Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > General Software

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-18-03, 02:20 AM   #1
Kruno
TypeDef's assistant
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,641
Send a message via ICQ to Kruno Send a message via AIM to Kruno
Talking More html aid please

I have a feedback form and I want to have the person filling in the form to be able to click 'submit' and then have it e-mailed to me WITHOUT having to open up outlook or an e-mail program. I want the form to be submitted quietly when the person clicks submit.

Thanks
__________________
"Never before has any voice dared to utter the words of that tongue in Imladris, Mr. Anderson" - Elrond LOTR
Kruno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-03, 04:53 AM   #2
SurfMonkey
QuadCore G80 PS3 Overload
 
SurfMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In a small room surrounded by vast, inscrutable, machines...
Posts: 491
Default

That's getting a bit more complicated

Do you have access to server side scripting e.g. Perl or PHP? Or do you have to do everything client side? In which case it's a job for javascript, but you wont just be able to secretly post the form data.
__________________
Folding for Beyond3D
"A lie gets halfway around the world before the truth has a chance to get its pants on."
Sir Winston Churchill

"Halflife2 got halfway around the world before Gabe had a chance to get his pants on."
Anon
SurfMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-03, 06:15 AM   #3
Kruno
TypeDef's assistant
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,641
Send a message via ICQ to Kruno Send a message via AIM to Kruno
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SurfMonkey
That's getting a bit more complicated

Do you have access to server side scripting e.g. Perl or PHP? Or do you have to do everything client side? In which case it's a job for javascript, but you wont just be able to secretly post the form data.
Nuts, I haven't learnt Dynamic HTML yet (PHP, PEarl, Javascript, etc...). Man I am stuffed. :/

I would like the simplest way of doing it.
__________________
"Never before has any voice dared to utter the words of that tongue in Imladris, Mr. Anderson" - Elrond LOTR
Kruno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-03, 07:28 AM   #4
SurfMonkey
QuadCore G80 PS3 Overload
 
SurfMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In a small room surrounded by vast, inscrutable, machines...
Posts: 491
Default

Well there isn't really a simple way of doing it, html isn't smart enough and javascript isn't powerful enough to do much processing if you are rsetricted to purely client side processing.

I take it your form looks something like:

PHP Code:
<form name="form" method="post" action="http://www.somewhere.com/cgi-bin/somescript.someextension>
<textarea name="
textarea" cols="80" rows="25"></textarea>
<input name="
Submitbutton" type="submit" value="Submit">
</form>
Where you need access to a dinky script on the server to process your data. It laso depends what you want to do with it post submition, do you want it mailed to yourself or are you going to store it in a database?

I can write you scripts to make anything happen but I need to know what kind of server access you have, what cgi code you can run etc...
__________________
Folding for Beyond3D
"A lie gets halfway around the world before the truth has a chance to get its pants on."
Sir Winston Churchill

"Halflife2 got halfway around the world before Gabe had a chance to get his pants on."
Anon
SurfMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-03, 04:57 PM   #5
silence
 
silence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Posts: 425
Default

yap....and all u need is little bit of php on other side.

something like....

</?php
$text = $_POST['textarea'];
mail ( _your_mail_ . $text );
/?>

lose "/"

i think this should work if u have php on ur web server.....
silence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-03, 06:57 PM   #6
outriding9800
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 11
Default

if the server is running iis and has the frontpage extentsions loaded you can code it with frontpage.

if you need the code let me know
outriding9800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-03, 07:08 PM   #7
DaveW
Its me! Hurray!
 
DaveW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Brit in USA
Posts: 1,203
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by silence
yap....and all u need is little bit of php on other side.

something like....

</?php
$text = $_POST['textarea'];
mail ( _your_mail_ . $text );
/?>

lose "/"

i think this should work if u have php on ur web server.....
You got all that KILER? We will be testing you on it tomorrow
__________________

Core2 Q9400 @ 3.0, eVGA GTX 260, 4G DDR 800, Vista64
DaveW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-03, 10:02 PM   #8
Kruno
TypeDef's assistant
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,641
Send a message via ICQ to Kruno Send a message via AIM to Kruno
Default

Thanks guys. Problem is that I don't know if the Uni webserver supports PHP.

Maybe I need to do it the old fashion way? I will ask my teacher about it.

Thanks again guys.
__________________
"Never before has any voice dared to utter the words of that tongue in Imladris, Mr. Anderson" - Elrond LOTR
Kruno is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-19-03, 08:13 AM   #9
stncttr908
Registered User
 
stncttr908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 4,496
Send a message via AIM to stncttr908
Default

If it doesn't, you can always install it on your local system along with apache webserver and mysql just to give it a try.

http://www.php.net/downloads.php
http://httpd.apache.org/download.cgi
http://www.mysql.com/downloads/index.html
__________________
PC - | Core i7-2600K @ stock | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 | 4GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 | Galaxy GTX 460 1GB @ stock | Corsair Force 120GB SSD | Seagate 1TB 7200RPM | 320GB Seagate 7200.10 | 2x Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 | Lite-On 20x SATA DVD+RW | Silverstone TJ-09 | Corsair 620W PSU | Logitech Z-5500s | Sennheiser HD-570 headphones | Samsung 2494LW |

Laptop - | Dell Inspiron 1420 | C2D T7300 (2.0GHz, 4MB cache) | 2GB DDR2-667 | 160GB 7200RPM HDD | DVD +/- RW | 14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) | Broadcom 802.11g | NVIDIA 8400M GS 128MB |
stncttr908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-03, 11:15 AM   #10
SurfMonkey
QuadCore G80 PS3 Overload
 
SurfMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In a small room surrounded by vast, inscrutable, machines...
Posts: 491
Default

You should also try out the DevShed forums, they're pretty good for answeign questions on huge numbers of, web based, programming topics.
__________________
Folding for Beyond3D
"A lie gets halfway around the world before the truth has a chance to get its pants on."
Sir Winston Churchill

"Halflife2 got halfway around the world before Gabe had a chance to get his pants on."
Anon
SurfMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-03, 04:53 AM   #11
silence
 
silence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Posts: 425
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by K.I.L.E.R
Thanks guys. Problem is that I don't know if the Uni webserver supports PHP.

Maybe I need to do it the old fashion way? I will ask my teacher about it.

Thanks again guys.
write this....

<?php
phpinfo ();
?>

call it...info.php for example...and upload to server, then just run it.
like http://_full_adress_/info.php

if there is php on server u'll get all info u need.
silence is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.