Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-21-02, 09:45 AM   #1
firthy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Isle of Man, UK
Posts: 33
Default CPU identification ?

Just received my supposedly Atlon XP2000+ processor.

Top line on processor reads AX2100DMT 3C (last letter could be an O or G with a bit missing.

Is this possibly an XP2100+ because I'm sure all of the other Xp's that I have installed have had AX1800 or similar for XP1800+ etc.

I'd just like to know before I install it, because I will have to upgrade my Bios to recognise a 2100+.

Regards,

Firthy
firthy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-02, 04:10 PM   #2
/dev/evil
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I would say upgrade the bios and give it a shot, because if it says on the chip that it is a 2100, then it really is a 2100+, and that would have been a mistake from where you bought it from. Even if it isn't at least you would have the most up to date bios, and that usually helps if there are any bugs in your mainboard.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-02, 08:06 PM   #3
pelly
Registered User
 
pelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 681
Default

Sounds like you scored an XP2100!!!

pelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-02, 04:28 AM   #4
Philibob
Registered User
 
Philibob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North West England
Posts: 284
Send a message via ICQ to Philibob Send a message via AIM to Philibob
Default

Where did you buy it from?
I'll ask for a GF3 and see what I get
Philibob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-02, 06:41 AM   #5
firthy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Isle of Man, UK
Posts: 33
Default

Upgraded Bios and installed on auto settings and it is definitely a 2100+. Good result !!!

I bought it from microdirect.co.uk. I suppose you're hoping that they have a batch of these now, all the same.

Regards,

Firthy
firthy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-02, 07:32 AM   #6
Philibob
Registered User
 
Philibob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North West England
Posts: 284
Send a message via ICQ to Philibob Send a message via AIM to Philibob
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by firthy
I bought it from microdirect.co.uk.
I bought my 1800+ from there in May but they gave me the right one
Philibob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maintain Your Privacy by Manually Accepting and Rejecting "Cookies" (nV News) MikeC Open Forum 2 02-02-13 07:15 PM
Borderlands 2: is CPU capable of handling the PhysX effects? News Archived News Items 0 09-22-12 01:00 PM
Prime95 and CPU stress testing DaveW General Software 2 10-05-02 12:38 PM
CPU limitations abound! PCarr78 NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 11 10-03-02 07:49 AM
Temp CPU until Barton... pelly CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 9 09-13-02 01:42 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.