Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-20-07, 06:36 PM   #1
sillyeagle
sillyego
 
sillyeagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,394
Default What does Vista Network Diagnose do compared to XP Repair?

I know the XP repair does things such as disabling and reenabling the adapter, renews the IP, clears the ARP Cache, clears the DNS Cache, etc. But the Repair feature has been replaced with Diagnose in Vista, so I am wondering if it runs through the same process or what? I tried searching technet and didn't find info on the diagnose feature.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem Quad @ 4.0GHz
EVGA GTX 660 SLI @ 1046MHz
OCZ Platinum CL7 6GB
EVGA Intel X58
_____________
A man's dreams are an index to his greatness.
sillyeagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-07, 07:08 PM   #2
LycosV
Registered User
 
LycosV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 888
Default Re: What does Vista Network Diagnose do compared to XP Repair?

I think the theory behind diagnose is that it's supposed to give you more information than "could not repair your network adaptor, contact your network administrator" or whatnot. I've never actually tried it when my connection dies, I already know it's my cable modem and a reboot (of the cable modem) fixes that problem. Next time my modem craps out I'll see what Vista says.
LycosV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-07, 04:12 PM   #3
LycosV
Registered User
 
LycosV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 888
Default Re: What does Vista Network Diagnose do compared to XP Repair?

Okay here's an update on what Vista told me when my connection died:
As previously stated, I knew that the problem was with the router.
Vista could not connect to the internet so I told it to diagnose the problem. It came up with the following:
[Window Title]
Windows Network Diagnostics
[Main Instruction]
Cannot communicate with Primary DNS Server.
[Content]
Network diagnostics pinged the remote host but did not receive a response.
[Reset the network adapter "Local Area Connection"] [Cancel]
After picking to reset the network adapter (it did so) the problem persisted (as expected).

Although diagnose and repair didn't fix the problem, the network and sharing center did show me where the problem actually was when I opened it. The chart showing the network correctly placed the problem between the router and the internet.
LycosV is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.