Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-07-07, 10:18 AM   #1
DoomUK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 498
Send a message via MSN to DoomUK
Default Disabling Firewire port on A8N-SLI SE

The question is in the title. (Award) BIOS revision is 0502.

If anyone here has had experience with this mobo, how do I disable the 1394 port, if I can at all?

Also, I'll pop in another quick question: There is a WinXP tool, other than via device manager, that displays a list of hardware conflicts... can't for the life of me remember what it's called, however

Thanks in advance
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo | Asus A8N-SLI SE | 2GB Kingston HyperX DDR400 | Leadtek 8800GT ZL 512MB | Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat' | Creative Inspire 6.1 | 200GB Seagate Barracuda SATA-II | 500GB Seagate Barracuda SATA-II | 180GB Hitachi Deskstar PATA | 19" AG Neovo F-419 | OCZ PowerStream 600W | WinXP Home SP3 | WinVista Ultimate x86 SP1
DoomUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-07, 05:33 PM   #2
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Disabling Firewire port on A8N-SLI SE

msinfo32
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-07, 06:13 PM   #3
DMx
*BANNED*
 
DMx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: England
Posts: 157
Default Re: Disabling Firewire port on A8N-SLI SE

I'm guessing the A8N-SLi SE is closely related to the A8N32-SLi Deluxe.

So for me to disable it, you go to the Advanced section and its one near the bottom (4th one to the bottom I think).
DMx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-07, 06:32 PM   #4
J-Mag
Weapon of MassConsumption
 
J-Mag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,245
Default Re: Disabling Firewire port on A8N-SLI SE

Yeah look for something like: "IEEE 1934" in your Bios. I don't think Asus the BIOS asus uses actually says firewire anywhere but I could be wrong...
J-Mag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-07, 08:33 PM   #5
DoomUK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 498
Send a message via MSN to DoomUK
Default Re: Disabling Firewire port on A8N-SLI SE

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13
msinfo32
Thanks.

As for the Firewire port settings, I'm unable to find it. Perhaps a BIOS update will do the trick...
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo | Asus A8N-SLI SE | 2GB Kingston HyperX DDR400 | Leadtek 8800GT ZL 512MB | Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat' | Creative Inspire 6.1 | 200GB Seagate Barracuda SATA-II | 500GB Seagate Barracuda SATA-II | 180GB Hitachi Deskstar PATA | 19" AG Neovo F-419 | OCZ PowerStream 600W | WinXP Home SP3 | WinVista Ultimate x86 SP1
DoomUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.