Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-25-07, 10:50 AM   #1
bac522
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4
Default 1280x720 refuses to work now

Ok, I'm baffled. I used to be able to use 1280x720 resolution, but I upgrade my Debian distro to the latest and now it refuses to use the 1280x720 resolution. Yet when I run startx -- -verbose 5 -logverbose 6 I see the following:

(II) NVIDIA(0): Validating Mode "1280x720":
(II) NVIDIA(0): 1280 x 720 @ 60 Hz
(II) NVIDIA(0): For use as DFP backend.
(II) NVIDIA(0): Mode Source: EDID
(II) NVIDIA(0): Pixel Clock : 74.25 MHz
(II) NVIDIA(0): HRes, HSyncStart : 1280, 1500
(II) NVIDIA(0): HSyncEnd, HTotal : 1540, 1650
(II) NVIDIA(0): VRes, VSyncStart : 720, 740
(II) NVIDIA(0): VSyncEnd, VTotal : 745, 750
(II) NVIDIA(0): H/V Polarity : +/+
(II) NVIDIA(0): Mode is valid.

but then later in the log i see:

(II) NVIDIA(0): --- Modes in ModePool for LG 37LC2D-UD (DFP-0) ---
(II) NVIDIA(0): "nvidia-auto-select" : 1024 x 768 @ 60.0 Hz (from: X Server, VESA, EDID)
(II) NVIDIA(0): "1024x768" : 1024 x 768 @ 60.0 Hz (from: X Server, VESA, EDID)
(II) NVIDIA(0): "1024x768_60" : 1024 x 768 @ 60.0 Hz (from: X Server, VESA, EDID)
(II) NVIDIA(0): "800x600" : 800 x 600 @ 60.3 Hz (from: X Server, VESA, EDID)
(II) NVIDIA(0): "800x600_60" : 800 x 600 @ 60.3 Hz (from: X Server, VESA, EDID)
(II) NVIDIA(0): "720x480" : 720 x 480 @ 59.9 Hz (from: EDID)
(II) NVIDIA(0): "720x480_60" : 720 x 480 @ 59.9 Hz (from: EDID)
(II) NVIDIA(0): "720x480_60_0" : 720 x 480 @ 59.9 Hz (from: EDID)
(II) NVIDIA(0): "640x480" : 640 x 480 @ 60.0 Hz (from: VESA, EDID)
(II) NVIDIA(0): "640x480_60" : 640 x 480 @ 60.0 Hz (from: VESA, EDID)
(II) NVIDIA(0): --- End of ModePool for LG 37LC2D-UD (DFP-0): ---


What happen to my 1280x720 mode???? Of course X11 won't start up in that mode now!

I tried using the older driver 8774 which I believe is the one that used to work, but now I get compile errors when I try to use it.

Attached is my complete xorg.log file.
Attached Files
File Type: log Xorg.0.log (135.1 KB, 112 views)
bac522 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-07, 12:13 PM   #2
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: 1280x720 refuses to work now

In your log, I see:
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Mode is rejected: Mode (1280 x 720) is too large for DFP
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Native Resolution (Max: 1024 x 768).

You should try adding the ExactModeTimingsDVI driver option, and/or the ModeValidation option. See the driver README for more information. If you need further assistance, please generate and provide an nvidia-bug-report.log.

Thanks,
Lonni
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-07, 12:16 PM   #3
///MVinny
WSP Most Wanted
 
///MVinny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 39
Default Re: 1280x720 refuses to work now

Hey man,

Look further down inside the log:

Code:
(II) NVIDIA(0): Native backend timings for LG 37LC2D-UD (DFP-0):
 ...
 ...  
 ...
(II) NVIDIA(0):   Validating Mode "1280x720":
(II) NVIDIA(0):     1280 x 720 @ 60 Hz
(II) NVIDIA(0):     Mode Source: EDID
(II) NVIDIA(0):       Pixel Clock      : 74.25 MHz
(II) NVIDIA(0):       HRes, HSyncStart : 1280, 1500
(II) NVIDIA(0):       HSyncEnd, HTotal : 1540, 1650
(II) NVIDIA(0):       VRes, VSyncStart :  720,  740
(II) NVIDIA(0):       VSyncEnd, VTotal :  745,  750
(II) NVIDIA(0):       H/V Polarity     : +/+
(WW) NVIDIA(0):     Mode is rejected: Mode (1280 x 720) is too large for DFP
(WW) NVIDIA(0):     Native Resolution (Max: 1024 x 768).
Add these options to the DEVICE section in /etc/X11/xorg.conf

Code:
Option "ExactModeTimingsDVI" "true"
Option "ModeValidation" "NoDFPNativeResolutionCheck"
///MVinny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-07, 02:12 PM   #4
bac522
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4
Default Re: 1280x720 refuses to work now

Quote:
Originally Posted by ///MVinny
Code:
Option "ExactModeTimingsDVI" "true"
Option "ModeValidation" "NoDFPNativeResolutionCheck"
BINGO!!! That did it....many many many thanks. I'm usually pretty good about figuring this stuff out, but this one was throwing me for a loop since it worked with an older driver at one time.
bac522 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
295.40 Does not Work Had to downgrade to 295.33 Archmbc NVIDIA Linux 4 05-03-12 03:38 PM
do 3d glasses really work? Gator General Hardware 19 12-30-02 05:39 AM
Need help to get the X to work on my Acer TravelMate 630 knchee NVIDIA Linux 16 09-19-02 11:16 PM
Can't get FSAA to work krow NVIDIA Linux 6 09-17-02 09:03 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.