociraptor +2.75 Terrabytes of WD Sata 3.0 storage - 910 watt PC P&C PSU - Corsair Obsidian 650D case

- Server -
Core I7 D0 revision 920 @ 3.75 ghz - ASUS P6T Deluxe - 12 Gigs Mushkin DDR3 1600 - Corsair HX 620 PSU - Noctua NH-U9B cooler - Coolermaster WaveMaster Case

- Laptop -
MSI 16F2-012
- i7 2630QM - GTX570m @ 750Mhz - 8 gigs HyperX 1866 - 120 gig OCZ Vertex 3 SSD- 750 gig Scorpio Black - BluRay - 95% Gamut Screen - IC Diamond goop
FastRedPonyCar is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maintain Your Privacy by Manually Accepting and Rejecting "Cookies" (nV News) MikeC Open Forum 2 02-02-13 07:15 PM
AFDS 2012: AMD Wireless Display to compete against Intel WiDi with open standards News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 06-10-12 09:20 PM
AMD Gooses the Clocks on 'Bulldozer' Opterons News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 06-04-12 02:24 PM
AMD and Intel both need to improve their Linux support News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 05-28-12 02:20 PM
AMD vs Intel druga runda CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 7 08-20-02 01:09 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.