Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-04-07, 02:39 PM   #13
pe1chl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: 1920x1080i ModeLine = "No Valid Mode" for GeForce 6600GT and Pioneer PDP-4270HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by gimpyestrada
Right, so now my log file says

NVIDIA(0): Option "NoVertRefreshCheck" is not used

Is this somehow wrong?
That option is wrong. "NoVertRefreshCheck" is a parameter to Option "ModeValidation".

But I think your modeline is not correct either, when you want a 1080 pixel vertical resolution, it looks like the corrupted EDID returned by some TVs.
You better use the modeline that appears in your first posting in this thread.
pe1chl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-07, 03:25 PM   #14
Senor Hubris
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 45
Default Re: 1920x1080i ModeLine = "No Valid Mode" for GeForce 6600GT and Pioneer PDP-4270HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by pe1chl
But I think your modeline is not correct either, when you want a 1080 pixel vertical resolution, it looks like the corrupted EDID returned by some TVs.
You better use the modeline that appears in your first posting in this thread.

The modeline he is using is not corrupted. It is the correct modeline. The problem is that the driver doesn't use it properly and you have to double the vertical timings to *work around a driver bug*. In other words, your recommendation is sound, but the reasoning was faulty. :-) I think it's important to mention that this is a workaround so people don't think this is the way "things are supposed to be". There is a bug in the nvidia driver wrt 1080 interlaced over DVI.
Senor Hubris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-07, 04:16 PM   #15
rerushg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Carolina, USA
Posts: 99
Send a message via AIM to rerushg
Default Re: 1920x1080i ModeLine = "No Valid Mode" for GeForce 6600GT and Pioneer PDP-4270HD

You've got the xorg.conf edit going. Cool. Maybe tonight's the night you get going.
These guys are right, it's a parameter to the option. Should read:

Option "ModeValidation" "NoVertRefreshCheck"

I also agree that the modeline seems wrong. Try the "1080" one, not the "540" one.
rerushg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-07, 04:18 PM   #16
netllama
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,763
Default Re: 1920x1080i ModeLine = "No Valid Mode" for GeForce 6600GT and Pioneer PDP-4270HD

Please note that all of the driver options are fully documented in the driver README.
netllama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-07, 11:07 PM   #17
gimpyestrada
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 13
Default Re: 1920x1080i ModeLine = "No Valid Mode" for GeForce 6600GT and Pioneer PDP-4270HD

We are soooooo close!

When I entered the option correctly and changed the ModeLine back to what I was using before, it didn't work. So then I wanted to see why it didn't work so I ran:

Code:
sudo startx -- -logverbose 6
And poof! It worked!

But what the heck is going on that makes it only work when I start X using the above startx command. I cannot use
Code:
sudo /etc/init.d/gdm restart
. I also tried a reboot, but still nada. The only way I can make it go is by running startx!

I am using Ubuntu, so I have not root, but I can get 1080i by running
Code:
sudo startx
.

Any ideas?
Attached Files
File Type: zip nvidia-bug-report.zip (32.4 KB, 104 views)
gimpyestrada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-07, 01:05 AM   #18
rerushg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Carolina, USA
Posts: 99
Send a message via AIM to rerushg
Default Re: 1920x1080i ModeLine = "No Valid Mode" for GeForce 6600GT and Pioneer PDP-4270HD

Yep. Sounds like you've got it. Or at least you now know that it's going to work.
I don't know whats going on with the "startx" thing. When you reboot (or whatever) and it doesn't work right what do you get? No display? Corrupt display?
I'm not sure what the "SecurityTypes" option is doing. You might try it with this disabled.
rerushg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-07, 05:40 PM   #19
gimpyestrada
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 13
Default Re: 1920x1080i ModeLine = "No Valid Mode" for GeForce 6600GT and Pioneer PDP-4270HD

What I get is a 720p mode, which is what the driver was defaulting to whenever it couldn't find a "valid" mode.

