Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-17-07, 04:00 PM   #1
Ikshaar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 72
Default Windows confuses monitors in dual-monitor setup

I have a dual monitor set-up, 2 LCD on a 8800GTS. One monitor is a 1600x1200 Dell and one is an older 1280x1024 Planar.

The Dell is my main monitor: Start menu on it and where I play games.
Planar is secondary: for side browsing, etc...
Both have resolution set independently.

With Windows XP and now even Vista sometimes - often during video driver upgrade - Windows invert the monitor and call my Dell the 2nd monitor and the Planar the 1st. Of course, I can change the primary display in display option - bring back Start menu on Dell - but the number displayed by "Identify Display" button does not change.

Now the problem is that once it happened games started on my Dell monitor (set as primary) still receives wrong resolution information and believes they are on 1280x1024 monitor because the Planar is still the one with the label "1".

I was able to restore it in Vista by removing the Planar monitor, removing all display drivers, reset it to VGA... (add plenty of reboot in between), then re-install drivers, then reconnect 2nd monitor.

Question: Is there a way to change this identification of monitor of Windows as shown by the "Identify Display" button ?

PS: Anyone else having that problem ?
Ikshaar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-07, 06:08 PM   #2
d00mskull
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: DFW
Posts: 57
Default Re: Windows confuses monitors in dual-monitor setup

Right-click the nVidia icon and go to nVidia Control Panel. Go to Display and configure your monitors
__________________

AMD Athlon X2 6000+ | Asus Crosshair 590 SLI | eVGA 8800GTS @ 576/1700 | 2 x 1GB Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800 4-4-4-12 | SoundBlaster Audigy2 | Logitech Z4 2.1 | 320GB Seagate Barracuda SATA2 | NZXT Apollo | Rosewill RP550-2 550W PSU | Acer 22" 5ms LCD
d00mskull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-07, 11:58 PM   #3
Ikshaar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 72
Default Re: Windows confuses monitors in dual-monitor setup

my point is that this does NOT work !!
Ikshaar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
Like XP or Vista: how will businesses treat Windows 8? News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 09:10 AM
NVIDIA Brings 18 Years of Experience to Windows 8 News Archived News Items 0 06-03-12 06:20 AM
Multiple monitors on Windows 8 Release Preview: better, but still rough News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 11:50 AM
Help with dual monitors in Windows 2000 Hellfire NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 11 09-03-02 08:23 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.