Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-05-07, 02:51 AM   #1
DMx
*BANNED*
 
DMx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: England
Posts: 157
Default Maximum Voltage

Okay, I know my 4400+ is getting ahead in time so I want to make this baby cry. I currently have it 100% stable with the following settings


I have read that a maximum voltage of 1.65v has been achieved on watercooling, but I bet this Zalman can show watercooling a thing or two about cooling .

What do you recommend my maximum voltage limit should be? I don't really want to fry this chip just yet (I do have to wait for my next wages so I can get C2D ).

Thanks a lot people.
DMx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-07, 01:46 PM   #2
DMx
*BANNED*
 
DMx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: England
Posts: 157
Default Re: Maximum Voltage

Come-on people, SOMEONE has to have SOME idea!
DMx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-07, 08:26 PM   #3
DMx
*BANNED*
 
DMx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: England
Posts: 157
Default Re: Maximum Voltage

Please people, I want to make this processor BLEED. There has to be someone with some idea of it's max before frying. It was stock at 1.35v. Although I'm unsure wether it is the 89W or the 110W model.
DMx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-07, 12:47 AM   #4
ATOJAR
Bish Bash Bosh
 
ATOJAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Middlesbrough, England.
Posts: 2,756
Send a message via MSN to ATOJAR
Default Re: Maximum Voltage

I dont think anybody would like to give you a max voltage for you cpu, im sure nobody wants to be responsible for frying your chip! .... most people would say dont run it past 1.45v but ive heard of people pushing theres up to 1.7v ... as long is it dont go past 55c idle you should be ok! .... personally i prefere to undervolt mine, i have my conroe overclocked(see sig)and have actually downed the voltage! mines at 1.2750v.
__________________
Intel i7 920 D0(Ultra-120 eXtreme) - ASUS P6T iX58 - 6GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 1600MHz - Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer - Corsair 120GB Force 3 SSD(Win7/apps) - Seagate Barracuda SATA II 500GB(storage/games) - LG W2452T 24" LCD 1920x1200 Monitor - MSI GTX 760 2GB - Windows 7 Ultimate X64 - Corsair 750W TX PSU - Antec 900 Case - Logitech G500 Mouse - Logitech G15 v2 Keyboard.
ATOJAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-07, 12:59 AM   #5
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: Maximum Voltage

I used to run 1.65v to my 4400+, just watch those temps
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-07, 01:21 PM   #6
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default Re: Maximum Voltage

Well they say that you should not run more then 0.3v over defualt for long term use with air cooling. But then again i run my E4300 @ 1.66v, however my Thermaright Ultra 120 and coolermaster Gimi II cools about as good as average watercooling so, and i have no side effects except a little stability which is due to the motherboard getting very hot when you increase the vcore voltage. Keep an eye on your PWR temps also so have toned down the clock speed slightly as well as the voltage.
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-07, 02:38 AM   #7
einstein_314
w00t!!
 
einstein_314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,905
Default Re: Maximum Voltage

I think that as long as you keep it under 1.65V you should be ok. That's what I ran my Opty 175 at. Anything over that and you risk damaging it.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz (9 x 355) w/ Swiftec APOGEE GTX Waterblock|| Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Edition
eVGA 8800 GTX Superclocked Edition @ 675/1150 w/ DangerDen 8800GTX Waterblock|| 4x1GB Mushkin XP2 PC2-8500
X-Fi Fatal1ty 64MB || PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W || Seagate 7200.10 320 GB || Dell 2407WFP
Logitech Z-5300 Speakers || Sennheiser HD555's || Logitech G7 || Logitech G15 || Windows Vista Ultimate x64
einstein_314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-07, 05:10 PM   #8
john19055
 
john19055's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: GREENVILLE,TX
Posts: 3,857
Default Re: Maximum Voltage

Heat will always be your problem when uping the voltage on the CPU,I never liked running my 4400+ above 1.55v,with 1.55v I could get 2.75gigs out of it .But if you don't care if you fry it and just want to see what you can get out of it then just turn it up as high as it will go and be stable .When I hit 2.75gig at 1.55v ,I hit a wall because it did'nt manner if I raised my voltage to 1.65v ,it just would do 2.8gigs stable.Just make sure you have a good cooler and watch your tempertures.
__________________
Intel i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16gigs G.Skill PC1600DDR3+2-ASUS DirectCU II GTX-670 in SLI+Crucial 256g-SSD+1-3Gig Seagate+2- Samsung 1-TB+3-WesternDigtial 640g+LG-12x Blu-Ray Burner+850watt XFX+Antec-P280 case+50" Plasma PM6700+Logitech Mouse+Keyboard+Pioneer VSX-1020+Polk Audio Speakers
john19055 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-09-07, 05:58 PM   #9
walterman
Rayne
 
walterman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,525
Exclamation Re: Maximum Voltage

Take care, temp grows very fast with the voltage increments. Try to keep it under 50șC at max load on both cores.
__________________
ASUS Rampage Formula X48 | Xeon 3350 @ 3.6 GHz (450x8/1.26v) | 4x1GB OCZ DDR2 PC2-6400 Reaper CL3 @ 900 MHz 3-4-4-15 | 1 x eVGA GTX 285 SSC | 1 x ASUS EN8800GTX (PhysX/CUDA -> Burnt by nVidia 196.75 driver) | X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty PCIe | 1 x Intel X25-M G2 80GB | 2 x 750GB WD RE2 7500AYYS SATA2 16MB | Samsung SH-B083L SATA | Enermax Revolution 1250W | Samsung SyncMaster 275T 27" 1920x1200 | Thermaltake Black Armor | BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch
walterman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-07, 06:33 PM   #10
DMx
*BANNED*
 
DMx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: England
Posts: 157
Default Re: Maximum Voltage

Well, I turned it up to 1.625v (which is bollox as it was my motherboard's maximum).

I tried turning up the multiplier to 10.5x but I can't get the thing to run faster than 2.6GHz without crashing... I had it at 38C at 1.625v...
DMx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crysis 2 Maximum Edition Back on Steam mojoman0 Crysis 2 06-13-12 12:37 AM
Now Available - Crysis 2 Maximum Edition News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 05-29-12 05:30 PM
The RPS Bargain Bucket: Maximum Benefit News Latest Tech And Game Headlines 0 05-19-12 11:20 AM
GeForce4 Ti 4400 voltage question SCoFF NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 2 10-07-02 08:49 AM
Athalon 1900+ what voltage should it be? MUYA CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 7 10-06-02 12:37 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.