The SecurityTypes option is for my VNC server. That's not the problem.

I just noticed that when I reboot and it logs in, it starts to load the 1080i mode, then it loads the 720p mode. I know this because my TV displays the resolution every time it changes. It is as if my MythTv user is not able to use my ModeLine?

It is almost like the Login screen is 1080i, but then when my user logs in, it decides it can't do 1080i.
gimpyestrada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-07, 08:24 AM   #20
pe1chl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: 1920x1080i ModeLine = "No Valid Mode" for GeForce 6600GT and Pioneer PDP-4270HD

Maybe you have put a configuration file in your home directory?
Or setup something in your desktop manager?
pe1chl is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-06-07, 11:07 AM   #21
rerushg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Carolina, USA
Posts: 99
Send a message via AIM to rerushg
Default Re: 1920x1080i ModeLine = "No Valid Mode" for GeForce 6600GT and Pioneer PDP-4270HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by gimpyestrada
It is almost like the Login screen is 1080i, but then when my user logs in, it decides it can't do 1080i.
Sounds like something else is starting up. Suggest you check here:
System > Admin > Login Window > Security (tab) > Configure X Server

or here:
Syetem > Prefs > Sessions > Startup Prorams (tab)
rerushg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-07, 04:11 PM   #22
gimpyestrada
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 13
Default Re: 1920x1080i ModeLine = "No Valid Mode" for GeForce 6600GT and Pioneer PDP-4270HD

I needed to adjust the settings in nvidia-settings, then 1080i came up every time. Thanks.

Now that I can get to a 1080i resolution, how do I get anything to play? Every time I try to play anything, I get nothing but a black screen and a system that is very unresponsive until I manage to kill whatever program I ran. I have tried xine with the xxmc option and it doesn't work (it is very happy to run in 720p mode though). I have tried playing DVD's, HDTV recordings, NTSC recordings, random xvid recordings. Everything makes the system angry at 1080i.

What should I use to display a 1080i picture?
gimpyestrada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-07, 04:39 PM   #23
Senor Hubris
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 45
Default Re: 1920x1080i ModeLine = "No Valid Mode" for GeForce 6600GT and Pioneer PDP-4270HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by gimpyestrada
I needed to adjust the settings in nvidia-settings, then 1080i came up every time. Thanks.

Now that I can get to a 1080i resolution, how do I get anything to play? Every time I try to play anything, I get nothing but a black screen and a system that is very unresponsive until I manage to kill whatever program I ran. I have tried xine with the xxmc option and it doesn't work (it is very happy to run in 720p mode though). I have tried playing DVD's, HDTV recordings, NTSC recordings, random xvid recordings. Everything makes the system angry at 1080i.

What should I use to display a 1080i picture?
What version of the driver are you using? Until fairly recently the nvidia driver had issues with using XV to display over DVI/HDMI at 1080i. I know the 9755 and the most recent beta driver works fine.

Okay, I looked at your bug report and it shows you are using 9631. I don't recall, but I believe that version had the XV issue also (which is why I don't use the driver that Ubuntu installs. Instead I compile my own). You should try a more recent driver.
Senor Hubris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-07, 11:26 AM   #24
gimpyestrada
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 13
Default Re: 1920x1080i ModeLine = "No Valid Mode" for GeForce 6600GT and Pioneer PDP-4270HD

Quote:
Originally Posted by Senor Hubris
Okay, I looked at your bug report and it shows you are using 9631. I don't recall, but I believe that version had the XV issue also (which is why I don't use the driver that Ubuntu installs. Instead I compile my own). You should try a more recent driver.
I tried installing my own driver in Ubuntu and I didn't have much luck. It compiled and "installed" but then when it rebooted the X server was pissed saying that it couldn't find some files. I can't remember exactly what it was at the time, but I couldn't get it fixed until I re-installed Ubuntu flat out.
gimpyestrada is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.