Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > General Software

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-24-03, 03:39 PM   #1
Malameel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 15
Default improper license protection

I have some audio files that for some reason now show that they are license protected by WMP. Unfortunetly, they were fine on my old computer, but now on my new system, they are protected. How do I reverse this problem?

I am trying to copy them to a CD, and Nero is telling me about the problem.

Any help is appreciated.
__________________
Malameel

Yeah, I registered again...
Malameel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-03, 11:22 PM   #2
Malameel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 15
Default

Nobody have any clue?

I guess Microsoft will decide if it is right or wrong with no chance of appeal.
__________________
Malameel

Yeah, I registered again...
Malameel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-03, 02:53 AM   #3
vampireuk
**** Holster
 
vampireuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: The armoury
Posts: 2,813
Send a message via AIM to vampireuk
Default

You installed WMP9 didn't you
__________________
I put children in microwaves.
vampireuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-03, 12:40 PM   #4
The Baron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hope you still have the old computer, because you will need to copy the license files from some odd directory in My Documents to the new one in order to get them to play. Otherwise, you're SOL.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-03, 06:06 AM   #5
Jan Kivar
HW Guru
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 28
Default

I think that the dir is \documents and settings\all users\DRM. And the Baron is correct, if You don't have the keys, You can probably nuke the files...

Cheers,

Jan
__________________
A64 3000+ (1GHz@0,85V), 7000AlCu@5V, MSI K8N Neo, 2x512MB Kingston VR, HIS 9800PRO IceQ, 2xSP1614N (Nidec), ZM400B, Nexus 120mm@12V, NEC ND-2510, 3700BQE, Nokia 445PRO
Jan Kivar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-03, 01:04 AM   #6
Malameel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 15
Default

Yeah I installed WMP9.

I gave the old computer away and reformatted it before I gave it away also.

I looked up Spybot, and it really didn't have any reference to the licensing issue.

Jan, there is so such place on my computer (the DRM part.)
__________________
Malameel

Yeah, I registered again...
Malameel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-03, 09:54 AM   #7
Riptide
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 8,303
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Malameel
Nobody have any clue?

I guess Microsoft will decide if it is right or wrong with no chance of appeal.
Another reason to use the MPC player...

http://www.gabest.org/
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Google's H.264 license undermines Motorola patent case, Microsoft says News Archived News Items 0 06-17-12 08:40 PM
Google gets license to test drive autonomous cars on Nevada roads News Archived News Items 0 05-07-12 05:40 PM
MacroVision protection in det 40 Gargr NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 12 09-02-02 12:30 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.